We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #22 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our last night in India and were very glad to do so. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and their restaurant had very good food. Transportation arrangements can be made at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank desier26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time to share your generous feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are happy to receive your feedback and to note that your experience at The hotel City Star was most enjoyable and that you have taken fond memories of your stay with us.

The team is our strength and your generous praise will inspire them to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    453
    96
    12
    13
See reviews for
193
541
153
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is really trying to be a top notch one. They were very good in many ways and a very good value for the price. The rooms are nicely appointed. The service was very good. The rooftop restaurant is a nice respite and has good food.
I wouldn't recommend sending your laundry out though, I sent mine 36 hours before my departure thinking that would be plenty of time. I barely got it back in time, and only then because I asked for it. I received it back still damp initially after asking for it, then had to send it back to be dried before receiving it late at night before my very early morning departure the next day. Don't let this bad experience taint my opinion of the hotel. They were very good in most ways...I would just avoid the laundry service, its not reliable.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, it does not bother me, you may want to request a room in the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank and_beyondChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greeting from Hotel City Star New Delhi !!

We thank you for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at Hotel City Star, New Delhi. As a team, we try and provide a service with a smile within the best of our abilities.
The entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to Hotel City Star, New Delhi.

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We went their last year.
Got a free pick up from airport.
The hotel is modern with all amenities n good interiors.
They have a restaurant at top which is also very nice.
Its a 10-15 min walk to metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashish27121986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel, close to the New Delhi Railway Station, ended up to be a really great choice! A modern, extremely comfortable hotel, with a very professional and friendly staff. I really enjoyed my stay here and appreciated the very comfortable bed. I highly recommend Hotel City Star, as having stayed at many hotels in India, this is by far now one of my favorites. Our dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent! The buffet breakfast was very generous, with numerous choices, and they also will cook eggs to order. A great stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed one night at the City Star, it is a very busy area and the hotel was certainly a pleasant surprise. We arranged an airport pickup with the hotel which was there waiting for us even though our flight was 1 hour late. We had a snack and evening meal at the rooftop restaurant great value good food. The room was clean and comfortable. Used the small gym in the basement good modern equipment. Overall nice good value small hotel don't be put off by the area would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel and used as a base to travel about the country, it is very close to the main railway station.
The hotel is not in the most salubrious area, but is a true taste of Delhi.
The staff, particularly the desk management were excellent, and could not have been more helpful above and beyond what there basic role.
The hotel itself is modern, clean and represented great value. We used the hotel car for a days sightseeing for only 1300 rupees.
It is not the Oberoi, but a very good value, comfortable base from which to see Delhi, with honest and helpful staff. New Delhi station is only a 4 minute walk.

Room Tip: possibly quieter away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First thing, when I called up the hotel reception to arrange for an airport pickup - the staff happily noted my details and obliged for the same. But, after i got into the New Delhi airport and tried to call up asking about the pickup- the staff couldn't recollect anything on my name. So, I had to take a taxi costing INR 600 to get to the hotel at midnight. I wouldn't have minded this much, but the staff were no where near to apologetic about this. The breakfast was pretty ordinary, the rooms although made to look modern -are very small and tiny for a couple or two adults. Anyways, I feel i did not get what I expected for what i had spent for 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank shaik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greeting from Hotel City Star New Delhi !!

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are indeed disappointed to see that our team has failed in airport pick up service, thus spoiling your overall experience while staying with us and we sincerely apologize for that. It is very generous of you to still appreciate our Hotel, Rooms amenities, and complimentary Breakfast etc. once again we deeply regret the unpleasant experience you had at the hotel.

The entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to Hotel City Star, New Delhi.


Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#13 of 707 in New Delhi
1,108 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 707 in New Delhi
1,654 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 707 in New Delhi
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing