We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but tour desk complete con artist”
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Star
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel but tour desk complete con artist”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel was lovely but booking our train tickets through the tour desk completely spoilt our trip. He was clearly annoyed that we would not book his golden triangle tour and we asked him to help us book train tickets to Agra he charged us 3200r for two 3rd class tickets. Stay at the hotel but don't book anything from the tour desk

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    476
    101
    12
    14
See reviews for
207
571
162
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very good hotel in Delhi: we stayed here twice in July 2014, at the beginning and at the end of our trip.
Clean, modern, with very helpful staff. Excellent value.
The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, AC always works.
Correct breakfasts in the restaurant on the rooftop, with view on the neighborhood.
The only small problem: Internet doesn't always work very well in the room (for instance, not enough for a Skype) and the area around the hotel is not really nice...very busy, with some stores and restaurants, but not in a (pleasant) walking distance from the main monuments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mataryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great little hotel in parahaganj area. Very clean and well equiped rooms. Fantastic service from everyone i encountered and to top it off they have a great restaurant on the rooftop. Nothing was too much trouble...will definitely return on my back through delhi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tom761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel City Star was our last hotel on our trip in India. After previously spending a night in Delhi in a B&B we were excited to see what the hotels had to offer. The hotel was cheap and very clean, with staff being very pleasant throughout our two nights there. They also helped us with travel arrangements which was ideal.

However, the staff were very slow. I had to call back reception on numerous occasions to see if they were sending staff members like they had said they would.

The 24 hour restaurant upstairs, was in fact open 24 hours, but when I asked for certain things on the menu they said it wasn't available at certain times, which was abit baffling.

The hotel is also situated on a very busy street, although we didn't hear an awful lot in the night.

Overall a good hotel and I'd recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElenaDransfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Absolutely excellent staff almost to the point of being too much, although friendly people in delhi are like that. :)

Stayed in room 404, high up and at the back so not much noise. Really nice beds and aircon. Shower had two settings - cold and freezing - but in Delhi in July you wouldn't want it any other way.

Breakfast was a good mix of western and indian food - staff again, very attentive. We weren't treated any differently for being two men sharing a room.

At one point the hotel was having power trouble, and so we were offered a complimentary taxi to a nearby hotel where a free three course lunch was provided (really good food), and a complimentary room to relax in while it was all fixed.

I think in New Delhi you wouldn't want to cheap out on hotels too much; and Hotel City Star was a perfect combination of a good price for a fantastic hotel. Definitely recommend if staying in Parharganj.

Room Tip: Up high and at the back for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tobyjlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was situated near to the railway station, only about 5-10 minutes walk away. When I entered, i was greeted by the friendly doormen called Mr Tufani who always saluted me and I had to salute back. Mr Karamjit Singh was the front desk personal who made the check in and check out very fluid. The rooms were fantastically clean and beds were made even more comfortable with a choice of Air-conditioning or Fans.

I booked through agoda which provided me with a free airport pick-up. However, i was coming from Varanasi and I asked the staff whether they could convert that pick-up into a send-off to the airport instead. Without much hesitation, it was instant confirmation and I had a free transport to the airport.

They also provided breakfast which was complimentary which did not mention on agoda.com which was pleasantly surprising.

I stayed in room 306 so i had the view of the town outside in delhi. Great view, great staff and very spacious rooms with complimentary drinks and also a fridge to sum up my stay there!!

There's also a pizzahut next door so it makes your stay really perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeremyTongZhiHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice hotel, clean and good value for money. I stayed there last year and booked a city tour and a tour to the Taj Mahal. Neither tour included all of the stops promised by the sales desk at the hotel and the driver to Agra was very dangerous and rude yet despite this demanded I give him a bigger tip than I did. I contacted the hotel to express my dissatisfaction and received a prompt and sympathetic email indicating they would like to reimburse me part of the costs of my tour. Unfortunately, when I then accepted their offer of reimbursement I never heard from them again.

The city tour and trip to Agra were reasonably priced but don't let them sell you on something they won't actually deliver. They have a great salesman who promises a lot but their drivers and guides leave a lot to be desired. Book your tours through a more reputable establishment to ensure you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I stayed on the main floor at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet and the wifi reception was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,097 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Property: Hotel City Star
Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing