We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel if you can”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Corus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corus Hotel
Ranked #544 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel if you can”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A depressing place unfortunately and not very good value. The bathroom was not in a good condition and the bedroom wasn't much better. The noise from the restaurant went on until 10pm. Do look at other alternatives if you have the option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCH_13, General Manager at Corus Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2015
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took time to review your stay at our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. It is your feedback that makes us take note of the areas that may have escaped our notice. It helps us take corrective measures wherever necessary for our improvement. We will ensure that the ratings will increase during your next stay. We would certainly like to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Corus
Satish Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    92
    43
    41
See reviews for
31
56
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoopa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I chose this hotel because of its central location in Connaught Place, just a short walk from Janpath Road with its many small shops (bargaining is key), the Central Cottage Industries Emporium (set prices but a variety of quality items from all over India), and Imperial Hotel – all have been around since I grew up in Delhi in the 1950s.

The hotel’s informal restaurant featured very good complimentary breakfasts with choice of eggs or omelets, fresh fruit and juices, sausages and toast, and several Indian dishes that my daughter and I enjoyed very much. Good coffee. It was a great way to begin each day. Service was prompt. There were beautiful cakes on display in glass cases that we didn’t get a chance to try. We ordered excellent chicken salad sandwiches from room service too. The hotel provided us with multiple bottled waters. There is also a separate lively coffee bar.

Our room was on the third floor, a bit tiring after walking around all day. I would ask for a room on the second floor. The room was quite plain - no frills, no windows. The air conditioning worked well.

At first I was a bit disappointed, but the convenience of the hotel’s central New Delhi location and the excellent service made up for our initial reaction. We had lost our key to the lock on one of our suitcases. “Not a problem.” The problem was resolved right away! Very warm employees, lots of smiles.

The only complaint is that an individual associated with or perhaps employed by the hotel arranged for a driver to take us to the nearby Central Craft Cottage Industries emporium where I was fraudulently charged outrageous prices for items I did not purchase. THIS IS NOT A GOVERNMENT CONTROLLED STORE. The India Tourism Board that works with foreign tourists who are victims of fraud helped me by investigating and referring the matter to Delhi Police. Fortunately, American Express wrote off the bogus charges.

Other than that unfortunate experience, I would recommend this hotel if you don’t require more opulent surroundings. The location and service can’t be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor rather than having to climb up to the third!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCH_13, General Manager at Corus Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Maam,

Greetings from The Corus Delhi!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.
We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction which is indeed most encouraging and your feedback continuously motivate us to provide you with services of the highest quality at all the time.

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again.

Regards,
Satish Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent. The area had been recommended to us by Indian friends as a good place to stay when new to Delhi and India.

We arrived very late at night, quick check in and were taken up to room 110. The room was appalling. We were stunned our agent had booked us into such an awful hotel. I think if I had seen the bathroom sooner we would have demanded a room change at least but exhaustion and stunned amazement made us accept the room.

Firstly the room was tiny with no window, once we and our bags were in the room there was barely any floor space. Everything in the room was unclean. Marks on the walls, unknown stains on the bedhead, bed covers and cushions. The sheets and towels were grey, thin and didnt look clean. Then the bathroom.........gross and disgusting. The shower flooded the whole room, the waste bin was rusted to the floor, the bottom of the door was totally rotten, everything was dirty, I think I was cleaner before I braved a shower than after!

The staff were hit and miss. When we paid for Wifi we were told it was for multiple devices which it turned out was incorrect, plus the lady on the desk had no idea how it all worked and we waited for ages whilst she found out what to do. The website is also misleading, the pictures are very out of date as the hotel is generally run down but the pictures make the hotel look flash and new.Our TV came out of the ark yet pictures show flat screens. There was no inroom safe and the mini bar was empty.

To add to everything when I asked for a second pillow (the one I had was tiny and lumpy) I was told that would incur an extra charge. The Wifi was also an added charge, which we did pay but hardly used as firstly it didnt work in our room and secondly there were so many power outages in the evening we gave up trying. Breakfast was dismal, little choice and poor quality. We only braved a second night as we had such a full schedule there was no time to look for and move to another hotel. We were booked to return for 3 nights the following week but we requested our agent book us elsewhere as we couldnt bear the thought of returning to such a dump.

I have stayed at hotels in the back of no where in other countries and all were 200% cleaner and better. Do not stay here unless you enjoy discomfort and dirt!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window if you are silly enough to stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgetteCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

aahhhh, what to write about this place. you don't want to stay here for more than 1 night. If you have no option than try this out. The only good this about this hotel is the restaurant, which is filled with energy if you opted to sit in open. Food is good & worthy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitSharma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was only in Delhi for two days before heading out on the train so booked the Corus as it was near the train station. It was my only time in Delhi so I don't have hotel or area comparisons to offer. It was a great spot to get the metro, which is right outside.

The hotel and room was clean and the bed was a decent size. However, there wasn't a window and that was a bit disconcerting. It also took an age for the hot water to come through, I had to run the shower for around 10 minutes before it started to come through.

The restaurant was ok, we ended up having to have the set menu as that was all that was available that day and the courses came before you had finished the previous one (or in one slow eater's case the one before that). It has a bit of terrace out the back which is ok but the nearby bars are better.

It's Connaught Place so quite a lively area. During the day it's massively busy and one of my travelling companions got a bit overwhelmed and hassled, but it is big city India.

In the early evening we walked around and it was crowded with shoppers and revellers but there was no hassle and there are some bars in the surrounding areas that were busy and decent enough. However, once the crowd thins out it's just full of stray dogs.

I missed the complimentary breakfast the first day and the second day we booked a takeaway breakfast as we were leaving but it wasn't ready by the time we left.

Wifi was included and worked well.

So overall I didn't hate it but if I was going back to Delhi, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank timblankt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Tucked away on a higher floor of 'B" Block Connaught Place, opposite Gate 1 of the ubiquitous Delhi Metro, is Hotel Corus, which is favoured by business travellers and tourists owing to its location and budget price. However the lack of outfacing windows give the rooms a rather gloomy look and the furnishings add to that feeling.
The breakfast which is included in the price and served in the adjacent coffee shop was a little slapdash and could do with some fresh thinking.
Check-in was quite smooth and the hotel is certainly aiming to please.Complimentary wi-fi is provided.
The saving grace could be the sights and sounds of Connaught Place which envelops one
and provides a Delhi experience to take home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vayudoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Just finished another Very enjoyable long stay at Corus in New Delhi. Superb central location right on impressive Connaught Place and adjacent to Rajiv Chowk Metro, giving fast access to all Delhi. This is a great central, medium price hotel. The GM Mr Satish is to be warmly congratulated on running a very efficient and attentive hotel. Excellent friendly service and definitely the 'best room' is the place to be, with a wide view across Connaught Place. But even the inner rooms, some of which do not have windows, are worth the price for a good location and reasonable room rate.
Inclusive breakfast is simple, but very adequate, and can be quite creative if you request items straight from the kitchen. (Cockroaches need to be minimised though! But this is India. Don't come if you dislike unexpected excitement).
In my opinion, the main negative in this hotel is the restauant drinks pricing in the evening. "A tot" can cost an eye-watering 10x times the cheapest outside price, in a very nearby bar, which can double the price of a pleasant dinner! So the hotel drinks policy prices itself out of the dinner market for a thirsty and budget visitor. This is compensated by the really excellent (but mis-named) English Family Restaurant managed by Mr Anil and 100 yards away on the side of 'A' Block. (The down-market "bar", Dhaba, is 300 yards and the shop with the bottles, for the price of a tot, 400 yards!).
You don't go to Delhi to be quiet and peaceful so the ability to listen to open air concerts without leaving the room could be an advantage...and they all finish early in the evening, giving way to the barking dogs. (The Council MUST do something about these animals who are already seem to well outnumber visiting tourists!)
The travel service in the hotel lobby is very helpful, and convenient if you are happy to pay a premium of up to 100% on your transport budget. Save this by using the excellent friendly service, and down-market cars, provided by Mr Shakeel 9797715958 at Royal Holiday Tours just 300 yards away on outer Circle

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#273 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#106 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
#409 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#26 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#105 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel

Property: Corus Hotel
Address: B-49, Inner Circle Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corus Hotel is one of the finest business hotel in New Delhi. We are located in the center of the Business Hub - Inner Circle Connaught Place and thus, are the prime choice of tourists and business delegations coming from all parts of the world for their stay in the Indian capital.we at The Corus believe in the best of service & hospitality to different type of travelers right in city centre.Being in the centre of the city gives us the unique advantage of being well connected with every corner of Delhi and even its suburbs. At The Corus we have rooms with contemporary décor in pastel colors in both Double and Twin bedded category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotels
Corus Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing