We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Samrat
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Mahal Hotel(New Delhi)
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
10
40
55
30
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
40
55
30
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdated propertyembassy areawifi passwordsouth indianaverage staygreat propertyhotel locatedcentral delhiroom service ispleasant stayrooms are cleanlobbyconditionersoapconvenienceproximity
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2007

We stayed here reluctantly (having read TripAdvisor reviews) because it was part of a conference package. It certainly lived up to those reviews and its name the SamRAT, as there were rats!
This is a government run hotel and will need to improve markedly if it is going to be ready for the C'wealth Games in 2010. Directly next door is another government run hotel, Ashtok, which was genuinely 5 star. The SamRAT was being belatedly renovated in some areas and there was an excellent privately run restaurant and bar on the ground floor but this was not advertised and difficult to 'happen upon'.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brittlegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Do NOT stay here. This is a government run hell-hole. I travelled to New Delhi for a friends wedding and this hotel was recommended by the family of the bride so we assumed it would be ok. However the hotel stank of damp, the room was filthy and had cockroaches, the staff were rude and demanded tips, I became violently ill after staying here. A friend staying at the same time saw a rat run across the breakfast room. Avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlanMc_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

It was very run down and smelly! Even though they said we had the updated rooms. The hotel is government owned and they sould be ashamed of it's condition.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank Travellingcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Far too expensive for what you get. The price is really only for the downtown location. Run-down room and hardly any facilities. But at least the room was tidy, quiet and not dusty or smelly.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldtravellerEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2006

Just came back from a two week trip in India which included
five nights (pre-paid) at the Samrat. It was the most expnesive
and the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip. If it had not
been pre-paid, and close to where I had a meeting, we would
have checked out after the first night. I wish I had read the
reviews posted here before I went. The staff was unhelpful,
unknowlegable, and rude. The first room we were in had
an overwhelming smell of pesticide and there were still
coackroaches. We moved to a room without carpets, which
reduced the smell. The linens were dirty, towels missing. When
we asked for clean towels we got somewhat less dirty ones
and the usual expectation of a tip for bringing what should
have been normally provided. We had a dispute over one of
the pre-paid nights and the cashier wanted to keep the receipt
I had of our payment. I said he could kieep it but should give
me a photo-copy. That request was met with disbelief, because
they said they had no copier or any possible way of making a copy. For a supposedly multi-star hotel in Delhi in 2006, that seemed
very backwards. The ``gardens" and fountains that one sees on the internet were all closed. The breakfast included in the room rate was unedible, and we ended up not eating there after our first breakfast, eating breakfast instead at the Ashok across the way (a very expensive breakfast - showing how awful the Samrat foot was). The worst part of this hotel is that
it has a nightclub called the Decibel (that says it all) that blasted
thumping music late into the night (one night until 3am) on four of
the five nights we were there. For callibration, I should mention
that I have travelled extensively in India, and lived for there for
extended periods in the past. I have stayed in worse 5 dollar
a night hotels in India than the Samrat, but also better 5 dollar a night
hotels than the Samrat. For a western-priced hotel, the Samrat
is absolutely the worst hotel I have seen. Under no circumatances
should one stay there. The only positive point is that it does
have a nice new resteraunt called the Chakras. But the hotel
has no directory of services in the room and the registation
staff didn't mention anything about hotel facilities, so we only
found it late in our stay. I really pains me to write such a
negative review, because I want to encourage tourists to
visit India, and I hate to sound like a spoiled westerner.We had
a wonderful trip overall, and India is a fantastic place to visit. But I have enough experience in India to know that the
Samrat does not represent India and really deserves to be
avoided - and to be put out of business by the many better,
and more affordable hotels. Come to India, but avoid the Samrat!!.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank n0screenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews