We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The people here are great.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil the Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basil the Residency
Ranked #71 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The people here are great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We came here straight from Alaska and was a great place to get our traveling leg underneath us and haggling skills back. The staff was very helpful and was a great place to start this trip. The breakfast were yummy and the roof top terrace was a good place to watch a thunderstorm.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talkeetnaair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, Guest Relations Manager at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback. Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    44
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
28
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

had selected this hotel from uk but BOOKED TROUGH GETS HOLIDAYS(PVT)LTD IN INDIA.we stayed 3 nights there with my family members(11 of us).excellent location.budget hotel but value for money.ideal for short stay or in transit in delhi.from check in- check out all management& staff were excellent.enjoyed our stay there.
HARISH THAKRAER,LEICESTER UK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHARAD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, Guest Relations Manager at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback.

This means a lot to us. It gives us a chance to eliminate our weaknesses & make them our strength. We believe in guest satisfaction which can be only achieved by your support.

Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay the entire staff was very cooperative food was delicious !!! And the + point is there roof top lounge you can spent some beautiful moments over there !!!! We will definitely gonna stay in basil for sure in my next delhi trip!!!wish them best of luck!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RONY748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, Guest Relations Manager at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback.

This means a lot to us. It gives us a chance to eliminate our weaknesses & make them our strength. We believe in guest satisfaction which can be only achieved by your support.

Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

If you just want functional and have a driver then this is fine. It is very close to major roads but our room was at the back and quiet. The rooms are large but just need painting and are austere. Shower excellent. There is no alcohol menu so we did without but bought cans for second night for roof terrace/room. Dinner pretty good and cheap. Waiting time is long but ok as food seemed fresh. They do not understand English very well but we got by. It is a budget hotel. Staff were lovely. I preferred it to some chain in Delhi but if we came again - would we stay there - I guess not unless we were short of money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, Guest Relations Manager at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback.

This means a lot to us. It gives us a chance to eliminate our weaknesses & make them our strength. We believe in guest satisfaction which can be only achieved by your support.

Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

2 nite stay no hot water. Too many disturbances for road weary traveler. Staff helpful but needs much improvement. EMF big concern as electric outlet right at the pillow. Woke with headache. they did not know Which bank could change money and supposed travel agent uninformed about foreign travelers quota for rail ticket. All big waste of time and money.

Room Tip: Forget this
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gurusdakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, Guest Relations Manager at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Apologies for the inconvenience caused but at the same time we would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback.

This means a lot to us. It gives us a chance to eliminate our weaknesses & make them our strength. We believe in guest satisfaction which can be only achieved by your support.

Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel on 2 occasions during a Golden Triangle trip- the hotel does not sell alcohol but the waiters can buy it at a local shop for you but differant waiters will charge you differant amounts and request service charges on top !!!!!. During the checkout the receptionist asked us to put our pin number into the card machine whithout showing us the bill or the amount - when challenged he cancelled the transaction. It took 20 minutes to try and get the bill in the end they said the computer was broken and could not give us the exact amount of our bill although he had already put the amount in the card machine ?? They promised to send the bill by email but it never arrived after 2 weeks. Additionally the rooms we stayed in had damp patches on the walls and quite musty, it is also right next to a busy road with lots of noise - BEWARE !!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Find a quieter hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taffy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, Owner at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Apologies for the inconvenience caused but at the same time we would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback.

I had personally looked into the situation after your review there was an actual problem in the server which also controls the card machine & billing software & unluckily you had to face the problem twice but the staff is innocent & dint have any intentions.

This means a lot to us. It gives us a chance to eliminate our weaknesses & make them our strength. We believe in guest satisfaction which can be only achieved by your support.

Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the basil Hotel for a week. We found it to be comfortable and clean which is what we were looking for in a hotel but they are a lot more then that they are friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay all it should be. We ate in the restaurant most nights as local food is limited however there is a small shopping center down the road we walked to which has a choice of restaurants and a small supermarket stocking western brands if like us you just need some home comforts. The only thing they need to do is have the clean refresh the stock in the bathroom each day. The door guy is great opening the door for you and greeting you on your return to the hotel. All and all if you are after a medium price hotel and dont mind being a little out of the way then this is a top choice.

Room Tip: ask to be in the back of the hotel due to main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalmationdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikaasG, General Manager at Basil the Residency, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us your valuable time & feedback.

This means a lot to us. It gives us a chance to eliminate our weaknesses & make them our strength. We believe in guest satisfaction which can be only achieved by your support.

Hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us any time for any information.

Thanking you
Team – Basil the residency hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Greater Kailash I
The Legend Inn
The Legend Inn
#69 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Treebo Amber
#116 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#63 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Athena Hotel
#197 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#15 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basil the Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basil the Residency

Property: Basil the Residency
Address: 77 Sukhdev Vihar | Mathura Road, New Delhi 110025, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basil the Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basil the residency is a newly constructed Hotel situated in the middle of South Delhi, on the National Highway 2 ( Mathura road) connecting Agra / Noida and a 5 minutes drive to the beautiful Lotus Temple with an amazing view from our rooftop lounge. Also suitable for medical tourism - walking distance to Fortis escorts and a 5 min drive to Apollo hospital.We believe in guest satisfaction for which we make sure we provide comfort, security, cleanliness and privacy and thus keep our promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Basil the Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing