We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic end to a great trip”
Review of 76 Friends Colony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
76 Friends Colony
Ranked #35 of 1,075 New Delhi B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic end to a great trip”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent service, the staff could not have been more attentive.
Some great tips from Devika on places to see and good shopping areas!

Our room felt very luxurious, and the added touches such as fresh fruit and flowers made it even more special.

After a tough trek in Northern India this quiet and relaxing place was just what we wanted and the shared communal spaces an added bonus as we were traveling with friends.

we we liked best:
the rooms
what we liked least:
the nearby trainline but it was not really a problem

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
23
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at 76 Friends Colony with my son, Joseph, for a week in early February. Our experience was wonderful. The manager, Manish, is conscientious and attentive. He arranged pick up and drop off at the airport in advance and was able to accommodate an adjustment in our reservations mid-trip with out problems. Our driver, Shingara, has a perfect knowledge of Delhi and navigates the traffic safely and with good humor. The owner of 76 Friends Colony, Mr. Singh is a delightful, articulate man who welcomed us to his boutique hotel as though we were family rather than clients. The food, including breakfast and optional dinner, was delicious. The rooms and the property are immaculate, modern, and stylish. I can not recommend 76 Friends Colony highly enough. Our stay in Delhi was incomparable, not only because of the city itself, but because of the efforts of Mr. Singh, Manish, and Shingara. We hope to return soon!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tania O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and me enjoyed a memorable experience during our 3 days stay at 76 Friends colony. Unforgettable atmosphere of being in relax and safe place in hectic New Delhi. It feels more like home rather than hotel. Staff and the management had been superb. Our host, Manmohan Singh, and all the staff are extremely friendly and courtesies, giving us a feeling being guests rather than customers. The unique personalized service! The staff were helping us with all questions - pick up from the airport, laundry advises regarding sightseeing. I was a bit ill and they immediately offer me assistance with contacting a local doctor. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the facilities are amazing. There's a comfortable and stylish sitting/dining room, where meals can be served to order. A full breakfast is included in the room rate. Lunch and dinner can be ordered; the food is excellent. Twice we enjoyed our meal together at the dining hall and both times food was superb. Or, if you like, you can have dinner next door in the highly acclaimed Indian Accent restaurant, at The Manor boutique hotel. 76 Colony is located in a quiet residential area, but a bit far from the centre. However you can always arrange a car from hotel or call a cab. Sometimes it is even more efficient to take an auto rickshaw till the nearest metro station, the metro is clean and very cheap. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

76 Friends Colony is a veritable oasis in frenetic Delhi. I can't recommend it highly enough. It is gloriously comfortable, stylish, beautifully appointed, spacious and everything in it works! The staff are attentive and efficient....nothing is too much trouble, the in-house chef created some of the best dishes we had in the whole month we were in India...try the prawn masala, and the gardens are beautifully maintained. The only slight downside is the railway line running close by....but the double glazing is very efficient. And it is a bit of a trek into the centre of town, but there is a car and driver available so we got a lift to the nearest metro and went in that way. It is a new underground system, clean, efficient, fast and cheap as chips!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I just led a group of 13 people on a river expedition in North East India. I wanted to start our trip off at a small, quiet, clean, and comfortable place in Delhi. 76 Friends was perfect for us as it's in a safe and calm location and my guests loved the living room for everyone to congregate in. Dinner was very nice on the lower level and the family who owns the hotel was very personable. 76 Friends would be a great place to stay if you need one or two rooms, but it is also a great place to stay if you have a small to medium sized group.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCA510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Mohan and his lovely daughter, Devika, will make you feel at home while you stay at this luxurious property. The grounds and rooms are modern, spotless, and beautiful. The manager, Manish Mittal, and his excellent staff will cater to all of your needs. A chef provides delicious meals on site or you can head next door to Indian Accent, which is ranked as one of the top 50 restaurants in Asia. It was perfect for me as a single female traveler since it is located in a safe, South Delhi neighborhood and I used the hotel drivers for transport. It is a bit of a drive from the airport in traffic, but close to Humayan's tomb and Lodi Gardens. I loved that it is a small guesthouse and I was able to meet some of the other guests. The lounge is very comfortable with nice sofas, a coffee table, and a large flatscreen. Manish even set-up a DVD player for me and some other guests to watch movies. My room on the second floor was spacious with a ton of storage and a gorgeous bathroom with a walk-in shower and huge soaking tub. A washing machine is available on site for guest use and is only 200 INR/cycle. I definitely want to go back to Delhi and stay at 76 Friends again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMTMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bankura, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a family tour to Delhi,Agra and Jaipur recently in December.. Our stay at 76 Friends Colony were for 13 th and 14th December. Really a nice place to stay and have your food there. Its awesome in its location. Peaceful, free from pollution but with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. The behavior of the staffs are so friendly, it seemed that we are not guest of any hotels but relatives of them.
If I do not mention the quality of food it will be injustice. They are really good, healthy and tasteful. In all aspects they were very very helpful. Thanks a lot to them. With me and my family there were the family of my brother in law with his family and friend. They are all american citizens.
They really appreciate it for its location,peacefulness, amenities and overall the lovely behavior of the staffs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dip576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Manor
#59 of 716 in New Delhi
425 reviews
The Estate
#20 of 1,075 in New Delhi
159 reviews
Tree Of Life
#6 of 1,075 in New Delhi
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonel's Retreat
#4 of 1,075 in New Delhi
689 reviews
Nizamuddin
Eleven
Eleven
#8 of 1,075 in New Delhi
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 76 Friends Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 76 Friends Colony

Property: 76 Friends Colony
Address: 76 Friends Colony West, New Delhi 110065, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,075 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the SinghsTravel has been and remains our passion. During our travels to Europe, North America Asia and Africa it has always been memories of the smaller more intimate lodges that have remained. Having owned and run our own hotel (we still own The Manor which has often been voted Delhi’s most popular hotel by Trip Advisor) for most of our working careers our own B&B renews the opportunity to welcome our guests in a more intimate manner. What we try and offer is modern comforts in an ambience that feels relaxed and secure. The fact that our home is in one of Delhi’s more exclusive colony’s in a very large private plot adds to the atmosphere. We would love to share our gardens with you and for those of you who miss the dogs back home, we have some lovable ones right here. Our cook Yogesh and his team would love to cook up some special Indian (and western) meals for you. Delhi can sometimes be a bit overwhelming; from receiving you at the airport to point you in all the right places to eat and see would be a pleasure. We have many friends all over the world that came as guests to the Manor but have remained friends over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 76 Friends Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing