We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Beautiful......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mehrauli Archaeological Park

Mehrauli Archaeological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.18*
and up
Walking Tour of Mehrauli Archaeological Park
Ranked #48 of 412 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had visited Qutub Minar multiple times, never heard about this Park to my surprise this park is very much attached to Qutub Minar, i entered this park thru the main road , still don't know the main enterance (heheh), Park is huge , covered with green belt, rose garden which i suppose is not accessible to public just to make sure the garden & roses are maintained, I am sure that i must have only covered few portion of this part, among all the monuments i like Rajon Ki Baoli my first ever visit to any Baoli, this place is enchanting , must go....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank anilvenky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    74
    14
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you have a few days in Delhi, do not miss this site, it is a short walk from Qutab Minar metro station and sits between the metro station and the QM main site.
It is easy to spend 1-2 hours wandering these gardens, and though there are still some wild areas it is all being quickly transformed and landscaped.
The most impressive place is the tomb of Jamali Kamali, which sits in a locked courtyard next to the main mosque. The security guards will let you in. The interior of the tomb is impressively preserved and very beautiful.
Also worth seeing is Metcalfe's Dilkush, Balban's tomb and to the west of the site a large temple with steps leading down to a well.
Birds and animals a plenty and few people make this a very tranquil setting. I suppose like most of Delhi, this would get busy at weekends, especially Sundays.
Unlike a previous visitor, I never felt any danger at this site.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What was it????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Visited the park after reading the reviews here, it being on top list in Delhi's Off the beaten path list.... First, we found it with great difficulty. Nobody knows it with this name, not even Delhi Tourism office as we called them for location. Local people know it more as Jamali Kamali mosque. The place was deserted till few meters & after that a group of Rowdy kids playing n hooting, no guards, no public, stink all around-- the place is a open urinal, I suppose. Even if there are hidden gems here( which were definitely well marked) please go in a group. We did not go ahead as we were with teenage kids & didn't feel safe at all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Arvi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place is totally hidden away near Vasant Kunj. The no of times I've driven past and not noticed it is unbelievable. You need at least a couple of hours to walk around this place to appreciate it. Lots of monuments have an explanation but the ones that intrigued me the ones which are still hidden away and not been restored. There's a mosque in particular which gives you the goosebumps with the trees growing inside and a tomb of an unknown person. Unfortunately lots of rowdy kids from the Mehrauli village keep hooting so makes better sense to go in a group. Don't miss the Rajon ki Baoli.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zarreenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Definitely a hidden gem, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

It is right next door to the Qutub Minar, though finding it is not easy! We walk back from the Qutur Minar and found a back door which led into the rose garden. That in itself was impressive as the scent of the roses was impressive. There are a few sign posts around but overall this park needs some TLC!!!
It is a very large park so if the temperatures are above 30 it is probably not a good thing to go here as you have to walk everywhere. We ended up walking to the Mosque and the Tomb which was well worth the walk in the heat. There was a security guard that showed us around and opened the padlocked gates to the tomb. He showed us the tomb itself which was actually nicely decorated. We gave the guards a couple hundred rupees and went of to find the exit.

We walked through some other remnants and another smaller tomb and found the entrance. The original entrance was even less descript then the back entrance!!!
The entrance is not opposite the Metro but about 700m to the right (on the opposite side of the road).

BTW the location on the map in TripAdvisor is wrong, this is the location on google maps: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?hl=en&ll=28.521853,77.18919&spn=0.012726,0.022724&t=m&z=16

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mehrauli Archaeological Park also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Mehrauli Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing