We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS”
Review of Hotel Samrat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Samrat
Ranked #400 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Location is awesome. situated in the heart of the capital with beautiful green view. I stayed there with my family n it was a great decision to be there. The staff especially the front desk guys are very helpfull n courteous. I stayed there a long time back, but now the rooms, lobby n food outlets have been renovated & are in much better condition than of earlier. After the opening of Shiro n Coffee shop, the food eaters have now more options to enjoy their meal at this palace.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool & Prime Minister's House are nice, especially pentagon shaped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipankar Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed here for 7 days for a conference at the neighbouring hotel and was wishing I had stayed at the other hotel by the end of the week...

After arriving on the Saturday I awoke at midnight to find that Van Halen had reformed and were practising "Jump" in the room next door to me, well, either that or it was the disco that went on in the restaurant downstairs.... the tiredness finally overcame the music at 3.30am. If you actually want to sleep in a hotel when you are away then ask for a room that is not above the disco.

The swimming pool area was a real dissapointment, more so because it could have been nice. A great big pool but the tub area next to it was empty (except for the pigeons) and there were no recliners, you could get a mat to have on the ground though. The pool at the Ashok hotel was expensive to visit for the day (about 35 GBP, 50 USD) but well worth it as was a nice pool and poolide area.

Breakafast was grim but the 2 hotel restaurants served good food in the evening. In fact the downstairs restaurant (where the disco is held) was a beautiful area with great food.

Speaking to people at the conference there are a lot better hotels to stay in in New Delhi, I think I would have used my own money to pay the extra for the Ashok and if you are on business then I'd advise looking around.

A poor hotel by international standards. You may get a 40" Samsung flat screen in the room but the paint is peeling and the bath is stained.

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the disco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernowkrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a huge labrynthian structure, which looks impressive on arrival, with its polished marble floors in the spacious reception area. But venture into the interior and things are very much different, ranging from shabby to filthy. 

I rarely use hotel lifts, and ascending the stairs I had to walk around hotel staff sitting, and sometimes sleeping, on the steps. My room was clean enough, but had little security. The security chain was broken and the security lock was obviously of little use, as room service staff would burst in at all times, despite the do not disturb light being shown.

I stayed here 7 nights for a conference. Five of these were quiet but I would advise anyone to avoid Fridays and Saturdays, when a very loud disco in one of the restaurants thumps out until the very early hours, making sleep impossible.

On the plus side I ate at both of the hotel restaurants, and these were very good.

Room Tip: If staying Friday or Saturday, ask for room as far from disco as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samrat_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Samrat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Mr.Suyash

It was indeed our pleasure to have you here at the "Samrat". It was rather unfortunate that your experience in the hotel was not up to your expectations. We assure you that necessary corrective steps have already been initiated and the concerned staff have been thoroughly briefed.

We request you to give us another chance to be at your service to ensure that your stay is to your utmost satisfaction.

Regards
Team Samrat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The location of hotel Samrat is very elegant and posh. All the embassies and state houses are near this place, with India Gate just couple of kilometres away. From the size of it, the hotel looks to have many rooms. It is owned by the govt. and perhaps that is why the hotel has lost it sheen, but is still carrying a five star rating. However, at the price of INR 6000/night in a central location in New Delhi, I was satisfied in the sense that I had to spend only a night.
From location point of view, it cannot be any better anywhere in India. The staff was courteous. I needed a cab to go for my business and they promptly called their own cab, which was not at all expensive. It would be best to use their cab service than to haggle with autorickshaws.
Breakfast was included in the price and served full Indian menu.

All in all good experience during my very short visit

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suyash_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samrat_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Samrat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for your patronage and your comments. Hope to see you again.....

Regards
Team Samrat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Samrat is set in beautifully landscaped gardens which it shares with Delhi's landmark Ashok Hotel. The Samrat is an elegant stone and marble structure built around a central flower-filled atrium and open-air courtyard. Its rooms and super de luxe apartments overlook the enclosed gardens, fountains and water channels while satisfying the demands of the most discriminating guests.
This ultra-luxurious hotel, situated 15-kilometers from the international airport, is refined and elegant. The railway station is also just nine-kilometers away, allowing for uninhibited access to everywhere in New Delhi. Guests will enjoy easy access to a variety of amazing historic, cultural, and tourist destinations. The on-site restaurant serves authentic local cuisine in a comfortable atmosphere that is perfect for an intimate meeting, social event, or quiet lounging. The Samrat Hotel in New Delhi is the perfect location for travelers who want a convenient location, nice accommodation, and a reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RajeevUppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I was booked at the Samrat by a client for a conference to be held in The Ashok, next door. I did know both Ashok and Samrat are government properties with Ashok boasting of better comfort and 5 star luxury. I expected Samrat to be its poor cousin.

But when I reached the hotel was pleasantly surprised to see how large the hotel was. Most part of the hotel reminds you that you're in a Government property but the restaurants have a pretty modern look and the rooms are very spacious and bright!

I had a comfortable stay and was happy with the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zubinnalawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samrat_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Samrat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Mr Zubinn
It was our pleasure to have you here. We hope you visit us again.

Regards
Team Samrat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

one of my colleague booked the room in this property.when i came to know it is a government Hotel i didn't expect much from it.But it turned out to be totally opposite of what i thought of it to be.Had a great time.The staff is hospitable, services are good but the property need some maintenance touchup.After having a day conference, i had good options for clubbing and dining .will definitely like to come again.
Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlrVyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samrat_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Samrat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Hotel Samrat. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Hotel Samrat.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
The Ashok
The Ashok
#221 of 728 in New Delhi
601 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#282 of 728 in New Delhi
102 reviews
Nizamuddin
Shervani New Delhi
Shervani New Delhi
#172 of 728 in New Delhi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#78 of 728 in New Delhi
2,543 reviews
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#148 of 728 in New Delhi
184 reviews
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#29 of 728 in New Delhi
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samrat

Address: 50 - B Kautilya Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £48 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Samrat 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the landscape garden. Samrat’s elegant structure built around a centre flower-filled atrium an open air courtyard lives up to the concept of luxury hotel. The hotel has a choice of 255 rooms with a Pan-Asian restaurant “SHIRO,” a multicuisine restaurant ‘CHAKRAAS.” To serve you better there is LAYBA, a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Samrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samrat Hotel New Delhi
Samrat New Delhi
Hotel Samrat Delhi
Samrat Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing