We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made it easy!”
Review of The Carpet Cellar

The Carpet Cellar
Ranked #20 of 185 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: THE CARPET CELLAR The Carpet Cellar is a specialty space for the finest woven treasures. Conceived by India's most respected curator of carpets, Sheel Chandra, The Carpet Cellar is considered a Mecca for certified antique carpets, perfectly executed recreations, modern designs, as well as kilims, durries, shawls and textiles. The Carpet Cellar houses a range of hand woven and hand knotted masterpieces, carefully selected by Mr. Chandra for their uniqueness and brilliance over the past four decades. The collection at the Carpet Cellar reveals a variety of styles and designs that will appeal to a wide range of tastes. Our selection illuminates the culture of areas stretching from the Black Sea to China and including Mongolia, the former Soviet Union, Tibet, Turkey, Mesopotamia, Persia, Afghanistan, Baluchistan, India, Egypt and Morocco, as expressed through carpet design and artistry. The family behind The Carpet Cellar leverages its wool, cashmere and weaving enterprises to provide the finest raw material, facilities, and classically trained artisans to facilitate the creation of all new pieces. This form of vertical integration is unique to the Carpet Cellar and enhances our capability to ensure the quality of the end product. The Carpet Cellar is proud to have leading museums around the world borrow from our collections for exhibitions. Our patrons have publicly acknowledged the uniqueness and beauty of The Carpet Cellar's collection over the years and our carpets can be found in the most distinguished homes and businesses both in India and abroad. The Carpet Cellar is a rare representation of the art of oriental weaving at its best and is the largest collection of its kind in India.
Santa Monica, CA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They made it easy!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A remarkable selection and collection of rugs. If you are interested in buying a rug while in Delhi this is worth your time. But, better yet, they made the process very easy. I live in California and saw a rug I liked very much. I wasn't sure it would fit the room I had in mind, and I wanted to think about the price etc. No problem! I flew home, they forwarded additional photos of the rug and its specific dimensions via email. The rug fit the space and I decided to buy it. I sent a personal check to their agent in New York and a week later the rug arrived in Santa Monica via FedEx...it was carefully wrapped and was in perfect condition. Don't let the distance between Delhi and your home make you think this is an impossible transaction. Everyone at the shop - and online - was hugely helpful! I'd do this again in a second.
Tim
Santa Monica, CA

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teepeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Upon entering this establishment, i felt at first overwhelmed with all the carpets and many types and colors of shawls and scarves, pashminas, cashminas and other textiles. The excellent staff makes the selection process pleasurable and easy. They speak english very well. They are extremely knowledgeable and professional happy to explain the differences between the various types of textiles. They are eager to show their merchandise and willing to custom dye to the customers desires. They are not at all pushing to sell; no need. They have the best and the best prices. They tke credit cards and will fedex. In short it is easy to buy. The problem is there are way too many beautiful fabrics. One can spend hours if not a couple of days.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joymarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“an aesthetic delight”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

For anyone who enjoys basking in the lavish lap of luxury, this place is not to be missed. They have an exquisite collection of antique shawls and carpets. I visit this place every time I'm in Delhi, and it's always a delight to see what's new. The staff and family are fun and engaging to talk to, and it's always a learning experience each time I come back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tivolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most amazing treasure trove of carpets imaginable”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This place is certainly worth a visit. Piled high to the ceiling are more carpets than you've ever seen, both modern and antique . They also have a great selection of shawls and shahminas. The owners clearly have a passion for beautiful textiles. They are able to ship your purchases back home at a very reasonable rate. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CK-london1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent experience dealing with the Carpet Cellar!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I did what I thought couldn't easily be done . . . I bought an expensive, handmade carpet through the Internet without seeing it in person. And . . . it all worked out beautifully, thanks to the hard work, expertise and patience of Bobby, who guided us carefully through detailed photos, exact measurements, pricing and shipping. He generously provided us with many, MANY high quality photos whenever we inquired about a particular carpet. The measurements he gave us were exact. He explained rug quality and construction to us as required. He has an enormous selection of very high quality pieces in a large variety of styles. What a fascinating experience it was to recieve emails with photo attachments each morning as we requested more options to choose from. Let me also add that we live in Canada and Bobby arranged the shipping and handling for us. As it turns out, the company we shipped with, DSL, had its challenges, keeping our shipment at the port in India for many days as well as leaving it in a warehouse in Calgary for almost a week; none of this had anything to do with Carpet Cellar, but Bobby did his best to contact the people he knows at DSL to try to sort this out. Our rug arrived beautifully packed and in perfect condition, and it is a beauty, as stunning as the photos, if not more so. We couldn't be happier with our experience, our rug and would recommend Carpet Cellar to anyone who appreciates fine rugs and the beauty they bring to a space. Pricing is competitive and reasonable, given the quality of the rugs. Don't be afraid to shop on the Internet! It can be done!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookiebookchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carpet Cellar also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to The Carpet Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing