We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly, calm and super clean”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #28 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I am so happy we decided to stay here after our train trip from Jaipur. We were welcomed with such kindness and a lovely fresh fruit juice when we arrived. Hotel is super clean. Absolutely spotless. And great rooftop restaurant. The door man arranged and bargained riskaws and tuktuks for us. Splendid service!
I'd absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone! We have fond memories of this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DyonneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in Nov using it as a base to see Dehli and somewhere to leave our bags rather than cart them with us for an overnight trip to Varanasi.
Staff were all helpful and spoke good English with a great doorman who was always happy to help hail a tuk tuk etc. Used the hotels car for a day sightseeing around Delhi which was great value but be warned if you are not firm with the driver you will end up spending the day shopping between attractions. The desk quoted us for a driver to take us to Agra, Ranthambore and Jaipur but seemed expensive and managed to get a much cheaper deal elsewhere.
Location is fine on Gupta Road near New Delhi Train Station, the road itself is very busy and not the most attractive area but it felt perfectly safe and was only mins away from Old Dehli and Connaught Place. We had a room at the rear of the hotel and didn’t suffer from any noise at night.
Rooms were modern, spacious, clean and comfortable with a good shower and excellent complementary wifi.
Breakfast was buffet style with eggs and pancakes made to order on the rooftop restaurant.
Great value city break hotel – recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yo_spuddie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Chances are you are staying in this area to be close to the New Delhi Railway Station. There is not much else in the area except other boutique hotels, but the majority of guests seemed to be in transit from either the railway or airport.

Our stay was short, arriving by air in the late evening and departing on a 6am train to Agra. So the hotel served its purpose wonderfully. Free airport pickup, quick check-in, friendly service, a clean room, early morning breakfast, and help arranging a car to take us the few blocks to the railway.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the restaurant in the hotel. It was actually some of the best India food we had our whole trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prime81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have spent almost two weeks in this hotel and it has been a wonderful experience, due to the kidness and eficiency of the employees; the food (the breakfast buffet is superb); the rooms; the cleaning; the complimentary items; etc. A good way to enjoy the city, and I would choose it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main fachade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fjazzvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here on two occasions during November 2013, first when I arrived Delhi and the second when returning from Shimla. The hotel held the bulk of my luggage, without fee as I travelled north for four days and wanted to travel light without all my bags. The hotel is clean and well located, good breakfast available on the rooftop with great views of the surrounding area.. The hotel is located close to New Delhi station so on my return journey from Shimla I walked to the hotel. The only one complaint I have, regards the bathrooms, the shower is open and water goes everywhere. In the first bathroom the drain runs the wrong way and water tends to sit in front of the basin and toilet. Second time I stayed the bathroom was very tiny and again with no screen, water tends to flood the bathroom floor and the bath mat is required to soak up the water. Good internet available here also, which isn't the case in other hotels. I had heard bad reports about the safety of area before I stayed, but I never felt concerned or worried about the location, despite walking the back streets and laneways around the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor on both occasions, noise wasn't an issue. Ask for a room with a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAArkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Clean, contempory and very close to New Delhi railway station. Bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the room has air con, fridge, tea and coffee facilities - in fact everything you need for a comfortable stay. I would stay here again if ever in Delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
86
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We have been in India for four weeks and this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. The location near to New Delhi Railway Station was one of the reasons why we picked it. Accommodation was good and the hotel was clean throughout. The staff were very helpful, unlike some of our previous hotels where it was a bit false. In particular they helped me with printing tickets and sorting out transport. We were welcomed with a juice drink and water. No problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at Hotel City Star. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel & we are pleased to know that you appreciated the staff, services and ambiance of our hotel. Our entire team thanks you & pays you our heartfelt gratitude for posting such a positive & encouraging review for our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Hoping to have the pleasure of your company & chance of serving you soon!

Best Regards
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#22 of 727 in New Delhi
1,141 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#48 of 727 in New Delhi
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palace Heights
#34 of 727 in New Delhi
703 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#57 of 727 in New Delhi
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing