We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel City Star
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$150
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lodhi(New Delhi)
US$250
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveller rating
793
532
117
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
532
117
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgupta roadtuk tuktrain stationbusy roadairport pickupdoor manwelcome drinktravel deskconnaught placethe security guardbusy areapaharganj areaindian foodan oasisindia tripmain bazaar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, one at the beginning of our trip and one at the end... Both were great! The rooms were perfect, the receptionists and staff always polite and helpful and there was breakfast was also very good, with a choice of Indian food or not. We also ate at the rooftop restaurant one time... The food was good, a bit heavy but very tasty and huge portions (thali recommended). The only problem we had was with the driver who picked us up from the airport, he was late and not at the place we were told to wait for him, but the staff was very apologetic and it was sorted out reasonably.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank DawnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Hotel City Star New Delhi !!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel City Star, New Delhi and for sharing your generous feedback through Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the food, the room and most importantly the warm and friendly service provided by our staff.

Your feedback is very motivating and will inspire us to create moments of joy for our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We look forward to your continued visits.

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very smart boutique hotel at a bargain price. It is very near New Delhi Railway Station, which isn't the best area, but is quite safe if you take sensible precautions (much the same as all over India).
The rooms are compact but well furnished and planned out, and the bathrooms lovely. Our room was exactly like the one in the photo. Hot water is plentiful, and wifi works!
Staff are very attentive, as we had a late flight we were offered a room to freshen up without asking! Food great.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank taaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The hotel city star, New Delhi and for sharing feedback of your stay through Trip Advisor.


Your generous compliments have also been shared with the entire team.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and will visit us again and again is a true reward for the team which continues putting in every effort to look after guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hotel City Star New Delhi
Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a delayed review but nonetheless a review that is deserving for this hotel. We travelled in August 2013 with 2 kids and a senior citizen. Right from the start of booking the hotel thru the website with Mr Mohd Harris and arriving there, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had requested for the rooms to be adjoining or close to each other and they had fulfilled that criteria. The breakfast was great on the rooftop and the food there on other occasions that we ate there was one of the best we had tasted on our trip to India. We loved to come back from a long day out and be able to go up to the restaurant and have a few cold beers and some lovely butter chicken and rotis in comfort. The manager of the restaurant was Brij Mohan Tripathi and we would like to thank him for his great hospitality. The rooms were modern, cold and well cleaned. Th staff at the reception were great as well. Im so sorry but I can't seem to remember the names of the staff. All in all a fantastic stay and I would definetly come back and stay if I were ever in Dehi again.

Room Tip: Try the Executive deluxe rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kdks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Hotel City Star New Delhi!!!!!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Hotel City Star, New Delhi and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable experience and that you were impressed by the ambience, the view and the staff at the hotel.

The team is our strength and they strive hard to delight our guests. I have personally shared your compliments with Mr. Harish & Brij Mohan Tripathi for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is heartening to note that The Hotel City Star, New Delhi will be the hotel of your choice whenever you travel to New Delhi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in New Delhi very soon.

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at beginning and end of 4 weeks in India. Handy location, safe and well organised.
Delhi is a bustling, loud and dirty city but walking through the hotel doors takes you to a quiet
cool and clean world. Food was fine, tried most things and had no problems. Terrace restaurant
was relaxing way to end the day. Hotel has wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kontiki24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Hotel City Star New Delhi!!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at City Star New Delhi
It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to City Star New Delhi.
Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Delightful people waiting on you in delightful hotel full of “quiet” in this vibrant, exciting and very much alive city of millions. Greeted on arrival by smiling helpful front desk staff, it was 3.00am when we arrived but we felt very welcomed by them even at this hour. We used the hotels free airport pickup service and the only charge was the cost of the road toll.

The terrace restaurant where meals are served allows you to watch the business life of the day getting started and the very helpful staff will prepare omelettes of any description for you if you want a change from the buffet style normally offered .

Outside this oasis you are surrounded by the bustling everyday life of ordinary people going about their jobs and making ends meet. To find this very well run hotel is indeed a treasure which we would want to share with anyone who wants a true taste of both sides of India or indeed of the many sides of “Incredible” India. Just a short walk away is a labyrinth of narrow streets, lanes, paths surrounded and sometimes engulfed by traders offering all sorts of goods. We got happily lost in this maze but were gently pointed in the right direction by helpful stall owners and eventually getting back to where we had started from.

Getting around is easier if you use the Autorickshaws which can be hired as you need them but you must bargain the price. Most journeys around Delhi can be accomplished for less than €2.00 for two people.

We stayed for 5 nights with one excursion night to Jaipur organised by Ajay of Divine Holidays, the tours organiser employed by the hotel and his arrangements were, to say the least, fantastic. We were supplied with a car and our driver, Mr.Pritam Singh, who deftly and safely took us through the mass of traffic. Tour guides met us at both the Red Fort, Agra, Jaipur and the Taj Mahal who proved to be both very knowledgeable and experienced people. The charges were very reasonable, by European standards of course. We highly recommend this action because it takes all the stress out of getting to these places under your own steam. Ajay will also organise your return trip to the airport for a very reasonable charge.

Would we return to this hotel....yes very definitely!

Room Tip: Most rooms are away from the busy street front but it would be worth making sure by stating a back room when booking.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Hotel City Star New Delhi!!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Hotel City Star New Delhi

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.
Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews