We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soothing Ambience!”
Review of The Connaught

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Connaught
Ranked #311 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The ambience of the hotel caught my attention. It is so soothing and captivating! The moment our car entered the porch, I was delighted to see its interiors. You can feel comfort right from the moment you enter the lobby. Special care is taken to maintain cleanliness and every corner of the hotel shines.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramgcet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for one night after a long 8 hour flight from the UK and 2 days of no sleep. Overall was a pretty standard hotel but could have done with a few bits here and there to make it feel cosy. windows were covered in silver stuff (to stop people looking in i guess) but it also stopped us looking out or getting any light in the room. Our bags were taken up and the guy hung around for an awkward amount of time. Only was it after I realised he was wanted a tip. Room had all the essentials. Restaurant was loud as there was building work going on as it is out of season I guess so we ate in the snack restaurant. Everything took a little while to come out but it was tasty! Too many staff hanging around for the amount of guests... Felt a bit like we were being watched all he time! Overall I would stay again if i needed a budget hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Maddison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Really felt so " Home Away from Home ". Stayed on the third floor with a night skyline view of the Connaught Place area. The staff are pretty helpful and very accomodating. Never felt ever that I was staying in a Four Star hotel. The Management seems like a very close run family operation yet professional. Hence felt very cozy at every corner in the hotel. Very lite up during the day with direct sunlight in the lobby and the rooms and never felt claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasad698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Happened to stay in this hotel in may 2013 on a business trip for 3 nights. First of all the location is excellent, very near to market, Palika Bazar where you get all type of commodities available. Rooms need some refurbishment as old outlook is still there.. Room service was good. In immediate need of facelift. In gnereal bit expensive considering the quality of service they offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed in the deluxe category room of the hotel for a couple of nights. Mainly chose the hotel because of location and value for money offered. Positives- Location, Service, Excellent breakfast spread.
Shortcomings - Rooms needs new carpeting ASAP, No thermostatic control for central A/C, you can either turn it on or off.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hinshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Plus points - Room kept clean and food at dinner & breakfast quite good but service at breakfast left a lot to be desired considering the number of waiters to guests.
Totally disappointed with this hotel and standard of care, on arrival our bathroom flooded due to leaking basin, fridge was not working and the lack of even warm water for the whole of our 5 night stay was a source of great annoyance, especially when the duty manager tried to fob us off saying " it is summer and Indians don't want hot water" - not what we found at any of the other hotels we stayed at during our month-long trip to India. We even had to boil a kettle of water for me to shave!
According to our tour company rep we had one of their better rooms - dread to think what others were like as bathroom was so small and horribly stained (see pictures).
Although reasonably close to Connaught Place the surrounding area was very shabby and dusty. Also beware of tuk tuk drivers outside hotel who try to take you to emporiums where they obviously receive a kick-back.
This was our second time in Delhi and it was spoilt by the fact that we knew that at the end of our sightseeing tours we had to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just used the place between connections while in New Delhi. Great Location. Decent rooms, though slightly on the smaller side. Sleep quality was excellent. Proximity to the centre of Delhi is a great advantage. Pricing is slightly on the higher side.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 777 in New Delhi
4,210 reviews
Piccadily Hotel
#389 of 777 in New Delhi
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palace Heights
#36 of 777 in New Delhi
720 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Address: 37 Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#74 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Connaught , New Delhi you savor the living experience at its best. Affordable, warm and cozy; the hotel welcomes you to the true Indian spirit of hospitality. Located in the hub of the business centre of the metropolis - Connaught Place, the hotel is in very close proximity to the Lady Hardinge Medical College. Also, in very close proximity to the Delhi Metro station, the Airport Express and the capitals main railway station. It also is very accessible to the International & Domestic airports. The hotel boasts of 87 refined, well-appointed rooms those are tucked carefully spread over the Seven Floors of the hotel building. Catch the spectacular bird's eye view of the Shivaji Stadium and the colonial stretches of Connaught Place. Also, catch a glimpse of the historic Parliament and India Gate monuments and enjoy a delightful view straight from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Connaught New Delhi
Connaught Hotel Delhi
The Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught New Delhi
Hotel The Connaught
Hotel Connaught Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing