We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“go gaga over the family dosa !”
Review of Bhaja Govindam

Bhaja Govindam
Ranked #421 of 12,577 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: US$5 - US$7
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“go gaga over the family dosa !”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Old authentic furniture, stylish decor are the words that I can use to describe this restaurant. However if there are small babies in the restaurant while you are eating beware! Because they can totally make your family experience bad if they start crying.

We ordered a family dosa and guess what? It covered four plates. It was that huge!! One meter long. The sambhar had a lot of vegetables which is good and the coconut chutney was good too. They make the tomato chutney really well too.
After a round of shopping in Chandni chowk coming to bhaj govindam was a delight. We were famished and had a hearty meal there.

The place is quite reasonable too.Hope you also have a nice experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divyaj31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShantanuRaizada, Owner at Bhaja Govindam, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Divya,
Warm greetings from Bhaj Govindam. We appreciate your feedback on the food, decor and the ambience of the restaurant. I have personally shared this with the entire team. It is our endeavor to offer our guests a memorable dinning experience.

We thank you once again for choosing us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very good food”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Bhaj Govindam is our favorite lunch place as it is the nearest eat out from my office. We often go in around 1:30 PM and find it difficult to get the place easily. It serves both South Indian & North Indian but "Dahi Vada" / "Dahi Bhalla" is a must taste dish of Bhaj Govindam. Prices are also not exorbitant. I would also recomment to try south Indian Thali. Restaurant also provides free Home delivery to nearby places. Please note that Breakfast is not available at Bhaj Govindam. Ambiance is amazing. It actually takes you to the traditional Indian dining experience.Service is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sneha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShantanuRaizada, Owner at Bhaja Govindam, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Sneha B,
Warm greetings from Bhaja Govindam. We appreciate your feedback and your review for our restaurant. We are happy that the food served is to your liking. I on behalf of the entire team would look forward to welcoming you back again at our restaurant.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Delhite”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

A place where a beautiful statue of Lord Ganesha welcomes you to an experience which is quite a combination. A combination of Divinity and Food and hence justifying the name of the place. Well, I have been told that this was my first Restaurant and the most regular one too. My father has seen it evolve and now I am doing the same.

As far as food which is the whole point of going to a Restaurant is concerned, it's good, It's tasty and most importantly, it's different. Vegetarians often complain about the very similiar nature of dishes they are offered at various places but this one is a bit different. The menu is still the same and usual but the Preparation is quite different. They offer you the Restaurant food with a homely touch to it and hence giving it that rustic taste which stays with you for quite some time.

Well, I will suggest this place to everyone who needs a change in their dining experiences and want to have a beautiful family experience. Also, With moderate prices, Affordability is not an issue too. If you are a delhiite, then you must visit this one for once so as to stay connected. There is no denying that you always have better options at hand but this one offers quite a tempting deal which is irresistible to deny :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JainBhavya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShantanuRaizada, Owner at Bhaja Govindam, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Bhavya,
We appreciate that you and your family have been our regular customers since such a long time. It gives us a sense of pride that our quality has been consistent and we appreciate that you continue to patronize our restaurant. I thank you for writing such a detailed review about our food and our ambiance and the same has been shared with our entire team. Pls do keep on visiting us and giving such wonderful reviews.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent, and I'm not a vegetarian!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I'm not a vegetarian but I ate here on my last night in Delhi as I was tired and it was just round the corner from my hotel. Without doubt this was some of the finest food I had on my entire trip, the flavours and tastes were amazing. If you like your meat don't be put off because this is veg only, it really is superb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spencerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShantanuRaizada, Owner at Bhaja Govindam, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for appreciating the food of our restaurant. Pls do keep visiting us whenever you are in India-New Delhi next. I can assure you that you will never be disappointed. I have shared your review with our chefs and they are very grateful to you for posting such a great review of their food.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bhaja Govindam also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Bhaja Govindam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing