We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comically poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sunstar Residency
Ranked #48 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comically poor service!”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel was booked for us by a very slimy travel agent at one of the many 'government-approved' tourist offices in Connaught Place. For the price, it was very disappointing. There was nothing at all wrong with the room - it was in fact very comfortable, though hardly luxurious - but the behaviour of the staff - with one or two exceptions - was appalling. In all our dealings with them, we were treated with suspicion and hostility. Everything they did, even checking us in, they did very slowly and grudgingly, which was very frustrating, especially when we were tired after a long journey and just wanted to go to our room and sleep. They also tried to overcharge us several times for room service even though the menu clearly stated the prices.

We found the night manager was particularly rude and unprofessional. On one occasion he accused us of lying when we told him that we hadn't been able to find the taxi he'd sent to pick us up at New Delhi Railway Station. The next morning when we were checking out we found him asleep in the lobby. When he woke up - looking very dishevelled - he demanded to know who we were. He burped several times without excusing himself while one of his colleagues picked his nose (with the same hand he served food with, I might add) and another farted loudly. They all also had the annoying habit of only speaking to my husband - whom they addressed as 'sir' - while completely ignoring me, even though I was the one doing all the talking.

Other travellers might let them off for this behaviour by saying it's a cultural thing, but rudeness is rudeness wherever you are.

On the plus side, the owner was very friendly and polite, the room was perfectly clean, and the area much quieter than Paharganj, and not far from the nearest metro station Karol Bagh. If you can afford it, I would recommend staying there, though I'm sure you could probably find somewhere much better for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We are very thankful to you for sparing your precious time to write this review
After reading your reviews i feel that you stayed in some other hotel.Tr agents some time book our hotel even if we are sold out. They give you voucher with our name & send you to the hotel without confirming from us. After sending you they call us. After that they contact the driver on mobile & tell him to take you to some other hotel.They take you to other hotel without informing you. Since you are having voucher with our name & you are new to this city You presume that you are staying in our hotel.
You have written you were booked in this hotel by a tr agent in cannaught place. He charged you a price the hotel was not worth for. You did not like the behaviour of staff. They tried to over charge you many times.You said night manager was rude & un professional .You are right by asserting that rudeness is rudeness where ever you are.
All these things do not happen in our hotel.We take special care that guest are not cheated & overcharged.We are very image conscious & do not let any staff to spoil our reputation.
Thanks & Regards. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    63
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
84
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Good value for money! Only thing is it is almost impossible to sleep in the morning as outside is very noisy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galibc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Greetings from hotel staff & management.
Thanks for your reviews.
We are thankful to you for the remark "GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY".
But you were not happy with the noise outside in the morning. There are lot of dogs on the street & lot of hawkers in the morning. Our guard takes special care to shoo away the dogs & he also tells hawkers not to make loud noise.
However i assure you we will be more careful in future & try to bring down the noise so that our guest can sleep well.
Thanks again. Regards. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Hotel Sunstar Residency was awesome. There was something special about its ambience and the look of the rooms which is generally difficult to find in a budget hotel. The service of the crew was great and they made my stay really comfortable. This exclusive hotel is a great place when you want luxurious comfort in an affordable cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pverma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Warm Greetings from staff & management of the hotel.
THANKS FOR YOUR GOOD REVIEWS.
You reviewed that our hotel was awesome
We are very pleased to note that you liked the ambience,rooms& service of the hotel.You have also reviewed that you enjoyed luxurious comfort at the cost of a budget hotel.
We again thank you & assure you that we will keep giving luxurious stay to our guest at a low cost.
Thanks & Regards. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Its really a good experience there.Interior is excellent.Service is also good.reasonable rates.

  • Liked — Interior
  • Disliked — Entrance
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jonnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Residency.
Thanks a lot for writing a review about our hotel.
Sorry for replying late. Honestly speaking we were not aware that on trip- advisor a traveler can write a review about his experience & management can reply it. We only recently came to know about this & now we have started replying to travelers review.
Our rates are very reasonable. We are happy to know that you liked our service.You liked interior of the hotel .THANKS A LOT .
Thanks & Regards. Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

The hotel offered a business class service and the experience was definately good. For people who travel a lot, a comfortable and a cooperative hotel and staff makes a business stay an experience to relish.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank hoshi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews. U liked the food quality. You liked the cleanliness in the hotel .U praised the staff for being helpful. You liked the location
It is our duty to give good service to the guest. Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
you are most welcome again

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

rooms were clean.not a great area of town (far from the center).rooms are clean and beds are ok.breakfast is a disgrace and service rivals that.acceptable if you just need a clean place to sleep.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank diver111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
U liked the nice and clean rooms.
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were clean. The ac was not working properly. when I told the management, they sorted that out quickly.The area karol baugh where this is situated..was noisy...and crowded.However there was a shopping area close to the hotel.There is a good eating place called Raffles.If someone is looking for a decent place but without spending too much I think this is good value for money.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — surrounding area noisy crowded
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank neelimaUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We all (management & staff) are very thankful to you for your reviews.
U liked the clean rooms and budget hotel.
U praised the staff for being helpful. You liked the location
We are regretting for any type inconvenience during stay with us. We will try our best in future as improve to inaccuracy.
Your reviews will definitely boost the moral of our staff.
We hope to welcome again in the near future

Thanks & Regards.
Management
Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Hotel SunStar Grand
#41 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#37 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#46 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunstar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunstar Residency

Property: Hotel Sunstar Residency
Address: Wea 8a/50 Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunstar Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Sunstar Residency we believe in the old saying of our land "Atithi Devo Bhava" roughly translated "Guest is God". We take each and every single request of our customer as an order and we try and ensure that best of services are offered. With aim to provide tranquil and peaceful enviornment with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunstar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Residency Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing