We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superbly located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunstar Residency
Ranked #51 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“superbly located”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The location is great. Close to carol Barg shopping, good hospital and MRT station and easy access to Air Port. Only disadvantage is not many(any) places for outside dining apart from takeaways.
We stayed(wife, our son & myself) for five nights in two intervals from 10th Dec to 18th Dec 2011. They arranged our tour to Jaipur & Agra. The hotel in Jaipur was great for value but Agra was average guest house only.
At Sunstar we could sleep well in and staff usually friendly yet need some attention on cleanliness.
When hiring a car for trips make sure to get a driver who work for you but not for tourist shops. Drivers will mislead you for food/fancy shops in such a cruel manner for their tips from traders. Make sure to get food at the places you want but not at their will.
The hotel has no resturent other than some open air roof top tables, but the kitchen/room service was good for budget class hotel.

Room Tip: try rooms above 01st floor street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lalith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Hello Lalith M . I hope u r fine & doing well. I and my employees r very thankful for your reviews. U found the location of hotel very good, close to shopping center, walkable distance from Metro station & easily acessible to air port. we r happy that u enjoyed & liked the food.
I want to mention that we have a restaurant in the basement with 20 chairs. but it is not a running restaurant, it is only for our guests. But There r lot of good restaurants in nearby shopping center.
We have taken your advice about cleanliness very seriously. Now when u visit our hotel again u will find find we r taking special care about cleanliness.
We r not using the particular guest house in Agra which u did not like.
Thanks again for your reviews & wish u all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    63
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
85
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 3 days and were very pleased with service we were given. They picked us from the airport at 3:00 am, hired an extra cab because we had too much luggage. They paid for the extra cab. Our rooms were very clean , there was lots of hot water in the morning for our showers. Staff members were very courteous. Buffet breakfast was satisfactory. we highly recommended this Hotel.

Room Tip: You can take best services from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alexarobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Hello alexavobert . U stayed with us in july 2011 fur 3 days. U were pleased with our service, u found the rooms clean. u had a nice hot shower,.U found our buffet breakfast satisfactory.
We r very thankful for your comments. we r very lucky that we got a chance to provide service to a great personality like u.
There r very few people who acknowlidge & praise u when u do good service. This hospitality service is done by human beings & not machines. humans do commit mistakes.
But u praised us. we r very thankful for your reviews. such reviews boost our moral.
We all wish u all the best in your life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My spouse and I stayed at SunStar Residency early this fall. We had stayed here in 2008, and noticed that there have been extensive renovations. The rooms are well-appointed, and the bathroom has warm water. Although small, the room offers everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Unfortunately, it is loud, especially at night. I wasn't able to sleep because the staff spoke loudly outside our door, and I constantly heard dishes being stacked/moved about. The staff was helpful, although at times, pushy for us to purchase the 'guided tour' offered by the hotel. The breakfast was paltry at best. Despite this, the location is prime. Karol Bagh is a short walk up the street, offering a plethora of dining and shopping options; the metro is within 5 minutes. It takes less than 15 minutes to get to Connaught Place. I've stayed in a fair number of hotels during my travels in India, and this is better than average.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hello Liz P . Greetings from hotel sunstar residency. We r very thankful to u for your reviews. First u stayed at our hotel in 2008 & again u stayed in Nov 2010. It is a pleasure when somebody revisits our hotel.
U have praised the location. U liked the rooms & its interior. U observed that the room had every thing for a comfortable stay. it so nice of u to praise us for all the above things inspite of the fact that u could not sleep well because of the noise at night.
We have taken your complaint very seriously We have taken a few steps so that their is no noise at night. We have instructed our staff not to speak loudly at night. We have instructed our kitchen staff not to wash dishes late at night. We r very thankful to u to point out our mistake regarding noise at night.
We make sure to check our mistakes. Such reviews help us to improve in this competitive market.
I & all my staff once again thank u for your frank reviews. We all wish u all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We were not familiar with New Delhi hotels,visiting as we were after nearly thirty years,so this hotel was booked for us by our travel agent. We just wanted to spend one night in Delhi as we had to catch a flight early in the morning.
The hotel was located in a quiet narrow little street,about twenty kilometers from the airport.There were no shops,restaurants within walking distance.
The rooms were not very clean,some of the sheets were stained but the washrooms were not bad.
The hotel's website said that there was " 24 hours room service "and the restaurant was open "24 hours".Nothing could be further from the truth.
First of all there was no proper restaurant.There were a bunch of tables and chairs thrown together on the terrace,covered with dust --this was their " open air" restaurant.So we were forced to order room service and found out what a bunch of crooks the service staff were.
We were told that dinner was available only till 11pm and breakfast after 7 am.When we
said that we needed to get early breakfast and that we had asked about this before booking the hotel the waiter said he would have to make "special arrangements "as the complimentary breakfast was only available after 7am.It was obvious what was wanted--an extra large tip.It was late and we tired and in no mood to argue.The dinner arrived quickly but the food was oily and tasteless.When the waiter presented the bill we found that they had charged us for food which we had not ordered.
Next morning was worse.The same waiter brought the breakfast ,ten minutes late.Again charged us extra ,mumbling something about the prices in the menu card being wrong.We were in a hurry,rushing to catch the plane and of course they took advantage of this.
At the front desk too they tried to charge us for soft drinks which we had not drunk.
We somehow managed to sort things out and reached the airport on time.
What a bunch of liars and crooks! Disgusting!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CDceedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Residency!!
Hello VSN toronto, thank you for your review posted on 24 March 2011. As per your review you stayed in our hotel for one night. The room for your stay was booked by a travel agent in January, 2011. You have mentioned that the hotel is located in a very narrow little street and there were no shops within walking distance. The road in front of our hotel is 40 feet wide and even buses ply on this road. Also, there is a market called Channa Market at the door step and one of delhi's largest market (Ajmal Khan Road) is just 2 minutes walk from our hotel.
It is my assumption that you must have stayed at some other hotel. Quite a number of travel agents have registered our hotel on some hotel booking websites and when a booking is generated they divert the customers to some other hotels without the knowledge of customers. We have a small restaurant in the basement with24 seats. This restaurant is only for in-house guests.
Please do visit our hotel yourself or ask your acquaintances to visit our hotel and everything will be crystal clear.
Thanks again for taking out the time to write us a review. We wish you success in your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel was booked for us by a very slimy travel agent at one of the many 'government-approved' tourist offices in Connaught Place. For the price, it was very disappointing. There was nothing at all wrong with the room - it was in fact very comfortable, though hardly luxurious - but the behaviour of the staff - with one or two exceptions - was appalling. In all our dealings with them, we were treated with suspicion and hostility. Everything they did, even checking us in, they did very slowly and grudgingly, which was very frustrating, especially when we were tired after a long journey and just wanted to go to our room and sleep. They also tried to overcharge us several times for room service even though the menu clearly stated the prices.

We found the night manager was particularly rude and unprofessional. On one occasion he accused us of lying when we told him that we hadn't been able to find the taxi he'd sent to pick us up at New Delhi Railway Station. The next morning when we were checking out we found him asleep in the lobby. When he woke up - looking very dishevelled - he demanded to know who we were. He burped several times without excusing himself while one of his colleagues picked his nose (with the same hand he served food with, I might add) and another farted loudly. They all also had the annoying habit of only speaking to my husband - whom they addressed as 'sir' - while completely ignoring me, even though I was the one doing all the talking.

Other travellers might let them off for this behaviour by saying it's a cultural thing, but rudeness is rudeness wherever you are.

On the plus side, the owner was very friendly and polite, the room was perfectly clean, and the area much quieter than Paharganj, and not far from the nearest metro station Karol Bagh. If you can afford it, I would recommend staying there, though I'm sure you could probably find somewhere much better for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We are very thankful to you for sparing your precious time to write this review
After reading your reviews i feel that you stayed in some other hotel.Tr agents some time book our hotel even if we are sold out. They give you voucher with our name & send you to the hotel without confirming from us. After sending you they call us. After that they contact the driver on mobile & tell him to take you to some other hotel.They take you to other hotel without informing you. Since you are having voucher with our name & you are new to this city You presume that you are staying in our hotel.
You have written you were booked in this hotel by a tr agent in cannaught place. He charged you a price the hotel was not worth for. You did not like the behaviour of staff. They tried to over charge you many times.You said night manager was rude & un professional .You are right by asserting that rudeness is rudeness where ever you are.
All these things do not happen in our hotel.We take special care that guest are not cheated & overcharged.We are very image conscious & do not let any staff to spoil our reputation.
Thanks & Regards. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Good value for money! Only thing is it is almost impossible to sleep in the morning as outside is very noisy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galibc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Greetings from hotel staff & management.
Thanks for your reviews.
We are thankful to you for the remark "GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY".
But you were not happy with the noise outside in the morning. There are lot of dogs on the street & lot of hawkers in the morning. Our guard takes special care to shoo away the dogs & he also tells hawkers not to make loud noise.
However i assure you we will be more careful in future & try to bring down the noise so that our guest can sleep well.
Thanks again. Regards. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Hotel Sunstar Residency was awesome. There was something special about its ambience and the look of the rooms which is generally difficult to find in a budget hotel. The service of the crew was great and they made my stay really comfortable. This exclusive hotel is a great place when you want luxurious comfort in an affordable cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pverma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Warm Greetings from staff & management of the hotel.
THANKS FOR YOUR GOOD REVIEWS.
You reviewed that our hotel was awesome
We are very pleased to note that you liked the ambience,rooms& service of the hotel.You have also reviewed that you enjoyed luxurious comfort at the cost of a budget hotel.
We again thank you & assure you that we will keep giving luxurious stay to our guest at a low cost.
Thanks & Regards. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel SunStar Grand
#48 of 716 in New Delhi
746 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#26 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#34 of 716 in New Delhi
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
#67 of 716 in New Delhi
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunstar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunstar Residency

Property: Hotel Sunstar Residency
Address: Wea 8a/50 Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunstar Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Sunstar Residency we believe in the old saying of our land "Atithi Devo Bhava" roughly translated "Guest is God". We take each and every single request of our customer as an order and we try and ensure that best of services are offered. With aim to provide tranquil and peaceful enviornment with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunstar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Residency Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing