We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I regret not staying here when I first got to Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed and Chai Guest House
Ranked #26 of 1,086 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I regret not staying here when I first got to Delhi”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

1. Great people - Clara, Coraline and the intern - were all extremely friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Especially since I came in early, gave wrong train details, and changed my booking just a few days earlier. They were still extremely polite, professional and kind to me despite all the inconveniences I've caused. On the last day, they even offered me drinks as I was waiting for the cab.

2. Great place. Ok it's not in the centre of New Delhi, but you should be thankful it's not. GK1 is much nicer, cleaner, quieter, safer. And it's really not that far. It's walking distance to M/N block markets and the metro, which can get to around Delhi.

3. It's cheaper than the place I stayed at when I first got to Delhi, but much nicer. Rooms were cleaner, toilet was clean (and had toilet paper) and didn't smell, electricity and water were consistent and didn't fail.

Delhi is an assault to all your senses, in good and bad ways. And I guess you would want to return to a comfortable place that has western comforts after a long day/train journey/bus ride. This place would offer you that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knn-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    56
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
46
67
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Just loved this place
Very beautiful and peaceful place!
Vwry calm location!
Very clean and maintained premises!
Very elegantly decorated n furnished
Hospitality was great.
Feels like our own home
I will surely stay there again

Had one of the most beautiful experience of my life there!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harurvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at Bed & Chai for more than one week & everything we can say is: awesome! Also the neighbourhood is very nice - which is very important in Delhi. You can even have a walk in the middle of the night. Have fun there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank schugeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Bed and Chai was a fantastic find! I heard about it through a fellow traveller while in jaipur 2012, so had to try it out this year. The first impression that you get is that it feels like home. It is clean, quiet and meticulously furnished and decorated right down to mosaic tiles in the bathrooms. The guy that works there 24/7, Madhu, is delightful and extremely obliging no matter what the request. While we were there we stayed in the dorm which is great value for money and the perfect place to meet very interesting people :) Cora, one of the business owners, came in every day and was available for any enquiries from local directions to a good hairdresser. The owners are very hands on, doing all renovations, repairs and decoration themselves. You can definitely feel that care that they put into it. Breakfasts are fresh, filling and delicious. I will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinakshiAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Though definitely not an easy location, I felt very comfortable and safe in the guest house and surrounding neighborhood as a solo female traveler. The whole place has a very new and clean feel to it. The beds in the dorm were very comfortable and the sheets again felt very new and clean. I didn't meet the two French owners but the manager is a nice, young guy from Nepal who was very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a retreat from the chaos of Delhi then it's a good choice, but know it takes about one hour to get to Old Delhi either by rickshaw (because of the traffic, and 150 rupees) or by taking the subway (including walking time, switching time, etc).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robsinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My family and I stayed at Bed and Chai our first two nights in India. We found it a welcoming entrance into the sometimes hectic world of backpacking in India. In fact, we chose to stay here to help bridge our worlds. We enjoyed the clean design of the rooms (we stayed in two different rooms), the quiet, the convivial conversation in the common area, the helpful advice from Clara, Cora and Madhu, and the rooftop open space. Our daughter (8yo) was very much welcomed and engaged with. We were comfortable here and would recommend Bed and Chai to other travelers seeking a soft entrance into India.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed in dormitory for 2nights at the beginning of my first backpacking trip through India! It was the perfect location to start off-very nice,little place, helpful owners, very clean and great breakfast! Also fantastic place to meet other European backpackers, share experiences or get information! Not far from the metro,though a little bit far from
the city centre! Though very quiet (for indian circumstances) and safe area!
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franzi_Frisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.5 mi away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#3 of 1,086 in New Delhi
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,086 in New Delhi
280 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grace Home
Grace Home
#10 of 1,086 in New Delhi
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shangri-la
Hotel Shangri-la
#74 of 1,086 in New Delhi
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Villa
Sai Villa
#62 of 1,086 in New Delhi
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tree Of Life
Tree Of Life
#5 of 1,086 in New Delhi
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Chai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Chai Guest House

Property: Bed and Chai Guest House
Address: Bed and Chai Guest House Bed And Chai Guest House R - 55 | Second Floor, New Delhi 110048, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,086 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bed&Chai, a cozy and modern accommodation located in one of the most attractive areas of Delhi, to enjoy the best Chai (Indian tea) of the city.We are two French women who have been living in India for several years. With our experience and numerous trips all over India, we know exactly what level of comfort you need to enjoy your stay in India. We offer several facilities: - Free Wi-Fi - Breakfast included with your stay - Fully-equipped kitchen facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Chai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing