We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly room and tired staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #28 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My room smelt very musty and as if the last guest had just checked out after leaving a bad smell.
Staff did not provide service from the heart, or with a genuine smile. Many looked tired and seemed to be only interested in getting me to part with my money.
Food was good in the coffee shop, except for the very poor tea bag only service for breakfast - so no fresh masala tea.
This hotel was better last time I stayed.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank rawguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,221 - 2,227 of 2,807 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Beautiful rooms, free wi-fi, great breakfast (huge selection, good food), amazing gym and spa area, and fantastic location. Only downside is that the pool closes early.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here twice while on the Taj Mahal Express tour with Friendly Planet Travel. This was by far the nicest hotel on the trip. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean although having a window into the bathroom from the rest of the room was something I have never seen before. The room was fully stocked with amenities including slippers, bathrobes, large shopping bags, toothbursh, comb, etc. The lobby was spacious and we were able to walk to a local market safely from the hotel. The restaurants were a bit overpriced, and at breakfast service was very slow for the made to order eggs and pancakes. The rest of the buffet was wonderful, variety and taste-wise. You can change money in the lobby, but they would not give us small bills (our tour guide recommended we carry a lot of 10 and 50 rupee bills) so we had to have them broken down at the restaurant while settling the bill. The hotel is gated and has plenty of security including metal detectors and an x-ray before you enter.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonymous9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel was part of our guided trip through Friendly Planet. since the package was such a great price, i expected this hotel to be... well, somewhat downscale. I was floored by how great this hotel was! Excellent service, great food, lovely grounds, and the best massage I've ever had at their accomodating spa. i was out sightseeing till late, but the spa was open until 12am! i booked a massage and scrub at 10pm for 2 hours. fabulous! the concierge, hotel desk staff and floor staff were so gracious - i was looking around for coffee, and the hotel manager noticed and brought it to me immediately. This is service like you don't see in the states!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Superb location and good place. Very close to the le meridean. Food is good and the service is excellent. Worth visiting mainly due to the location and good rates as compared to other similar hotels from the town

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celebrate-Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

One of the finest hotels i have stayed in New delhi, it is very conveniently placed near the parliament and all the government offices,most of the big guys who visit delhi is for a purpose to meet any of the central ministers, for which i think this is one of the best hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geo075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My stay in Delhi from 6th to 8th June was so pleasant I must appreciate the service levels. Hotel rooms are really good and with free Wifi connectivity, it makes business trip very easy. Taj must learn from here to provide free Wifi service for stay in guest.

Outlets are good and buffet in coffee shop has a clear mix of continental to Indian menus. it is full filling and value for money to stay in here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narsi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,878 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,964 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 715 in New Delhi
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,907 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,118 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £124 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the premier business and commercial district, Connaught Place. Within close proximity to Parliament, Central government & key corporate offices, the iconic India Gate, Janpath- the shopping helm of Delhi city center. The hotel's new rooms provide fresh and contemporary stay experience with unique design offerings New Delhi's sole split level Horizon Club Lounge offers panoramic views of the city's historic district with exceptional service to discerning guests. Guests can indulge in varied culinary experiences such as our iconic Shang Palace and the hot spots of Delhi – Tamra, Grappa and Sorrento over looking lush green gardens & private dining. Our opulent ballroom and multiple meeting spaces with natural light and adjoining open terrace makes the hotel a preferred choice Our world renowned Chi, The Spa, the first in New Delhi, uses natural products to provide revitalizing and therapeutic experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangrila Hotel
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing