We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #24 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Hotel City Star in Delhi.
When we first arrived at the place we were a bit apprehensive as the surrounding area was rather seedy. But our fears subsided when we entered the hotel to a fairly spacious and clean lobby and were attended to by an amiable duty receptionist ( I think his name is Karamjit). In fact all the staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful and courteous.
Our room was clean, well appointed and all facilities worked. The only comment I have about the room is that they do not provide a box of tissue. This is only a small matter.
One person who stayed in this hotel previously commented that the City Star is a 5-star hotel in a 1-star location. Overall I would rate this hotel a 3-star but the location I would agree is 1-star.
The breakfast provided is very basic (bread, butter, jam and scrambled eggs plus a few local dishes). You have to make your own coffee or tea. You can of course request for omelets or fried eggs. We are senior citizens and small eaters so we were not looking for a lavish breakfast. This hotel is value for money. If you don't mind the rough edges of the surrounding, then I would highly recommend this hotel. Please request for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor (there are 4 floors).
Lastly, the City Star restaurant serves excellent masala tea at 40 rupees per cup which is a bargain.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zainal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    476
    99
    12
    13
See reviews for
205
566
162
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. This was the first time I should have went a different place. The room was fine, small but very modern and clean. There was a hot pot with tea and instant coffee. TV received adequate stations, mostly indian. Wi-Fi was free and worked well. The staff was fine, nothing exceptional. I used the travel agency, was slightly disappointed. Breakfast buffet was mediocre all Indian food which is fine but for myself need more variety as everything was too starchy. My biggest problem was the location, the street is exceptionally busy and noisy. The air pollution of Delhi (which is exceptional) got to me and made me sick. The neighborhood was sketchy and I got a view of back side street with all the trash, sounds (dogs getting beaten) children playing in filthy grounds. I kept my curtains drawn. NOTHING to do in neighborhood and as a solo traveler was quite intimidating. No sidewalks, restaurants, or foreign friendly businesses to patronize. I went to pharmacy to get medicine and the guy was of no help. Yes the train station is nearby but even the station was filthy. If I ever go back to Delhi, I will pay more and stay in a greener less busy area. My overall impression was the price may be right for the hotel, but lack of amenities is not worth the low cost.

Room Tip: To avoid depression chose a street side room if you can stand the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for one night last week and found this hotel to be very good value for money. Very attentive staff and clean airy room. This hotel is in a vibrant and busy part of the city, perhaps a poor area but by no means intimidating to walk around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Late night check in proved to be a good experience. Total value for money. English brkfast adds to d icing . Perfect fresh mrg wid family wid gud brkfast made it memorable.soothing interiors according to inernational standards . Thumbs up to d mgt for gud work.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank krishannarang61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 and chose this hotel due to reviews and also it is near the railway station. Our room was available when we arrived (7.30am) which was great and the room was large, clean, comfortable and modern.

Everyone from the doorman to the manager did everything to make our stay truly enjoyable. Everyone was so helpful and very patient with us as we had a few queries that were dealt with in a very professional manner.

We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of nights and the food was lovely and big portions too. There is a pizza hut next door if you get sick of Indian food :)

The hotel is in a busy area and yes there are nicer areas but hey its India so just go with the flow. Plenty of taxis and auto rickshaws are available at the hotel to take you out and about. It will cost about 100 rupees to go to the Red Fort area which is near.

We stayed in 7 hotels altogether on our Indian adventure and this was definitely the best value for money and the friendliest.

Room Tip: Our room was at the side of the building and so was our daughters and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ComeonyouBulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived yesterday for a 3 days stay and we have been welcomed very well. Upon our arrival, we were served a mango juice and water. We also received a fruit basket in our room. The staff is helpfull and polite. The rooftop restaurant is great. The food is delicious, try the Thalis! Room is very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SaintHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is located in Paharganj, close to the railway station - which makes it an ideal location for tourists in some ways but comes with the dirt and filth associated with that area. The hotel itself is EXTREMELY CLEAN, with excellent service, and a great buffet breakfast and good restaurant in house. This is an excellent choice if you are looking to stay in the Paharganj area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#36 of 715 in New Delhi
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,089 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing