We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big improvement in this hotel”
Review of The Janpath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Janpath Hotel
Ranked #274 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Was having some trepidation about staying here due to earlier reviews but was pleasantly surprised at what we came across in the hotel. Yes the temporary reception "room" is not ideal but new reception due to be ready by next January. The rooms were excellent, large, clean and well equipped. However we were in rooms which have been upgraded and, as far as we could find out approximately half of the rooms still require upgrading. Restaurant food was fairly good but a fairly limited choice. Bar area was okay but dirty from dust from construction work (probably would be closed by EHS in UK).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJD_Erskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2009

The only thing good about this hotel is location. It located in Connaught place which is the heart of Delhi. The rooms are very big & spacious but not well maintained. The room service is okay & food definitely not very palatable. Only thing is that you can just walk around & have good joints within 10 min walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anuj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Not worth the rent charged; food not very good; rooms look old with stained walls; albeit large; should be maintained properly; may not stay their the next time

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank navneet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Hotel Janpath location is good and close to connaught Place.Service is slow. Front desk response is average

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sandeep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I know this review is coming late but when I saw the hotel on the dirtiest list of India I had to weigh in. It was the worst rip off of my life. Paid 160 USD for one night at what was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. It was just horrible. Driving up to it I knew something was wrong as it looked like a govt. dept building. Lobby was shabby but proved to be the best thing about it. Lifts, corridors and path to room was filthy and badly lit. Room was horrible. Wouldn't lock properly. Toilet was grimy. Beds were uneven. It was 12 midnight and I couldn't find another hotel. Slept with a chair jammed against the door. Stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaliwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The hotel is okay but we liked the restaurant more because of its good food and live ghajals program. its good to be there with family and friends and enjoy the party.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank hiadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We stayed at Janpath to get our infant son out of the Diwali noise and air pollution.

When we arrived the staff were doing their Diwali worship in the lobby and we had to wait over 20 minutes just to check in. Not a single member of the staff volunteered to help us check-in and get us to our room before they were done. We were left hanging around in the lobby (frigid) while the staff sang songs!!

The beds were too narrow and uncomfortable, the wooden tiles on the floor were creaky, the AC was turned on full blast turning the room into an ice chest, the food was too full of chillies and not really good anyway, the hotel staff were shouting across the corridor to each other (terrible when the sound echoes.)

To top is all, they have the nerve to call the Janpath a 4 star hotel and charge a "luxury" tax.

It would be hard to call this hotel a 2 star on all counts.

We would not stay here again or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idea_talk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#77 of 715 in New Delhi
2,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#108 of 715 in New Delhi
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#63 of 715 in New Delhi
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Connaught Royale
Hotel Connaught Royale
#140 of 715 in New Delhi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Janpath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Janpath Hotel

Address: Janpath Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £76 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Janpath Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the commercial & shopping hub - Connaught Place. Easy accessibility to Delhi Metro, 45-minutes from Airport, 10 minutes from railway station. The total changeover of the hotel ensures value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Janpath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janpath Hotel Delhi
Janpath New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing