We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will return here if im ever in delhi”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #23 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“will return here if im ever in delhi”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

great hotel, great food, excellent staff, very clean and fantastic attention to detail. it was a real pleasure and luxury to stay here when I was passing through delhi after staying in some more budget accommodations elsewhere. the breakfast is a treat, the airport collection very helpful and one of the only hotels to offer the service complimentary (just need to pay the parking fee).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a well priced good quality hotel near new delhi station. the area around is not the nicest/cleanest - but it was an interesting and active area that I enjoyed and the proximity to the train station and various market areas was very helpful.
a special mention goes out to the restaurant staff who were always very attentive and polite, especially Imitiyaz who made my stay in the hotel feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    475
    99
    12
    13
See reviews for
203
565
160
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2014, our first 3 nights in India. Due to the French air traffic strike our bags didn't make it onto to flight to Delhi. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful. They called they airport on our behalf several times and arranged for us to get our bags back. Generally a very clean and pleasant hotel with polite and helpful staff. Harpreet and his team do a great job.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel, we originally planned 4 nights but when we arrived the manager met us and offered instead to exchange 2 of the nights for hotels in Agra and Jaipur and to arrange for a driver to take us to these places and to show us the tourist sights of Delhi which was great and the deal was very good value. The rooms are beautiful, although we never had hot water, but it's the staff who really make the hotel, they are all so lovely and polite, in particular the two drivers we had and Imtiyaz the waiter in the roof top restaurant. The food here is delicious also and very cheap! Overall a fantastic stay, our favourite in India.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A short walk from the main railway station, and a short tuk-tuk ride to the main bazaar. the rooms are wonderful and the price is fair. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the hotel's restaurant is not bad at all (although if you want a sencere advice - go outside and find a local place. try the curries! ).

Room Tip: try to ask for a room not facing the main street.. might save you some noise (although it is by no m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gurmanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As two 20 year old girls from the UK this could not have been a better place to start our first trip to India. The staff are all extremely helpful, sitting down with us helping us with every single question we had, helping us book train tickets Etc.
This hotel made us feel completely safe at all times, with some nice touches as the security guard came outside with us every time we left, got a rickshaw for us, secured a fair price and then noted down the number plate.
The rooms are excellent, nicely furnished, fully functioning air con, clean western bathrooms, modern, comfortable beds, and a safe.
As for location, this hotel is close enough to everything - 10/15 mins to Connaught place and all of the main sights.
The wifi is also free and works well.
For the £10 a night that we paid each this hotel is exceptional value.
I don't have a single fault :).
ESP recommend to girls if you are worried - we were a little bit and this hotel made us feel 100% comfortable/safe :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SophieColborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the City Star Hotel three different times during our journey in the North of India.
The service is really oustanding, over India's average. They were very helpfull and efficient. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's better to choose rooms away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My recent stay at hotel city star was very comfortable, clean modern rooms and very friendly helpful staff. Location very busy but close to many attractions and hotel can organise everything for you. Very affordable hotel, would recommend to my friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Obie1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 716 in New Delhi
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,074 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing