We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in the heart of Delhi.”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #28 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed in City Star from 9th to 11th May 2013 early morning. Its a small hotel, but elegant, stylish and clean with all modern amenities. It is centrally located and so near the Delhi Central Railway Station with easy access to all main parts of Delhi. It has good access to airport as we experienced. Rooms are centrally air conditioned, stylish and well equipped. There is one restaurant - the roof top one. It serves excellent food and the complimentary Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Doesn't have swimming pool or Bar as the Hotel doesn't have space for the same. But in the available space, they have maintained it beautifully and elegantly with European standards with stylish ambiance and all modern facilities. A great boutique hotel with excellent rooms beautifully designed and beautiful looking. Most important thing is the service. On arrival I am greeted with fresh juice. The front desk/reception is manned by skilled people, especially the young man with the turban. They are there to help you with anything and everything. The room boys are also exceptionally service oriented. For my morning flight early morning (6 am), the travel desk arranged car promptly and at a reasonable price. So the specialty is that you get a five star service in a budget hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nagaraj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Our son had stayed here several times before and recommended it to us. Excellent hotel in good location near to New Delhi train station. Airport pickup was efficient and cold drinks in the lobby when checking in was really appreciated after a long journey. Rooms were clean, comfortable and really enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace in the evenings for dinner. All our meals were of a good standard and breakfast time catered well both for locals and Europeans.
Staff were helpful and although there was a mistake made booking our taxi correctly which meant we missed our train to our next destination we returned to the hotel and the General Manager sorted everything out to rectify the situation in the best way possible. In fairness to the hotel they handled the problem professionally and we would have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doctor064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel was clean and beautiful looking upon entering the lobby until we reach our room. The hotel staff are warm ,pleasant ,friendly ,hospitable and helpful starting from the hotel manager and all the rest of the hotel staff, especially the staff picking us up in the airport, he has patience in waiting for us till we came to meet him.It was a big help for us that the hotel offered a free pick up in the airport for our flight arrival was midnight. The hotel manager was very helpful in making our stay in India wonderful by offering us a very good deal of the golden triangle tour which is Delhi-Agra-Jaipur. My children enjoy the hospitality treatment of the staff upon arrival in the lobby by offering mango juice and water drink which we never experience in other hotel for all the years of our travelling. I was so glad for choosing City Star Hotal.

Room Tip: we choose deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lolita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is situated close to New Delhi Railway station in the middle of the hussle and bussle but in a good way. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The bed is super comfy and nice and big. Breakfast is ok, not brilliant. Staff are welcoming and polite. We did a tour with the hotel of Delhi which we would recommend as the guide was great and it was an air conditioned car. On our last day we went to get the train but unfortunately fell for a scam so make sure you read up on them before you get the train. The hotel were amazing as we went back to them. They helped us with a car and even offered to give our room back and gave us our free breakfast, they really were stars. Would stay here again without a doubt :).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZaraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of my trip and both times received excellent service. Both pick up and drop off at the airport was complimentary. The hotel interior is excellent with extensive use of marble. The room was large, very clean and well fitted. Staff attitude on both day and night-shift was helpful and friendly. There are no great views from the hotel windows due to the location. The area outside the hotel seemed a little run down at first but having travelled for a couple of weeks in India it is quite a normal street. I had no problems outside the hotel. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the train station and an easy 20 min walk to Connaught Place. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnnytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived in Dehli @ 1:30AM, extremely wiped out from 24hrs of traveling. I had organized an airport pickup with the hotel and they confirmed someone would be there to meet us. Alas...no one showed up. Ended up getting a maniac driver (yes even by Indian standards), so a bit of a rough start to the trip. Apparently the person who came to pick us up was stuck in traffic, kind of a lame excuse and I suspect a fib. The only positive in this situation - they did reimburse us most of the taxi fare we paid.
Hotel room was nice - everything is new and modern and very clean. IThe free snacks and water were a nice touch. I liked the roof top restaurant and breakfast - insanely noisey up on the roof, but a nice spot none the less.
What I really didn't like was the over priced tour of Delhi with the driver who had his own agenda. He didn't take us where we really wanted to go, we ended up missing the Red Fort as he lied and said you could not actually go inside the buildings, we were also too tired at the point to worry about it. This driver also made a few 'shopping' stops - the usual commision stops. So annoying! We could have hired a way cheaper driver to do the same tour in retrospect. I think the hotel bamboozles the guests who first arrive and are still dazed from travel.I saw this same driver/travel agent herding out the new arrivals every day after our 'tour'.
Another negative: the room was quiet as far a street noise was concerned, but directly below the restaurant. They were cleaning the restaurant until the wee hours which involved banging pots and dragging of chairs on tile. It was very disruptive.
As far as hotels in Delhi in this area, I would say it is one of the better place, just be warned of the inflated travel agent services.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back are quiet - but avoid the 4th floor as it is under the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sznn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Hotel is a breath of fresh air in chaotic Delhi; stayed here with my family for a day while going to Srinagar, good welcome, gave me early check-in, nice & spacious room, clean bathroom, wifi free & working very well.
Adequate complimentary breakfast on nice little roof top restaurant, helpful staff willing to serve, overall a good choice, we will stay again when back in Delhi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sdewan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#22 of 727 in New Delhi
1,141 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#48 of 727 in New Delhi
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palace Heights
#34 of 727 in New Delhi
703 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#57 of 727 in New Delhi
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing