We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #22 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My friend and I spent 5 nights in this hotel in January 2014, and had a great stay. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming, the rooms clean and the restaurant fine. We also made use of their trip arrangements for sightseeing in Delhi and for a day trip to Agra, both a success.

We had originally booked 3 nights before going to a wedding in northern India, but decided to spend the last two nights of our trip here as well. If I ever go back to Delhi, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eirin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    465
    97
    12
    13
See reviews for
196
551
156
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Efficiently arranged complimentary pick up from the airport despite our lateness . Great welcome at the front desk with plenty of help on offer including trip arrangements. The Main Street frontage was very busy but room to the front on second floor was ok for noise. Room was good size with ensuite and well appointed . Everything clean. Top floor restaurant and Terrace was convenient and a reasonable price. Thanks City Star for a great visit and good cheerful service

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank johngreenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during my trip in india. Clean rooms, perfect location and excellent service. Comparable to a 5 star hotel..staff we very friendly, assisted me in every way they could. the restaurant food is also good and the variety is quite good too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Manoj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are unbelievably nice, so friendly and really helpful. It makes such a difference to your opinion of a country when on arrival you are greeted so well. We took advantage of the free airport pick-up. We were caught up in immigration for approx 3 hours.....I know....and it was even more stressful to think that our driver would have left. But no there he was, waiting patiently outside arrivals with a smile on his face. It was such a huge relief. The staff were very attentive when we arrived at the hotel even though it was 4.30am by now. The room was lovely, very spacious, lovely design just a little dusty. This is understandable as it is in Delhi. Dusty cups and saucers don't bother us, we could easily wash them, but as it might put other people off I think staff should pay attention to this type of thing when they are cleaning the rooms. It would be a shame when everything else is so good to be let down by something so simple. Lovely white linen, bed really comfy and nice bathroom. Breakfast was great, really good choice between indian and western fare. Staff were really attentive, always pleasant. They gave us good advice on what to do on our first day in Delhi, invaluable info re getting tuk tuks and trains. It's these little things that are so important. We were able to leave our bags there for the day. They gave us a room to freshen up in before taking our train. Our second visit was on New Years day. Again they lived up to our expectations. Complimentary fruit basket and new years card. Completely unnecessary and unexpected but a really nice touch. Again we left our bags here the next day and had the chance to take showers before heading to the airport. A departing bonus was that their driver was leaving to the airport to collect some people so gave us a ride at a very reasonable price compared to the cost of the metro :-) I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. For the staff remember the attention to little details is what makes the difference between a great hotel and an amazing hotel :-)

Room Tip: All four rooms that we saw were very similar, spacious and nice design. Maybe a room at the back is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at Hotel City Star for two nights. Great value, solid and clean rooms, friendly staff. Nothing overly fancy but everything you need for a comfortable stay at an attractive price. Not the prettiest location, but fairly convenient. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
492 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Well maintained relatively new hotel. Staff were very good. A good haven away from all the hassle that is New Delhi. Free transfer from the airport at 5.30am without any problem. Free wifi in rooms. The food was good and everything about the restaurant looked to be hygienic. Convenient for all the attractions, such as the Red Fort, Jama Masjid and India Gate. Only a ten minute walk away from New Delhi Railway Station.
The downside is the area. We walked out from the hotel each night without any problem. In fact, we got far less hassle than at the actual tourist attractions. For many, I guess, the best thing would be to get a cheap tuk-tuk to take you to a restaurant.
A word of warning to first time visitors to New Delhi - read Lonely Planet info on tourist scams, from telling you your hotel has closed to needing to pay to have your train tickets confirmed. All a load of nonsense. Pity about that since most people we met were delightful.

Room Tip: High floor away from the noise of the road. Forget my swimming pool rating - it doesn't have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am writing this to finally correct some Karma from last year.

I left for Delhi in under 3 days with out any planning except trip advisors rating beginning of January 2013. Hotel city star was the best value hotel, with great rooms and friendly/helpful staff (shiv) that I found in 3 weeks and 10 hotels in India.

Not only that the guy they called the manager/travel agent mr Grumman (or something like) organised me the best taxis driver Chandon to take me around Rajasthan, English speaking, honest and safe. The hotels I booked through him were acceptable, less good than city star and more expensive, (except the hotel in Jaipur which was beautiful but more expensive)

The driver Kant who took me around Varanasi Allahabad Bodgia then my to find my Grandmothers house in Giridh was also good although less English made it harder. It was a very personalised and complicated trip organised by Mr Grumman that would not have been possible to organise in England and was utterly amazing.

I was very lucky to land at the city star where certainly last year they organised me a completely successful and life changing trip to discover my grandmothers House in a remote and untraveler friendly part of Northan India.

I wish you all well and very many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#59 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing