We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is physically great; management is dishonest.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #21 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hotel is physically great; management is dishonest.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Pros:
-Beautiful hotel
-Great location
-Great breakfast, free juice on arrival

Cons:
-Lobby travel agent has high-pressure sales tactics
-We booked here because of the free airport pickup, called to confirm that they had our flight info, all the due diligence. We get to the airport, there's no one. We call them from a payphone:

"Our Driver's stuck in traffic, please take a taxi and we will reimburse you"

Sure that's fine, but we could have stayed somewhere cheaper and done that ourselves. We wanted the security of having someone meet us. . . And on top of that the traffic excuse was a straight out lie; it was 2am and the streets were empty.

-It took like 30 minutes to check us in once we had arrived for no good reason. We just wanted to sleep.

-After our first night, we were told there was no more room in the hotel, and we were shuffled to their sister hotel around the corner, which was a nice hotel and slightly cheaper, anyway. As we were leaving, someone walked in off the street without a reservation, asked for a room, and was given one right away.

Now this wasn't a one-star hotel stay, it was closer to 3, but it was obvious that they were trying to keep rooms empty in this hotel, which has a high Tripadvisor rating, and trying to fill up a relatively unknown hotel on a back street.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank canrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Owner at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are indeed disappointed to see that our team has failed in so many spheres of service, thus spoiling your overall experience while staying with us and I sincerely apologize for that. It is very generous of you to still appreciate our Hotel’s location, Rooms and other amenities like complimentary Breakfast etc.

Concerning the issues that you have pointed out, I would like to inform you about the corrective measures that we have already initiated in those matters and would like to clarify a few things regarding our policy towards extending the booking of a Guest.

The Airport shuttles that we have employed to provide free Pick up to our Guests are outsourced; from the past month we have noticed such pickup delays and discrepancies on their part so to counteract that we have already placed an order to purchase our own vehicles to ensure smooth pickups in future for our esteemed Guests.

Our front desk staff is trained in a way to be especially sensitive towards the comforts of those Guests, arriving late at night, after a long and exhausting journey. They try to make the check in process as quick as possible to avoid any possible inconvenience to the Guests.
Usually, it takes at most 10 minutes to finish the check in formalities (Passport & visa verification) and allotment of Rooms etc; you were made to wait for half an hour is something totally unacceptable and a serious cause of concern, which will be looked upon in our weekly management meeting.

When it comes to extend the booking of a Guest; It is our policy to always give preference to the Guests already staying with us, than those coming as walk in Guests; although both the Guests would eventually pay for the room; still because we have already developed a service relation and a commitment towards our existing Guests we would never like to cause any undue trouble and botheration to them by denying extended stay.

For us it’s a matter of sheer proud & gives us a sense of fulfillment when a valued Guest wants to grace us with their extended stay, it’s a sign of their approval of our services; so I would humbly say that the Guest that you referred to in your review would surely be a Guest with a prior booking; still I feel profound regret that we lost the opportunity to please you due to unavailability of Rooms on that very day.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations and we assure you of our consistent efforts to rise up to your aspirations and will provide you delightful service experience, hopefully in not so distant future.


Regards,
Amit Nagrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    454
    97
    12
    13
See reviews for
193
545
155
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, it had a weird vibe but was ok. The rooms were comfortable and staff helpful, but you had to follow up to get things done, such as station pick ups and airport transfers. Breakfast was nice on the rooftop!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackaaus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiwu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

i stayed at hotel city star for three nights with my wife and two child i must say it was one of the best hotel clean new modern rooms with all the facilities.hot water is available 24 hours (which is rare in India)very friendly staff always smiling and very helpful (specially with my kids).I must thank the room boys and housekeeping staff for making me very comfortable.travelling with small kids is not easy.I even called room boys very late(2:30 am)at night for food,though the English of the room boys is not very good but it shows that they are very eager to help you and always smiling,the area is bit crowded but in the heart of Delhi.walking distance from train station and metro line.food is tasty and good.(can add few more dishes in Chinese)"next visit to Delhi my first choice to stay"

Room Tip: "staff is very friendly do not hesitate to ask your questions they will guide you.also if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Excellent Hotel right in the middle of New Delhi city. Close to all Tourist locations. The complete service right from Check-in( with a welcome drink) to check-out were conducted smoothly and without any hassles. The Doorman, Staff were very courteous and helpful. All requests were attended too promptly. Food was excellent (Both Breakfast and Room service). Breakfast spread was excellent which included Continental, North and South Indian dishes. I also used the Gym which is well maintained.

The only issue which I found was lack of Hand Towels, floor mat in all the rooms we had booked( We were group of 6 who had booked 3 rooms). We had to ask for these every day of our stay.
Taxis booked via the Hotel's Travel Desk is costly compared to the Market rate. Except for these issues, the stay was memorable for the whole group.

Room Tip: Go for the Rooms which ends with 02 e.g 102, 202, 302.. These are bigger in size than the side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ss659pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights. When I chose it I did not know about the exact location in New Delhi. The surrounding area is not very nice, although it is close to the New Delhi railway station, it is not very safe to walk around at night. The guys from the reception work hard, they always try to make happy, although sometimes they are overwhelmed and can not react quickly. I had a couple of issues (a leak in the toilet, and the room door did not work), which took a few to be fixed.
IThe housekeeping; very clean and tidy, and the bell boys very friendly. I also would like to aknowledge the people from the restaurant. As I said, the area is not very nice to hang out (it would be necessary to take a taxi to go to another area), so the restaurant is a very nice option. Prices are not too high, and the manager (Mr. Mahav Bisht) will make his best to offer you a pleasant time.
The only like I did not like at all was the travel counter, prices are clearly overpriced!
Just a tip, avoid rooms next to the main street. Views are not nice (you can enjoy them at breakfast time, at the terrace), and it is very very noisy at night.

Room Tip: Just a tip, avoid rooms next to the main street. Views are not nice (you can enjoy them at breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapinesquina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Located right on the main road. Very near to the New Delhi station (it has got a metro line there). You can take a auto ricksaw for Rs 25-30 (less than a dollar) that will take you there to catch the metro. The staff, starting from the door man, Receptionists, etc - were all very helpful,friendly and smiling.They have an inclination to help you. The rooms are amazingly clean and well maintained with bedsheets,pillow covers and towels changed on a daily basis.For a 3 star hotel the standards are really high and very well maintained. We met the owner who seemed to be genuinely interested in getting constuctive feedback in order to make his hotel a better place.The hotel also has a gym and provides complimentary fruit basket on arrival with nice heavy curtains to block the sun rays so you have a good night's sleep. Although the hotel is located on the main road, there is no noise that comes into your room. Really good.

Now for some constructive feedback:-
- The inter departmental communication is really really bad. My husband made the booking directly with their Rservation department and arranged for the complimentary airport pickup. I just called by chance on the day of his arrival to reconfirm the booking and discovered to my dismay that they have no booking or any pick up arranged. I got shocked although the Reception guys were really nice and immediately got the booking done as obviously the Reservation department didn't give a handover.
- Also DO NOT book airport transfer with them.Like I said in the previous point, no inter departmental communicaion. My husband arrived a day earlier to the hotel and booked a car for my airport pickup the next day. When he came to the desk to take the car to the airport, they had no idea of any car to be arranged. Later when they arranged one, the driver didn't know where he has to go. He ended up taking my husband to the wrong terminal plus his fuel got over in the middle of the road, so he had to go to a petrol pump for refill. My husband really lost his cool as I had already landed by that time and was waiting for the car at the airport for over 40 minutes.
- We found a lot of times staffs fighting among themselves. Well if there are differences, they need to sort it out at the back office - not at the restaurant or front of the house.
- Breakfast is good but the menu needs to be cyclic as everyday exactly the same menu is served and it gets boring after sometime. Also a lot of Expats stays there, so they need to include some international dishes also for breakfast.
- Crockery and cutlery served at the restaurant was not clean at times like the jug in which they served water was not clean from inside and my husband pointed that out to them which they changed immediately.

Well to me this hotel could be one of the best in its category if they work on the above points and yes I would definitely come back next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priyanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is simply awesome rooms vry nice will maintained newly build hotel vry good food at a reasonable price services are off the hook they really listen to the customers and do the needfull at the earlyest
I will come again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrnitinbadhwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing