We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel, Clean & Modern Ambience, very helpful staff with Commendable Honesty..”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #25 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Booked this gem of a hotel from Booking.com for two nights to explore Delhi; hotel has a central location close to the railway station, Connaught place & Lutyens’ Delhi.
Free airport pickup was reasonably smooth. Once at the hotel the front desk manager greeted us with a warm welcome & we were served refreshing juice & water. The hotel is centrally air-conditioned; the reception and lobby are well lit and designed tastefully, similar to the hotels in the west.
Our room on third floor (302) was spacious, modern and elegantly furnished, the sheets, towels, the bathroom and the room itself were spotlessly clean (usually a rare thing in budget hotels), hats off to the housekeeping staff.
The hot shower was impressive with high pressure, free wifi connection in the room working perfectly (used Skype for half an hour without break) was something surprising! The aircon was effective and the sound isolation of the windows was pretty good, had a sound sleep.
Complimentary buffet breakfast was served at the nice roof top restaurant which included various options of Indian & continental dishes; would specially recommend “salt n pepper mushroom,” we had as starter at the dinner; the food was reasonably priced, sumptuous and appealing to the palate.
The Hotel offers a gym with adequate equipments to do cardio exercises! We had a day’s city tour to venture the historic sites of Delhi, very well organized by Mr. Guman Singh the amicable General Manager. I would specially thank Aalam a hard working steward, who returned my wife’s 750 pound ring, left carelessly in a closet while checking out. That was remarkable.
I wish good luck to the entire management and staff and sincerely hope that they maintain such exemplary standard of hospitality in the future as well.
We had a memorable experience at this beautiful boutique hotel, what else would you ask for? The hotel offers much more in comparison to what we pay (especially in my case) and that makes this hotel a perfect value for money and is worth coming back to!! I would highly recommend hotel city star!!!

Room Tip: Back Side rooms are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnold1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Out of all the hotels I have stayed at in India, this was absolutely the best. Upon our arrival, the staff had juice and complementary waters waiting for us. In our room, they had even more waters and snacks! What a great way to make your guests feel welcome. I think the absolute best part was that the staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful. The street out front is extremely busy and can be terrifying for a tourist to try and cross, they got one of the staff to buy an adapter for my laptop for me! The fitness room is not exactly as the website advertises - more of a treadmill with a machine but still, better than nothing. Our room was clean and the sheets were washed - not something you experience in every hotel in India. The food is way overpriced as can be expected at any touristy hotel - better to go eat at a local place. Breakfast spread is great though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saniya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My boyfriend and I (22 and 23 years old) stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions during our trip to India - 24-26 march and 29th march. The hotel served as a great base for exploring Delhi. The rooms were spotlessly clean with modern furnishings and a cosy bed. The rooftop restaurant was convenient and nice, lots of choice. We also tried the room service - and chanced the western food as a change from a week of curry - dont bother! The location was good as a hub however the manager informed us that after 9pm it's best not to go outside as there are bag snatchers! I suppose if you got a rickshaw from the hotel to a restaurant this would be safe - and theres the restaurant upstairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and very accommodating. The hotel organised a private air conditioned car to take us anywhere we wanted in Delhi for the day - while the driver was very friendly and the made an excellent tour guide, we later found out that it was very overpriced compared to exploring Delhi by rickshaw or car from other tourist operators. However, we cant complain as it was very convenient and the air con was much appreciated.
Definitely a great choice for a stay in Delhi - great value for money - we booked with Agoda and got a free airport pick up :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are a little noisy due to Delhi's famous horn beeping rickshaws! It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed twice at the hotel during our trip in India for 5 days, in a group of 4 couples. The most important thing is it was very clean and rooms were very nice.

The staff was very friendly and always trying to help. The hotel is recently renewed and is definitely the best hotel in the area since I had to look other options for one night were it was full. The road and area are very convenient to move around Delhi, especially if you are using the train, but it is not the nicest road of the city.

It has a rooftop restaurant with an excellent service, good food and very reasonable prices. The breakfast was very simple, it could have more options. We didn't use the travel agency in the hotel and only used their transfer to the airport once which was fine.

Room Tip: The area is quite noisy. I preferred a room to the front road, and despite it was very busy it was O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmarizcurrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Absolutely top marks to the staff for their efforts. Ate in the rooftop restaurant twice and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Asked for breakfast in our room at 5.00 am so we could catch the 6.00 am train to Agra. The breakfast arrived bang on 5. The hotel looks like it has just been refurbished and everything looks new. I made a mistake by going into Delhi to try and catch the sightseeing bus, what I advise you to do is get the hotel to sort you a day trip out from the hotel. The hotel is about 200 yards from the new delhi railway station for the train to Agra and the Taj Mahal. Stay here rather than a large hotel and I don;t think you will have any complaints. One thing the hotel should do is install safes in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normanbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in City Star hotel for only one night, i hve just arrived from the Delhi airport and was 11 pm, they didn't have a room available for me (despite my reservation), so i have to be waiting in the lobby with my luggages for 30 min, after go to my room, there was a square outside the window with a party and a lot of noise, so i ask for another room in the oposite side of the building, but 5 am start the horns in the street and i coudn't sleep anymore.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodrigo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent 5 nights in 2 rooms - double and triple. The hotel rooms are reasonably spacious and the hotel is very new, which means that practically everything works. Being new they still have certain problems with the reception and room service which is not coordinated. The staff are very helpful and always ready to offer solutions. The terrace dining área is especialy recommended as the quality of the food and drinks is acceptable and the service is excellent.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel as it is clean, new, central, spacious and economical.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#38 of 777 in New Delhi
1,236 reviews
Wood Castle
#29 of 777 in New Delhi
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#40 of 777 in New Delhi
959 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £37 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing