We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Suprise after travelling around India”
Review of The Umrao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Umrao
Ranked #15 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Suprise after travelling around India”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here with my wife for 1 night.

Arrival -Very welcoming, luggage taken to room. Luggage ended up in our room without us needing to do anything. Check in was OK, staff seemed a bit moody though. No wait. Lobby area was very nice. Very clean with space to lounge around.

Room –excellent room. Not that big though. Bathroom was excellent. Shower was powerful and hot. Bed was comfy. Nice interior and overall very satisfied with room.

Staff –Very helpful apart from Reception. Staff in restaurant were very good but we were the only ones in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner.

Food – Breakfast was 3.5/5. No buffet so ordered off menu. Plenty of choice but nothing tastes like food bought in UK.

Facilities – only there for a one days so did not use facilities on offer. Swimming pool looked very good

Only stayed here due to location as it was close to airport, approx. 10/15 mins via taxi.

Only negative comment was that they charged £10 plus tax for a taxi to the airport if you use their taxi. As the location of hotel was quite some distance from the road it was difficult to get a taxi so I assume most people would go for this. So I called a taxi firm who picked us up and only charged £2.50. this needs to be looked at.

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a short trip to the airport and want luxury at the same time. definitely 4/5.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sham P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Guest Relations Manager at The Umrao, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Umrao!!

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay and the services & facilities of the hotel well suited your needs & requirements. With regards to the pricing, taking into account the local competition, rest assured we are priced as per the 5 Star hotels in the vicinity. Looking forward to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
The Umrao Team
Email: guestrelations@theumrao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    111
    38
    25
    17
See reviews for
129
77
29
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were exploring couple of Hotels to host our company social event ( Rodic Consultants), we came across The Umrao, as one of the options, we were a bit apprehensive initially, but we got excellent rates with apt venue to host the event & we took a chance but it turned our to be perfect event hosted by the hotel, especially Mr. Praveen ( F&B- Manager ) were cooperative & accommodating.

The services & food was excellent.

All the best,


Rodic Team

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Guest Relations Manager at The Umrao, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Umrao!!

We are pleased to know that the banquet team and the hotel facilities suited your needs as we strive for perfection along with bringing comfort for all our valued guests here at The Umrao. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
The Umrao Team
Email: guestrelations@theumrao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were four persons and traveled to Delhi on business trip. Some Pros and Cons as perceived by us:

Pros: 1) Lot of open space and fresh air if you would like to take a walk in the evening inside the premises.
2) Rooms were clean. Bathroom is well designed.
3) Breakfast was excellent. Liked the tea very much.
4) Staff behavior was good and generally they were very helpful.

Cons: 1) Staff training is required. We had given our identity proofs with our house address (as mandated by Govt. of Delhi). However, the address in bill need to be company address for business visitors. Lot of time got wasted during check out.
2) Water temperature control was not working properly. I got only hot water while one of our colleagues got only cold water in our respective rooms.

Gym was under renovation. Would have loved to use it.

Location can be an advantage if you are visiting for a holiday. It's calm and quiet. If you are visiting on business, check the distance from hotel to your place to be visited. We ended up spending lot of time on road rather than with our customer.

Overall, quite happy with the stay at Umrao.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raman-Namboodiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Guest Relations Manager at The Umrao, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Umrao!!

Thank you for your feedback about the Umrao on Trip Advisor. At the Umrao we want our guests to enjoy the hustle bustle of the city along with the calm and serenity of the hotel surroundings. Being in the center of the city, yet maintaining the peace and the calm is unique to us. We regret that you had to face inconvenience during your stay in certain process you were a part of. Do write in to us for your next visit and we would ensure you have a flawless stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us & sincerely wish to see you back in the hotel.

Warm Regards,
The Umrao Team
Email: guestrelations@theumrao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

DOOR India and sister companies Vitalsmarts-India operations and Blanchard International had a 3 day residential conference at The Umrao . We got to taste the food at the thyme. the quality of food was exceptionally good .
Chef Mr. Ansari was instrumental in catering variety of food all the days specially on the gala dinner night .
The over all experience was wonderful. Staff specially Mr. Bhandari, Mr. Rajneesh, Mr Sushil, Ms. Madhu and Mr. Praveen everybody had given their best support to make the event successful.
Thanks to Mr. Amitabh for all his support.
Umrao is a value for money property with excellent interiors, ambiance and location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surbhi8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Team Umrao at The Umrao, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Umrao Hotel & Resort!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback on your stay and conference with us.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the standards at The Umrao Hotel & Resort , which you have experienced during your stay with us.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Umrao again.

Warm regards
Team Umrao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As a Tripadvisor contributor, I read traveller's comments before making any choices for my professional trips. Proximity to the airport worked well for me, therefore the Umrao appeals to me. I stayed there 3 nights, so have had time to experience, observe and comment the place. The place looks "Grand" itself. It is contemporary, well designed, clean and fairly quiet, refreshing from the noisy airport. The employees are always available. Of course little training courses could help them do better, as always, but overall have been satisfied about service provided.
Rooms are modern décor, furnished with taste, air-conditioning is functioning and free Wi-Fi in the room is offered. Breakfast is served at Waffle restaurant with all what an international buffet offers. The hotel seems to be busy with "weddings" but no disturbances at all from these events, as it has been separated from the hotel operations.

I want to emphasize on something with the following next sentences. I have read few reviews that stated "pathetic hospitality"...!
I entered the hotel motivated to check upon suspicions above. On one hand the worst thing an angry customer could do to a hotel's reputation is to circle around rumours like that. I am myself a hospitality professional, so therefore credible enough to distinguish in between a "good" and "bad" hotel! I DID NOT experience anything at all that would suggest the latter statement was true. Based on that, I can conclude: the reviews suggesting the hospitality is not good at this hotel is NOT OBJECTIVE. For the sake of honesty I had to clarify that.

My conclusion, purely anonymously, will be: If location is the reason for your stay: quality is not artificial. Efficient staff and service provided remains “above competitors”.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Owner at The Umrao, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. It is a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at The Umrao.
Regards,
The Umrao Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajasthan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel has lot of area with it and looks grand . The rooms are modern and the restaurant offers good tasty food .

Perfect for somebody who wants quality accommodation near airport .

the room size if not large enough for 3 people to stay so better stay 2 in a room ..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pknrajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Owner at The Umrao, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. It is a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at The Umrao.
Regards,
The Umrao Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Umrao staff welcomed us heartfully at 1.30am. A smooth check-in: The Boy introduced us to our tastefully furnished room, went for our luggage. Meanwhile the Barkeeper served us the welcome drink of the house. Our luggage arrived and we were wished good night.
Five minutes from stepping-in to beeing ready for going to bed!
After great sleep and shower, we had a very good breakfast with all what an international buffet offers. Nice view from the breakfast hall to the pool area. The ordered taxi arrived on time, quick check-out. A phantastic Hotel for a stop over in Delhi (only 5 minutes from Airport) or even more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kata1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEAM_UMRAO, Owner at The Umrao, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. It is a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at The Umrao.
Regards,
The Umrao Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
8.3 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
#38 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton New Delhi, Airport Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Dwarka
10.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn New Delhi International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umrao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umrao

Property: The Umrao
Address: National Highway 8 | Samalkha, New Delhi 110017, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Umrao 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Umrao Hotel & Resort is a luxury boutique hotel located on National Highway-8 with easy access to domestic and international Airport, designed to cater to the discerning business traveller. Sitting regally yet lightly on 15-acre manicured greens, the boutique hotel is a brand to reckon with. It combines classical architectural exterior design with contemporary warm interiors. The stunning exteriors with intricate decor envelop guests in a royal mystique. The Umrao is an ideal place for product launches to destination dream wedding with lavish option of customized events for memorable moments at its large banquets with grand setups with 55 well appointed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Umrao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing