We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #22 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value old town”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel and used as a base to travel about the country, it is very close to the main railway station.
The hotel is not in the most salubrious area, but is a true taste of Delhi.
The staff, particularly the desk management were excellent, and could not have been more helpful above and beyond what there basic role.
The hotel itself is modern, clean and represented great value. We used the hotel car for a days sightseeing for only 1300 rupees.
It is not the Oberoi, but a very good value, comfortable base from which to see Delhi, with honest and helpful staff. New Delhi station is only a 4 minute walk.

Room Tip: possibly quieter away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    453
    96
    12
    13
See reviews for
193
541
153
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First thing, when I called up the hotel reception to arrange for an airport pickup - the staff happily noted my details and obliged for the same. But, after i got into the New Delhi airport and tried to call up asking about the pickup- the staff couldn't recollect anything on my name. So, I had to take a taxi costing INR 600 to get to the hotel at midnight. I wouldn't have minded this much, but the staff were no where near to apologetic about this. The breakfast was pretty ordinary, the rooms although made to look modern -are very small and tiny for a couple or two adults. Anyways, I feel i did not get what I expected for what i had spent for 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank shaik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greeting from Hotel City Star New Delhi !!

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are indeed disappointed to see that our team has failed in airport pick up service, thus spoiling your overall experience while staying with us and we sincerely apologize for that. It is very generous of you to still appreciate our Hotel, Rooms amenities, and complimentary Breakfast etc. once again we deeply regret the unpleasant experience you had at the hotel.

The entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to Hotel City Star, New Delhi.


Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights after landing in Delhi and before heading out on our tour of the Golden triangle and Rajasthan. The hotel is perfectly situated for those coming into or going out of the main New Delhi Station as this is a short fare away.
This is a modern building in quite a down-at-heel area. So it sticks out a little, this is also helped by the giant neon sign outside. The rooms are all modern clean and comfortable with good beds and shower-only bathrooms. There is reliable wifi throughout the hotel and the staff are very happy to help with anything you might ask. We did not get a great nights sleep the first night as we were right next to the stairwell. However they were happy to move us to a room at the back of the hotel, away from the tiled and noisy staircase. The rooftop restaurant is good for an evening meal but can become a little cramped for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, try to avoid the lower numbered rooms next to the stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukecartledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed in Hotel City Star for a couple of night and it was a comfortable one. The hotel is located in D.B Gupta road which was busy and packed with cars always. The inside of the hotel is modern and elegant. The rooms were clean and furnished perfectly. The people at the reception desk were really honest, resourceful, and efficient. The food was good in the restaurant (both Indian and continental food is available). The hotel was close to Delhi railway station and to Connaught Place. To sum things up, it is a wonderful budget hotel and will be looking forward to stay here again and special thanks to all the receptionists who helped us as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chenven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I walked from the Metro, over the railway foot bridge at New Delhi Station, to D. B. Gupta Road to find City Star Hotel. It is nearby. Most people will guide you but beware of touts. They will say anything to trick you. One told me I had to register with the police before I could stay in a hotel!! City Star, it sounds a bit cheap and down market, but it isn't the hotel is as good as the pictures in any booking engine. That's not normally the case.
My room was not ready when I arrived. Not surprising at 9:30 in the morning, but the reception staff me me welcome sat me down in a comfortable lobby area and gave me a refreshing fruit drink. What a start to a holiday. The room was available shortly, before I had time to finish my drink.
I think some of the staff do expect a tip for carrying your bags to the room and any little service they do, but unlike some countries they only expect a small tip of 10 to 20 rupees. There was a bothersome waiter who will tell you his difficulties and how poorly he is paid. just try not to engage in conversation with him. The others could not be more helpful as are the receptionists.
There is even a man to open the outside door for you. He did not expect a tip. I once tricked him and managed to open my own door but This hurt his feelings so I did not do it again. He was also good at getting taxis or tuk tuks for you and negotiating the price. The reception desk will tell you how much you should pay for local journeys.
The room is spotless and the restaurant very good.

Room Tip: I had room 401, one floor below the restaurant. There was little traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hightrav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Everyone at Hotel City Star in Paharganj, New Delhi, was amazing! The managers at the front desk were very helpful, honest and accommodating to all our needs and inevitable mishaps. Thank you to Mahesh, Ravi, Harbreet, Karamjeet and Rajesh and anyone else at the front desk. The cleaning staff, waiters in restaurant, etc. were all very personable and helpful, too. Thank you Imtiyaz, Jawed, and others in the restaurant!

We were scammed at the train station and missed our train, but went back to City Star after having already checked out and they even helped us then. I highly recommend Hotel City Star for anyone on a budget who isn't a backpacker!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire England UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is convent for Delhi sight seeing. It is not in the best of area's but handy for New Delhi railway station.The hotel is clean and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was included in the price and as very good.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good.We will stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ganma4papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#13 of 707 in New Delhi
1,108 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 707 in New Delhi
1,654 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 707 in New Delhi
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing