We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly very good!”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very good!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Wow! Well situated, really modern Hotel in New-Dehli. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. My girlfriend had a sore throat, I called the reception at night and the friendly employee brought my girlfriend a complimantary ginger tea. I got a bottle of water, free of charge. On our arrival day, the General Manager came to the breakfast Restaurant to welcome us personally. After that he surprised us with individual travel arrangements. This is authentic hospitality!! Our very special thanks goes to Manav, the Restaurant Manager!! Not only, that he is always on Duty to greet all guests during breakfast and dinner. His staff is very well trained and he seems to treat his employees like family. We (Kristin & Stephan) will defintely come back to this place when we are in Dehli!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    476
    101
    12
    14
See reviews for
207
571
162
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The room itself was ok (although when you look closer, you see that the walls are not entirely clean) but sleeping in this hotel is really difficult. Thin walls mean you hear every sound from neighbouring rooms (and they do housekeeping work at 11pm, I mean, really?!) and the busy street outside is just terrible. Also, waiting 20 mins for 2 sandwiches in the hotel restaurant when you're the only guests waiting to be served is a bit too much. 3 points for decent decor and cleanliness, but that's it. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ania_roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

As a solo female visitor I was delighted to have found this hotel in the heart of Delhi. It is spotlessly clean, smart and very comfortable and good value for money. Yash, the receptionist and the other staff were very helpful and did all they could to make my stay as comfortable as possible.

It was a surprise and a joy to have a reliable supply of continuous hot water and the wifi was also always very good.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Delhi for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

thats definitley the best new spot in pahaganji!! we stayed there two times in january, it's a very new place and has the standard of a 4star quality hotel! the staff shows so much effort, rooms are fancy and new, bathroom great, all like on the hotel website pictures. airport pick up went perfect, you just have to pay the parking time of the taxi at the airport, which is like 100-150rps. the driver always waited for us when we had flight delays. New delhi railway station is very close. they offer travel packages with drivers and arranged hotels, but we didn't book that, so don't know if prices are reasonable or not. They booked us our train tickets to Agra, for an extra 100-200rps which was very helpful. The portier and security in front of the hotel is really helpful as well and when he orders a taxi or rikshaw for you, you can be sure to get the best price.
New rooftop restaurant opened first of feb, breakfast buffet was very good.

just book it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marketwizard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in and turned out to be the nicest. The hotel is brand new and all the rooms are extremely clean and well-appointed. The standard was comparable with much more expensive hotels. The staff were very keen to please and generally very helpful. The travel agent at the front was very keen to push us renting a car and I am glad that we didn’t (heard horror stories as we travelled around – though not with cars rented from this hotel specifically). They were not so keen to help us with bus tickets (clearly don’t get commission for these). However, when we got back to the hotel and asked if we could pay to use a shower before we travelled, they let us use a room for 2 hours entirely free of charge. I am sure they can’t do this all the time, but it did reflect a commitment to customer service which was not evident in a lot of the other places we stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A super little hotel; very new, spanking clean, warm service, free wifi, mod cons and great value for money. A short rikshaw ride from the main bazaar and very close to the train station. The street outside is buzzing with action but the hotel itself is quiet, comfortable and welcoming. A good, safe, option for a nice upper-range budget hotel in Delhi - includes airport transfers in cost.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank angelaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

I entered the hotel they had a vry light music like the 5star hotels have the air insde the hotel was vry fresh the resturant was vry nicely build. i had an executive room the room was vry nice the bathroom was a bit small.but the thing i liked the most was the staff behaviour with me they were treating me and all the custumers vry well i surely come back to this hotel for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sahibnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,097 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing