We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Reception guy, really bad breakfast &”
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #21 of 1,066 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
V
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Reception guy, really bad breakfast &”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Ok, this is India... the hygiene is horrible everywhere and (male) people are mostly not "into service". Still not a reason the adjust the opinion on what to expect for your money. The place is cheap and the rooms are tiny, but for indian standard "relativly clean" and got TV. The reception guy is horrible. Impossible to understand and even when you booked a room he tells you something that sounded like "I don´t have a room for you, but I give you one and the person which comes later with a reservation doesn´t get one..."
The taxi to the airport that we paid completely was a bad bus and shared with other guests and an indian who also wanted to the airport. But anyway, if you weren´t sure if you like Indan Standards and it´s service, you are definatly sure you don´t like it. I actually felt sorry for people just arriving in India...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanFrederic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    354
    187
    73
    54
See reviews for
58
314
220
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Candolim, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The place was ok value as places are pretty pricey in Delhi.

The room was passably clean, but could use a reno.

I do like the fact that they have a bit of a common area upstairs, but it is not really as good as it could be.

OK place for a night or two

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyHatJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Myself and partner did a Golden triangle tour with Smyle Inn. If you are looking for a budget trip and you have travelled to places like India this is perfect.

The hotel s in the heart of the madness so if that's not for you maybe this will not be your choice. The hotel is basic, but clean has hot water, a nice breakfsat and free internet.

The tour, driver and other hotels were also fine for what we paid and we saw all the sights we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev_hilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

First, let me tell you that it was the first place I stayed in India. I really didn't understand the general standards of lodgings in the country. I learned. The problems that I had with the inn was that it had no heat, which I found is is quite common in India, and when I wanted hot water I have to ask multiple times, eventually threatening to just start flipping beaker switches myself in the hall until I got the right one. I figured if they could go to all the trouble of flipping them off all the time to save electricity, they could flip them on once in a while so the guest could get a hot shower. The truth is that this lodging is fairly typical for the area it is in - Paharganj - the old section of Delhi. While the location was quite good, the place was rundown like the rest of the area. Paharganj may have had character, but I'm not sure I needed that much character during the whole time I was in Delhi. Would I stay there again? No. Would I stay in the Paharganj area again? Only at a more upscale place and I'm not sure there are a lot of them in the area. Trust me, I'm not as picky as I may seem by this review. If you understand the standards of lodgings in India and are comfortable with that and are willing to fight for some basic services, this place might just be the one you're looking for.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollingOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed this place for only one night because dishonesty of the staff.

I forgot my key in the room, and i asked for help from one of the staff, he said i need to pay R200 to open the door. Well, luckily i met the tour agent at 4th floor, and he said there has no such rules. The tour agent helped us contact the manager and open our door without any charges. So never trust them, if has anything problem, straight to the duty manager.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Dear Customer,
It is an unfortunate and unwarranted response from your side.

As per management policy, if you leave the room key inside the room or you loose the key for that matters, there is a charge of INR200 that we take from the customers. This charge is towards the TO and FRO conveyance which the staff has to pay in order to visit the owner's house and get duplicate keys, so you see, the staff member was NOT DISHONEST in advising you the INR200. Another thing since the key was already there since last night, our manager and staff members opened the door for you without charge again which says that the staff was NOT DISHONEST.

Reviews on trip advisor are very valuable for both the travellers and the hotel properties. A responsible and a correct view should be presented for benefit of the travel community as a whole. In your case the response is self contradictory as at one point you are saying that the staff was dishonest and at the other you are saying that the staff opened the door with a charge. Please be responsible in providing future reviews.

All the best
Owner
Smyle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have spend 3 nights in this hotel. We had a room on the second floor, very nice, confortable with the toilet and shower inside. Hot water and television.
The staff always helped us when we needed. There is an internet room and at the top there is a terrace where you have the breakfast or just a chay tea.
I recomend this hotel, it's very close to New Delhi station an in the middle of Main Bazar.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The Hostel is in the Backpacking area of New Delhi. That means t is very very crowded nevertheless we found this nice little Hostel/Hotel with an amzing staff. they organized a tour through Rajasthan which was fitted to our needs an even booked train tickets for our trip to Himalaya. Because of personal problems we had to break up our India trip...we were so sorry. we booked everything and even paid all the trips at smyles inn, so we didnt now what to do. We deciede to tell our problem to Ali, a very helpful staffmember of the hotel. He just called his chef and they were so kind and told us that it is no problem. They gave us the whole amount for the trip through rajastan and even the traintickets. We were so impressed that it was so without problems...amzing. Thank you Smyle Inn. See u next time. K+M

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jask20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#80 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#48 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#77 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Centra Inn
Centra Inn
#27 of 1,066 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing