We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel doesn't even deserve 1 star.”
Review of The Janpath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Janpath Hotel
Ranked #271 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This hotel doesn't even deserve 1 star.”
Reviewed 22 June 2006

When we made reservations we were told this hotel was a 4 star. This place doesn't even deserve a 1 star. The rooms were dirty. no hot water at anytime. Bathroom had mold everywhere. Staff was rude. We were promised a free breakfast and ended up having to pay for that. I didn't mind paying I just wanted to get my things and get out of there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    99
    53
    25
    31
See reviews for
32
28
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We usually stay with family when in Delhi but they were out of town, so we had to find a hotel which was safe and clean. Our four-year-old children were visiting India for the first time and have a complicated medical history, so we didn't want them getting sick either. Janpath was recommended to us by cousins who also had children visiting India for the first time, and they said they had a good experience. We paid way too much for the stay we got - 4700rs/night. The room, though large, was very worn, the bed was inadequate sized. The bathroom was as clean as can be expected from this kind of hotel, I guess, not well-maintained. We had several maintenance issues while there, but the staff was quick and effective in responding. Room service was prompt, but often messy in service. The food was reasonable, both in taste and price. I was told this hotel was a good transition from America to India. It is not. You will feel the culture shock when you stay here. Our train for departure was in the evening, and we asked for delayed check-out, but they charged us a whole extra day for it. The area was safe and my kids didn't get sick on the food (we bought our bottled water elsewhere). Still, I wouldn't recommend this hotel, because you could get a similar hotel for much less, but you have to be careful in Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hudaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Charlottesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2006

I stayed in this hotel with family for one night. It was terrible. The rooms were very dirty with torn carpet. The carpet looked like it has never been cleaned from several years. It is definately NOT a star hotel. It was much worse than some hostels where I have stayed.

In spite of all this, the charges for food were like 4-5* hotels. They charged 45Rs for a cup of tea and more than 200Rs/person for useless breakfast.

The staff was rude. At first they told that the breakfast was complimentary. But after we had the breakfast, they said it is not. After lot of arguing, I had to pay for that. All of the staff was desperate to get tips -- no matter how poorly they have maintained the hotel and how poor their service is.


AVOID AVOID AVOID this hotel.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank pmat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

The hotel was an absolute disgrace, there was no cleansiness we stayed 1 night and we did not even unpack our suitcases slept in our clothes. They insist on payment upfront which should of got the alarm bells ringing. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muchosgracious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2006

We prebooked the hotel online with Asia.com. When we arrived at the receptionist, it didn't too bad. Once we got to the third floor where our room was, the ambience resemble that of the under funded 1950s Lunatic Asylum. The room was horrendous - windows were covered with wooden board. The electric sockets were hanging out. No hot water at all despite the fact that the staff came up twice to fix it. The staff was aggressive and all they wanted was charging extras as much they can. Be very careful before you pay the bills! A deperate hotel - only to be used in the crisis. Not recommended to stay more than one night!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank T_SmithBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 December 2005

Terrible, horrible, pathetic, despicable, bad can't find enought negative adjectives for this hotel. Rooms are like they have never been cleaned, bathrooms are like everyone in the hotel uses one single bathroom. Very dirty. Can't imagine this hotel is still functioning.

Service very very bad. no water to drink ... just plain out lousy.

  • Stayed April 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2005

My experience was terrible. I called the day before to confirm our booking with Janpath and it was confirmed. When we got to Janpath from Jaipur, we were rudely told that there was no reservation. I showed the reservation from the internet and he was challenging me that it was not a reservation. He was very rude. It was only after he was going through his reservations did he finally find it and then his tone changed. We had two other bookings for the hotel and he said that there were no other bookings for the future. We even phoned the booking agent twice and they confirmed that there were no other bookings. More later!

The room was not comfortable and for the first time we both decided to forgoe on the bath/shower as it was stained. It was also dark and noisey.We were glad to be out of there in one night.

Now back to the horrible experience...while I was touring around, we found out that Janpath hotel charged us for one night as a no show (I found this out by email). I immediately contacted Janpath and they said that we did not show. They then argued with me that we did not cancel. I told them we confirmed with hotel and booking agent twice that there were no other reservations. They were very argumentative and would not relent and this went on and on for months. I told my credit card company and they finally stepped in and looked after it. Word of warning...get the name of the front desk person and be cautious about your bookings. They tried to get the money out of us and did not succeed. This was the only real negative on an otherwise wonderful adventure.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cocoachini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#109 of 716 in New Delhi
604 reviews
4.3 mi away
Imperial Apartments
Imperial Apartments
#435 of 716 in New Delhi
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 716 in New Delhi
2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#74 of 716 in New Delhi
2,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#278 of 716 in New Delhi
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Janpath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Janpath Hotel

Property: The Janpath Hotel
Address: Janpath Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Janpath Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the commercial & shopping hub - Connaught Place. Easy accessibility to Delhi Metro, 45-minutes from Airport, 10 minutes from railway station. The total changeover of the hotel ensures value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Janpath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janpath Hotel Delhi
Janpath New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing