We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good value for money hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #22 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good value for money hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

excellent service plus extras in room free : fruit, water etc. excellent doorman service for autorickshaws and cars. Difficult crosing the road (like anywhere in India). It looks nr railway station, but isnt, not easily walkable given the grotty area between hotel and station, but rickshaw to there only 40 centimes. good roof top restaurant for all meals -both inside and out if weather a little chilly

Room Tip: a lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    453
    97
    12
    13
See reviews for
193
542
154
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

After spending 5 weeks in India, I can truly say that this hotel is wonderful. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The beds were comfortable and the facilities had everything you need, from toilet paper to hot water with appropriate pressure. The breakfast was also quite lovely. The staff will make you an omelette or a crepe to your liking.

I strongly recommend this hotel. I know I will use it on my next trip to India.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the City Star twice during on month long stay in India. Although in a very busy part of Delhi the soundproofing was excellent. The rooms are clean, modern with all amenities you would require (nice hot showers, safe, tea/coffee, fruit and snacks) all free. The check in staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help, nothing is too much trouble. It is like stepping into an oasis when you come off the street. Don't waste your money on large hotels, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stu1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laupen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

a very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms are just great, after a busy day in the streets and markets of delhi it is a pleasure to return to this peaceful place with all services you desire. we also liked the roof top lounge and restaurant very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a good hotel on the very busy and somewhat chaotic DP Gupta Road near New Delhi railway station. What stood out during my stay was the helpfulness of the staff. On arrival I was told I'd been upgraded to a better quality of room for both nights, when I needed to send an important email I was offered use of the manager's computer, and when I asked about booking a train ticket to Jaipur, the hotel sorted this all out for me. Breakfast and dinner were also above average on a nice rooftop terrace (partly covered) which is a great place to people-watch the road below.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Hotel City Star in Delhi.
When we first arrived at the place we were a bit apprehensive as the surrounding area was rather seedy. But our fears subsided when we entered the hotel to a fairly spacious and clean lobby and were attended to by an amiable duty receptionist ( I think his name is Karamjit). In fact all the staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful and courteous.
Our room was clean, well appointed and all facilities worked. The only comment I have about the room is that they do not provide a box of tissue. This is only a small matter.
One person who stayed in this hotel previously commented that the City Star is a 5-star hotel in a 1-star location. Overall I would rate this hotel a 3-star but the location I would agree is 1-star.
The breakfast provided is very basic (bread, butter, jam and scrambled eggs plus a few local dishes). You have to make your own coffee or tea. You can of course request for omelets or fried eggs. We are senior citizens and small eaters so we were not looking for a lavish breakfast. This hotel is value for money. If you don't mind the rough edges of the surrounding, then I would highly recommend this hotel. Please request for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor (there are 4 floors).
Lastly, the City Star restaurant serves excellent masala tea at 40 rupees per cup which is a bargain.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zainal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. This was the first time I should have went a different place. The room was fine, small but very modern and clean. There was a hot pot with tea and instant coffee. TV received adequate stations, mostly indian. Wi-Fi was free and worked well. The staff was fine, nothing exceptional. I used the travel agency, was slightly disappointed. Breakfast buffet was mediocre all Indian food which is fine but for myself need more variety as everything was too starchy. My biggest problem was the location, the street is exceptionally busy and noisy. The air pollution of Delhi (which is exceptional) got to me and made me sick. The neighborhood was sketchy and I got a view of back side street with all the trash, sounds (dogs getting beaten) children playing in filthy grounds. I kept my curtains drawn. NOTHING to do in neighborhood and as a solo traveler was quite intimidating. No sidewalks, restaurants, or foreign friendly businesses to patronize. I went to pharmacy to get medicine and the guy was of no help. Yes the train station is nearby but even the station was filthy. If I ever go back to Delhi, I will pay more and stay in a greener less busy area. My overall impression was the price may be right for the hotel, but lack of amenities is not worth the low cost.

Room Tip: To avoid depression chose a street side room if you can stand the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#3 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing