We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK spot”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #22 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK spot”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived in Dehli @ 1:30AM, extremely wiped out from 24hrs of traveling. I had organized an airport pickup with the hotel and they confirmed someone would be there to meet us. Alas...no one showed up. Ended up getting a maniac driver (yes even by Indian standards), so a bit of a rough start to the trip. Apparently the person who came to pick us up was stuck in traffic, kind of a lame excuse and I suspect a fib. The only positive in this situation - they did reimburse us most of the taxi fare we paid.
Hotel room was nice - everything is new and modern and very clean. IThe free snacks and water were a nice touch. I liked the roof top restaurant and breakfast - insanely noisey up on the roof, but a nice spot none the less.
What I really didn't like was the over priced tour of Delhi with the driver who had his own agenda. He didn't take us where we really wanted to go, we ended up missing the Red Fort as he lied and said you could not actually go inside the buildings, we were also too tired at the point to worry about it. This driver also made a few 'shopping' stops - the usual commision stops. So annoying! We could have hired a way cheaper driver to do the same tour in retrospect. I think the hotel bamboozles the guests who first arrive and are still dazed from travel.I saw this same driver/travel agent herding out the new arrivals every day after our 'tour'.
Another negative: the room was quiet as far a street noise was concerned, but directly below the restaurant. They were cleaning the restaurant until the wee hours which involved banging pots and dragging of chairs on tile. It was very disruptive.
As far as hotels in Delhi in this area, I would say it is one of the better place, just be warned of the inflated travel agent services.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back are quiet - but avoid the 4th floor as it is under the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sznn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    465
    97
    12
    13
See reviews for
196
551
156
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gwalior, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Hotel is a breath of fresh air in chaotic Delhi; stayed here with my family for a day while going to Srinagar, good welcome, gave me early check-in, nice & spacious room, clean bathroom, wifi free & working very well.
Adequate complimentary breakfast on nice little roof top restaurant, helpful staff willing to serve, overall a good choice, we will stay again when back in Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sdewan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was OK. It is located centrally near the New Delhi Station but if you want to go to metro it is still a walk and you also need to go through the station, it is on the other side. The hotel itself is clean and staff is friendly. The rooms are ok size but are very noisy. We heard the neighbours tv too much. Breakfast is ok but not very special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxelTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

AN excellent place to come an relax after dealing with al the intense sounds, smells, sights and craziness of Delhi. The hotel staff was superb and always ready to help you in anyway they can. We asked about a safe in a room and within 30 minutes they drilled a permanent safe in our room. There is a beautiful terrace in the top floor for some drinks and some good good. The hotel has a tourist office that will help you arrange tours for the city and beyond. Be careful with what driver you might end-up with. We ended up with a horrible driver that made our city tour not such an enjoyable one. Luckily we asked to change our driver for the next 4 days for our trios to Jaipur and Agra and he was fantastic. Is you can, ask for Jhabi Lal Bhattarai ( a very quiet nice guy from Nepal) he is patient and shy at first but full of information,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ike1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel location appears to be not so good - I was asked why I booked this hotel in this area (by local guide)?! Haha. As it is, when our driver went around looking for this hotel at night, we found ourselves searching in an area where it looks a little dodgy, with small dinghy hotels/eateries all around us. Thank goodness, we felt a great sense of relief when we reach this hotel - at least their lobby decoration looks luxurious, compared to many in the area! Also, it is just at the main road.

Good service by the staff at the reception. Staff served us welcome drinks when we checked-in.

Room and bathroom are good too, in terms of decoration - attempted "luxury hotel feel" in their rooms, so it scores high on deco and comfort levels. Air-conditioner is great, blasting away, nice and cold (can adjust). Hotel also can prepare simple toast bread breakfast for you (bring to your room) if you have to leave early next morning - just inform the reception.

Can't really find any negative points about this hotel with my brief stay of 1 night, other than the bed could be better, not as thick/comfy as it looks like.

Overall, for this price, it is very worth it! Considerably cheap compared to many others. Would not mind staying here again next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandalovesBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip to Delhi. Tried this hotel reading previous reviews on trip advisor n I must say that this property truly deserve all it's great reviews . Very nice hotel with all five star facilities , running hot water , decent breakfast , trained staff , central location, centrally air-conditioned , clean n modern rooms . You get everything by spending less. Truly best in this category.

Room Tip: Had taken executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vs_1498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I enjoyed the two nights we stayed here. Big room with a nice view of the street, nice rooftop restaurant, attentive and helpful staff and decent wifi in the room. It felt like a North American boutique place. I'd stay there again. Centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#59 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing