We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a difference”
Review of Clarion Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection
Ranked #414 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Clarion Collection, earlier Qutab Hotel, is a hotel with a difference. The first thing that strikes you when enter through the main gate, is that you seem to be entering a housing colony and not a hotel. There are walk-ways, a lawn, garden and even service appartments within the complex.

The hotel itself, starting with the lobby, has a spartan and an efficent look about it. I stay in this hotel regularly during my business trips as it is conveniently located and gives good value for money on the lodging part.

Plus points:
1. Good location
2. Excellent value for money
3. Clean, well maintained rooms with efficient and friendly service
4. Never crowded, with lots of physical space
5. Overall ambience, both in the hotel and the surrounding propery, is homely (remember the housing colony part?) and is very different from a typical hotel, particularly inside a metro city.

Negatives:
1. For a four star hotel the the choices for eating is severly limited and pricey with only one restaurant, that has completely changed its theme from the time I have been staying here. One restaurant that served pan asian food has been shut down. Outside the hotel, there are no suitable restaurants.
2. There is no airconditioning for a part of the lobby from the elevator to the rooms. I do not know if this is a part of cost control, but this area is distinctly uncomfortable during hot summer seasons when the temperature can go upto 48 degrees.
3. The hotel does not have any loyalty programme that would let you acumulate reward points. This is expected in any 4/ 5 star hotel.

Having said all this, I have been a regular visitor to this hotel and have returned satlsfied each time. If you want a 4 star hotel with a difference and a good value for money, look no further.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors with a view of the Qutub Minar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subhasis_ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

We appreciate the time you took in highlighting the positives in the hotel and its offerings. we have also noted the negatives highlighted by you and would like to inform you, that currently hotel has two outlets - Zerzura which serves Mid-eastern, Moroccan, Lebanese food and Le Bar which serves Indian food along with international dishes. Very shortly we are opening up a new restaurant which will serve World cuisine.

Looking forward to your regular stay at Clarion Collection Qutab New Delhi

Regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

It's a good option in New Delhi. Good hospitable services.Staff is disciplined,efficient and well behaved. Neat and clean spacious rooms offer comfort and peace. Though lobby,reception area is dated and small.Stay was comfortable. Although the roads to hotel were full of traffic and tiring yet once you reach hotel you forget the discomfort .

Room Tip: Upper floors are peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GUN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

We are glad that you liked the hotel offerings and the services rendered to you.
Looking forward to be of your service again

Regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here to host a 5 days training. The hospitality, staff and location were very pleasant! I'd do it here again! :)

Thanks for all the help in coordinating this training. It was a success within the colleagues and participants. Also, it was quite central to everything - to vasant kunj and saket! Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swechya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback!!

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us at the Clarion Collection- Qutab New Delhi.
You are right that the hotel is quite central to everything. Well-situated in South Delhi, Hotel Clarion Collection is 23 km from the high-tech city of Gurgaon and 14 km from Connaught Place, 5 km from Shopping centres like Select Citywalk, DLF Emporio, Ambiance, DLF Promenade, Ansal Palza, Dilli Haat, and places to see like Garden of Five Senses, Lodhi Garden, Humayun Tomb, Qutab Minar, etc.
Hotel is surrounded by various institutions like Fore School of Management, IIFT, International management Institute, Institute of Public health and finance, Indian Institute of Mass Communications and hospitals like Sita Ram Bhartia, Rockland , Fortis, AIIMS and Max.

Looking forward to be of your service again.

Regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip for close to two weeks. I was actually pleasantly surprised. The front desk, cleaning and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were relatively spacious and not too tired, and the breakfast and food at the restaurants and the bar was really good. I basically ate almost every meal at the hotel as my organization was hosting a series of meetings at this hotel and only discovered that I could order room service from Zerzura (excellent Moroccan downstairs) on the last week. This made me very happy as the room service menu was pretty bad. I do have a few complaints:

- When ordering taxis, watch out for deals being made between staff and taxi drivers
- There is only one non smoking floor and limited king beds, the hotel does not always honor this request and many in our group ended up having to put up with smoking rooms
- The wireless is expensive and the business center leaves a lot to be desired, copies and printing very expensive
- The pool is beautiful, however, the furniture is often dirty and not looked after, this is perhaps in dire need of attention. It could benefit from some potted plants, cleaning the furniture and more umbrellas.
- The check out was an absolute nightmare and I almost missed my flight, even though I asked to have my invoice prepared ahead of time, it took nearly one hour to sort out. The front desk staff seemed to not know what to do even though they were at the reception the whole time i was at the hotel. I think that the computer system being used is to blame, that and lack of proper training for staff.

The hotel is not centrally located and depending on trafic it would take about 30 minutes to Khan Market and almost 45 minutes to Connaught Circle. You can't really walk anywhere from the hotel so be prepared to take taxis everywhere.

Although I've listed a lot of drawbacks, this hotel is still good value and not a bad option in this part of Delhi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback!!

We are glad that you liked the facilities and services rendered to you during you stay. Zerzura is a newly opened restaurant at Clarion Collection- Qutab New Delhi, the cuisine encompasses the best of Middle East, North Africa and elements of the Mediterranean.
We have shared your feedback with the departments concerned for necessary improvements to be made. Please note that hotel does not encourage the usage of outside taxis due to in-house travel desk catering to your luxury vehicle demands. However on guest requests we do make local taxis available but hotel has no control on the charges.

Looking forward to be of your service again

regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

As mentioned in my earlier review that i prefer to stay at this place whenever i am in Delhi, this time also when i went there i was greeted with the same warm gesture of the staff and i had a pleasant stay again.

Things i love about this place.
1). It is located in a very peaceful location of South Delhi.
2). Usually all star hotels are crowded in the evening for some party or at the disc/pub of the hotel this place is totally opposite.
3). You can have peaceful morning/evening walks in the hotel compound or near the pool area without being disturbed.

Things which need attention are variety in the morning breakfast.

All thanks to Mr Sethi as he has always took care of my needs well and approachable for me anytime of the day.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe/Executive rooms bigger in size nicely equipped with all modern amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shettymanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel!!!

We are glad that you enjoyed staying at Clarion Collection- Qutab New Delhi and appreciated the services rendered to you. We have noted your feedback related to variety in breakfast and discussed with the the department concerned.
However we would request you to let us know about any special requests you may have for breakfast during your next stay.

Looking forward to be of your service again.

Regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

30 to 40 minutes from the Airport in Delhi is a good location and this hotel is inside a spacious larger complex; so there is breathing space. The room was reasonably good and had a view of a green belt. I reached around 10.30 pm and ordered a sandwich. Despite being promised one in 20 minutes, after three reminders the sandwich arrived after 50 minutes - a tiring and sleepy wait.
Breakfast was a tough affair with very limited sitting space. Guests have to share tables. Staff are too busy to notice guests looking out for some service. Coffee took ten minutes and milk another 10 minutes so I had to be content with cold coffee. May be it was one of their bad days.
Check-in and check-out were smooth. The internet charges are high and on par with 5+ star hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors overlooking a green tree belt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!!

We are glad that you liked the location and the facilities available at Clarion Collection- Qutab New Delhi.
Your feedback has been shared with the departments concerned to bring in the necessary improvements.

Looking forward to be of your service again

Regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The positives are - the gym was really good - staff very helpful. The room was adequate with everything needed. Although you have to pay for the internet it was a reasonable connection speed which was important for me as I was here for work.

Good service in the bar.

The restaurant at night is not part of the hotel. This was not made clear to me, and I was embarrassed when after writing my room number on the bill, the waiter returned it and my dinner guest paid cash. Can't they come to an arrangement with the hotel as most of the dinner guests must come from the hotel.

I would have given a 4 had I received better service from Reception. I ordered a car some 3 hours before I wanted to leave for the Airport. I had to make do with a rickety old taxi that reception organised for me proudly claiming the doorman would negotiate down the price so I did not get ripped off. The receptionist then tried to claim that he could only charge my credit card in sterling - seems ripping off foreigners is a national sport. He backed down pretty quickly when I insisted that I had paid for everything else on my trip in Rupees on the card. This really annoys me - this seems to be spreading beyond the car rental desks as a regular opportunity to overcharge. i would rather have paid more for a decent car - it was a business expense.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionCollection, General Manager at Clarion Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback!!

We are glad that you liked the Spa facilities and appreciated the internet speed available at Clarion Collection New Delhi.

We would like to inform you that hotel has no control on outside taxis and the upkeep of these taxis. We have an in-house travel desk which provides Luxury vehicles at a competitive price.
Hotel charges all the guests with money equivalent to Indian rupees in the currency of the card issuer country which credit card machine issued by the banks automatically detects on the swipe of the card.
Hence there is no question of charging any extra charges to the customers.
However we would like to apologies for any inconvenience faced by you.

Looking forward to be of your service again

Regards
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Qutub Residency
Qutub Residency
#642 of 777 in New Delhi
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#15 of 777 in New Delhi
1,750 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Visaya
The Visaya
#103 of 777 in New Delhi
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Delhi / Saket
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
7.6 mi away
Hotel Amax Inn
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection

Address: Qutab Institutional Area, Shaheed Jeet Singh Marg, New Delhi 110016, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenpark New Delhi (Erstwhile Clarion Collection Qutab Hotel) is located in Qutab Institutional Area, a five minutes' drive from Qutab Minar. It offers Wi-fi, dining options, and rooms with large bay windows with a view of Qutab Minar and greenery around. Well-situated in South Delhi, Hotel is 23 km from the high-tech city of Gurgaon and 14 km from Connaught Place, 5 km from Shopping centres like Select Citywalk, DLF Emporio, Ambiance, DLF Promenade, Ansal Palza, Dilli Haat, and places to see like Garden of Five Senses, Lodhi Garden, Humayun Tomb, Qutab Minar, etc. Hotel is surrounded by various institutions like Fore School of Management, IIFT, International management Institute, Institute of Public health and finance, Indian Institute of Mass Communications and hospitals like Sita Ram Bhartia, Rockland , Fortis, AIIMS and Max. The air-conditioned rooms at Edenpark New Delhi come with room service and Wi-Fi access. Standard amenities include a minibar and tea/coffee maker. Guests can book a day trip at the tour desk- Jetfleet. At Zerzura, the cuisine encompasses the best of Middle East, North Africa and elements of the Mediterranean. Hotel offers free parking and is around 9 miles from Indira Gandhi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Qutab Hotel Delhi
Qutub Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing