We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest staff”
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #17 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dishonest staff”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed this place for only one night because dishonesty of the staff.

I forgot my key in the room, and i asked for help from one of the staff, he said i need to pay R200 to open the door. Well, luckily i met the tour agent at 4th floor, and he said there has no such rules. The tour agent helped us contact the manager and open our door without any charges. So never trust them, if has anything problem, straight to the duty manager.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Dear Customer,
It is an unfortunate and unwarranted response from your side.

As per management policy, if you leave the room key inside the room or you loose the key for that matters, there is a charge of INR200 that we take from the customers. This charge is towards the TO and FRO conveyance which the staff has to pay in order to visit the owner's house and get duplicate keys, so you see, the staff member was NOT DISHONEST in advising you the INR200. Another thing since the key was already there since last night, our manager and staff members opened the door for you without charge again which says that the staff was NOT DISHONEST.

Reviews on trip advisor are very valuable for both the travellers and the hotel properties. A responsible and a correct view should be presented for benefit of the travel community as a whole. In your case the response is self contradictory as at one point you are saying that the staff was dishonest and at the other you are saying that the staff opened the door with a charge. Please be responsible in providing future reviews.

All the best
Owner
Smyle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    361
    189
    74
    54
See reviews for
60
318
224
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have spend 3 nights in this hotel. We had a room on the second floor, very nice, confortable with the toilet and shower inside. Hot water and television.
The staff always helped us when we needed. There is an internet room and at the top there is a terrace where you have the breakfast or just a chay tea.
I recomend this hotel, it's very close to New Delhi station an in the middle of Main Bazar.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The Hostel is in the Backpacking area of New Delhi. That means t is very very crowded nevertheless we found this nice little Hostel/Hotel with an amzing staff. they organized a tour through Rajasthan which was fitted to our needs an even booked train tickets for our trip to Himalaya. Because of personal problems we had to break up our India trip...we were so sorry. we booked everything and even paid all the trips at smyles inn, so we didnt now what to do. We deciede to tell our problem to Ali, a very helpful staffmember of the hotel. He just called his chef and they were so kind and told us that it is no problem. They gave us the whole amount for the trip through rajastan and even the traintickets. We were so impressed that it was so without problems...amzing. Thank you Smyle Inn. See u next time. K+M

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jask20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litteau, France
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Arrived early hours in the morning and was welcomed by friendly staff. The rooms are small with en-suit but very clean and we had a tv. The breakfast inculded was very nice, cereal, fruit juice, toast and jam, fruit and chai or coffee

The location of this place is amazing, just off the main bazzar and 5 mintues walk to the main train station. This was the only place we stayed with free internet and would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhite81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This was the first hotel I encountered on a three week trip of India. Having had time to reflect it isn't that bad for the price. The room was very small, and there was only enough hot water for one person to have a shower, but the staff were extremely helpful. They did try to sell us some tours, but weren't too pushy, and were actually very helpful to us in planning our ongoing trip.
It is very basic, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We never actually stayed in Smyle Inn. We were meant to stay from 5th to 8th October and we booked in advance on Hostelworld and paid our deposit. When we got there they said there had been a mistake and our room wouldn't be available until the next day but we could stay next door in Unique International hotel.
The next day we went back to Smyle Inn at 11:00 and were told to come back at 12:30 and our room would be ready. At 12:30 they said there was still no room and could we stay at Unique International again.
We thought it sounded fishy and asked Unique International how much our room was worth. They said 450. We were going to be paying Smyle Inn 610 per night.
We refused to pay Smyle Inn anymore money and just stayed at Unique International for 3 nights and paid 450 per night only.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiefloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Dear Customer,
At the outset thanks for taking out time in order to write a review. Regarding your feedback, sometimes planned check out don't happen and it causes our availability to go hay-wire. In your case the same thing happened and we requested you to stay at the nearby by hotel. Regarding the rate difference, well actually we charge on the basis of Bed and Breakfast model, which means that you get room, breakfast and also free internet. When we recommend another guest house, we open our doors to those customers for using our services like the breakfast and internet. Unique hotel only gives out rooms. So if you calculate the cost of wholesome breakfast for 2 people along with internet and room cost, you will realise that we were not overcharging you. It is a case of misunderstanding of how our pricing works.

We have been in the business for last 15 years and we act like the way you understood, we would be out of business in no time. I do hope that you will understand that your comprehension about the price difference was a little incorrect.

Best Regards
Manager
Smyle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel is cosy.
The room is simple, but clean, with confortable beds and hot water.
The loction is good. The hotel is near where everything happens, but is inside a market, so to arrive by car is complicated.
There is free wi-fi, but wasnt working then.
The toilet paper is charged.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLH120191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 716 in New Delhi
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
1,838 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#81 of 716 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing