We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place, except for location”

Pamposh Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pamposh Guest House
Ranked #241 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent place, except for location”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

My flight was delayed many hours, but driver was waiting for me all along at the arrival. Very nice place, very clean, and very spacious room. Host and drivers were very friendly and wanting to help, though one of their staff was quite cold. Host always tried to answer my questions about direction to places, though he wasn't very knowledgeable about it. They are honest people, the driver even helped me to bargain for a tuk-tuk ride one morning. Many excellent restaurants surrounding the hotel. The location seems like a very nice and quiet neighborhood comparing to other parts of the city, but it is very far from everything. Be prepared to pay extra for transport. After the new subway station is finished, I'd imagine the location would be much more ideal. There are many ATM's, and one 24 hr convenient store just down the street. There is wifi at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We previously stayed at the owners other guest house in Gurgaon, a suburb on the outskirts of Delhi for a friends wedding, but then we moved to this hotel to be nearer Delhi city centre.

Good
- The room was clean and a decent size, with a good size bathroom and also had air conditioning.
- The owner Bobby was extremely helpful in answering any questions that we had.

Bad
- Although the hotel is clean it was very dark and dingy.
- The staff do not understand and cannot speak much English making communication very difficult and time consuming.
- The location of the hotel is too far away from the Delhi centre and the main sights.
- There is nothing near the hotel in terms of night life; restaurants, bars etc.
- We asked them to book a bus for us to Agra (as the train was fully booked) and they booked us onto a day-trip tour of Agra full of locals!

Overall
This is not a very good hotel with a location to match.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam6210e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

HOLLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We stayed for 12 nights in Oktober 2008 Everything we wanted was perfectley done We can recommend this guesthouse Good vallue for your money We just wanted a clean and safe place to sleep and that is exectley what Pamposh offers.

Thanks

Henk and Sytske Nijland
Holland

  • Liked — The staf was very friendley
  • Disliked — The arco
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NIJLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We came to the hotel with the intention of staying 2 nights but only stayed one night as we were very disappointed with its facilities and couldn't bare to stay longer. First of all, the hotel outside didn't even look like the picture I saw on its website. It had a small board with "Pamposh" written on it with a single door leading to narrow stairs up to the hotel reception area. We booked two double rooms. One of the rooms was on the top floor. That means we had to walk out through the balcony that had no roof in order to get to the room. As I was walking up the stairs (only had minimum lighting) to the top floor, I hit my head so hard as the concrete ceiling above the stairs was too low for someone of average height.

Each room had a portable heater that was not enough to keep the room warm enough for the cold weather at the time we visited Delhi. Hot water was not available to our satisfaction as we would only get a bucket of hot water and then it would stop. You would then get only cold water. You have to wait a long time for the water to heat up before you get more hot water (they have a switch in the washroom that you need to turn on to heat up the water). The colour of the water was brown for the first 10 seconds after I opened tap in the shower. We complained about not getting enough hot water. One of the staff came to investigate, pretended like he was trying to fix it, left the room and never returned. It was late and we were tired after a long flight, so we just went to sleep with the strong intention of checking out next morning as early as possible.

It was our first visit to Delhi and booking this hotel was a big mistake and booking it on the first night of our vacation was even a bigger mistake. If you are traveling with family/kids especially, don't stay at Pamposh. If you want a reasonable hotel in Delhi, don't book anything too cheap. If the price for the room seems relatively too low for Delhi, then don't go for it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamposh07, Manager at Pamposh Guest House, responded to this review, 6 March 2008
Guest made the reservation on the phone for just 1 room. After arrival, they wanted another room. We showed them all the rooms available and they selected the rooms they liked. Guest had complaints about the hot water in the second room. Since the second room was not reserved in advance we did not switch on the hot water geyser. Normally we keep all the hot geysers ready with hot water before the guest arrives.
We also offered discount to the guest for any discomfort caused to them.
Room on the top floor is the special Open Terrace Room and we did not understand why guest calls it a balcony room. This room is favourite amongst all the guests.

Thank You
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

I got the information thru their website, it looked nice and clean.
Paid advance amount to book the room and was sent confirmation ticket with 5% discount they offer for all customers online booking. Was picked up from an airport and came night 11pm. First encounter was street dogs barking, not near hotel but about 500 meters away from hotel, that made me little upset and scary. But things were better when reached the guest house. Guy helped to get my luggage, even though he did not understand english, but managed to understand whatever i said...SURPRISED ME...!!!!! I went to front desk and showed my confirmation ticket and was escorted to top floor room. Nice room looked newely rennovated and i was right...it was rennovated few weeks before. Bathrooms was absolutely clean with nice beige tiles and with nice band of decorative tiles to show elegent. Towels were new and liked their bathroom sleepers for walking around the room coz i forgot to get one along.
In the morning, I was introduced to Mr. Vishal, Manager who was very nice and curtious and helped me to plan my day to go around Delhi. He gave me few tips to deal with auto rickshaws, shopkeepers for price bargaining...IT REALLY WORKED. Guest house is located in around nice restaurants like SUBWAY, DOMINOZ PIZZA. Across was a taxi stand and car mechanics working on denting, painting on cars. Well it did not borther me as its common in Delhi. First i was scared to find good place as told by my friend in USA. Power outage was a bit concerned since with the power backup A/C does not work only fans works...but was not long with power outage. Really liked the FREE WIFI Access.

Planning to visit next year to see the newely renovated rooms.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimmy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

I chose it from seeing their website and it was booked by our agent. It was a little bit too cheap.

The Pamposh is-just as you see it, you get it: bedsheet spots- this would not be star rated at all in the UK, unfinished edges-Nice location in an allround way, the squalor is the one side; and right next to the poverty rubbing shoulders with the 'posh' part, is a good resid area, where there are a couple of modern yoga studios where people well off enough to employ the others as servants can go.

The nearby taxi station lies beneath a tarpaulin tent roof, in the squalid market road corner with food vendors cooking up something vry unappealing. On the ground level of the guest house is a Dominoes pizza, that's okay, you can so easily walk it up to your own room.

There is also a Paratha restaurant which is highly recommended in South Delhi, but not vegetarian - it smelt terriblt to me, like the outdoors squallor quite inescapeable for Delhi newbies. This is a S.Delhi heartland with modern shops nearby;the 24 hour ATM by the entrance is actually only a local bank card taker- so I was told; there is a delicatessen like 24-7 supermarket, where I saw organic soya milk, and many better quality Western brands, but unremarkably at western prices too.

The much cheaper indian type of supermarket, as in the UK is also nearby. The entry (not for disabled/steep flight of stairs to reception) up between shops ( as pic.) S.Delhi noise resounds around here by day, hotel is no retreat; sound of aircraft only, at night, no worse than Earl's Court. Location of GK is not far from Nehru Place and Lotus temple. The bonus, if that is one. Internet wireless connection possible from bedroom by day/evening only. The odd electricity failure and sound of noisy background generator was timely also, but the worst thing was the lack of towel rails and coat hooks, which brought our the ugly workmanship and lack of decor, to make more obvious the odd tile missing in the bathroom, lack of room servicing- in terms of inspection and then necessary cleaning.

If you want to respect and rub shoulders with those living here in poverty, without dangerous rides on rickshaws and an unhealthy interest in sweeping your feet through market areas, here's a better option, contain things to a manageable level within the hotel, and ignore it outside painlessly.

Auto taxi into town, tour e.g. with our 'VacationExperts' good, in excellent car, much needed to fit all sites into a couple of days. Recommended if you want to put everything in the perspective of price, and a middle of the road viewpoint.


Taxi call service very good, 300-400 IRs for a 4 hour/or 40km max journey distance. Eg Connaught place AND BACK in about 30 mins eachway,
I day ( 6 hours) Vac Exp driver (and recommended guide extra) 800RPs/80km max. i.e. driver waits in car park, while you visit, paying entrance fees.erspective of price, and a middle of the road viewpoint.

  • Liked — inexpensive, unpretentious, on seeing their website
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank leopd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Comfort Homestay- Morning Glory
#246 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Grand FFOUR
#131 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hotel Cosy Palace
#212 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Defence Colony
OYO Premium South Delhi
OYO Premium South Delhi
#310 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Satwah Home Stay
#393 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Batra Holiday Home
#399 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamposh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamposh Guest House

Property: Pamposh Guest House
Address: M-83 Greater Kailash Part 2 | (Market), New Delhi 110048, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the posh area of New Delhi, Greater Kailash 2 M Block Market, the surroundings are covered with lush green belt. Away from polluted areas, this guest house has many western and indian restaurants within 50 meters. Dominoz pizza located just below in the ground floor, subway restaurant 10 meters distance. Safe and well maintained property and 5 star service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pamposh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pamposh Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing