We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in the hotel industry”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence in the hotel industry”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is simply awesome rooms vry nice will maintained newly build hotel vry good food at a reasonable price services are off the hook they really listen to the customers and do the needfull at the earlyest
I will come again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrnitinbadhwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    476
    101
    12
    14
See reviews for
207
571
162
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

After staying at the very poor Crystal Retreat in Agra, we feared the worst because this hotel was 25% cheaper, but we were very impressed. The reception staff, waiters, room service and food were all excellent. You can take a walk to find restaurants. You dont get much hassle.

Room Tip: Our room did not face main road and on 4th floor was quiet, the restaurant is on the 5th, inside or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

i stayed for two night at hotel city star,this is the best hotel in pahargunj very clean and brand new,located in the central delhi walking distance from the new delhi railway station and metro station.staff is really helpfull the front desk as well as the travel desk.the ambience of the hoel is very safe and warming.at the price of a 2 star hotel they are providing the services of 5 star hotel such as free fruit basket,cookies,free wifi,buffet breakfast and also a gym for the guests.i will definately recomened this hotel and would love to stay again for my next trip to delhi.

Room Tip: "ask for any kind of help the staff is always ready to help you"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The hotel is not near the airport like some reviews suggest. It takes at least 45 mins to get there from the airport. The room that they put us in was firstly the wrong one, we paid for an executive suite and was placed in a double, when I pointed this out the receptionist moved me into another double room in which I had to show him the website to urge the truth out of him. He finally admitted that they were the wrong rooms but made an excuse that the guest in the executive room wanted to stay in the room I booked for an extra day. At this point I was fuming so he upgraded me to the premium suite.

The poor service just got worse, anything I ordered for the room didn't arrive unless I personally went to the reception, which included water to take my medication. I really couldn't be bothered at this point to point out that we ordered an extra bed so 3 people slept in one bed.

We made arrangements to leave the hotel at 7am so breakfast was requested for 6.30. The breakfast arrived at 7am and the airport drop off arrived half an hour late, another guest was also complaining about the same problem at the front desk. We managed to get to the airport check in just in the nick of time, I can't explain how stressed out we were.

I will give credit to the housekeeping; very clean and tidy and to also the hard working bell boys who were shifting my suitcases from room to room.

Room Tip: Please check that you get the room that you paid for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Serenaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing these issues with us as this will help us to further improving the area we are lacking in.

We deeply apologize for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our hotel. We find that the experience you were put through right from checkin till airport drop off was unacceptable and we admit that it’s totally our fault / negligence of our staff. Further we would like to assure you that we will be addressing these issues with utmost seriousness & concern.

Concerning location of our hotel, yes the distance is around 13 miles away or half an hour drive from the IGI airport but it is strategically located in the city center, within walking distance of the New Delhi Train Station (NDLS), Metro train station & other historical monuments i.e. Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar etc. Besides this, one can also avail the “Complimentary Airport Pickup service” provided to all our guests round the clock.

Please contact me directly at +91 9871630631 or mail us at info@-hotel-citystar.com for your future reservation and let me know if there is anything further I can do for you.

Kind regards,
Bhaskar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here twice in a week, as it was such a comfortable and convenient place to stay. It's a new hotel near the main railway station, with friendly staff. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, there's an electric kettle and coffee/tea supplies, which are always very welcome. The hotel also supplied biscuits, bottled water and fruit in the room, and gave my drivers drinks when they arrived. Reception and doorman were efficient and helpful. Rooftop restaurant was great and although not a lot of the lengthy menu seemed to be available, the dishes which were were absolutely delicious. Breakfast on the rooftop was plentiful and delicious. Airport pickup was appreciated..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CymruRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the best Value for money hotel I have seen in Delhi. Pricing is very fair, at the same time great service and a nice ambience. Very near to the main railway station. if your budget is limited don't look for any other alternative. I will stay again definitely.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KishoreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Travelers may not realize this (we certainly didn't), but Paharganj is a pretty intense and unfriendly place. You can't walk without being virtually assaulted by people trying to sell you things (as one Delhi-based friend said, "there are all kinds of indecent proposals"). The New Delhi Railway Station at night is a bit of a nightmare - know the prices and distances in advance (use google maps to find out how many km, and then calculate 10 rupees/km for auto, 20 for taxi, and it should be in that ballpark).

In this intense and difficult environment, City Star is a bit of an oasis. Clean and new, free wifi, nice restaurant, everything is good on the inside (though no room safes). Service is pretty good too, although it's hard to book additional nights at the concierge for some reason. We repeatedly booked and clarified for an extra room and it didn't materialize the night of, so we had to take an extra bed into the room we had instead. At 2am the concierge called and told us he'd "found our room". We said we didn't need it, it was 2am! But other than this little hitch, things were fine. They might overcharge for taxis, so negotiate or just use radio taxis (Easycabs or Merucabs are good).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,097 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing