We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and food, ordinary room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #20 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and food, ordinary room”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The staff, with two exceptions, were all very helpful and informed.Check-in was not well handled. The bedroom, as I recall from a precious visit was musty smelling and rather old fashioned in appearance. There was no separate shower.TV in room is fixed, which means it can only be viewed from one position. The lifts were playing up on a couple of days that casues some delay. The room servicing was effective and thorough. The Horizon Club was generaly good but scope for more proactive service at times. Food was of excellent quality in choice. I can recommend the "19 Oriental Restaurant" with its parallel menus in Japanese, Thai and Chinese cuisines. The lower ground Cafe was good but I recommend you check the white wine is served chilled as this does not seem to the regular practice for some reason. A safe choice but room for improvement in accommodation infrastructure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    756
    212
    88
    60
See reviews for
464
656
202
914
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Excellant location.right in the heart of Delhi.First thing that hit me was how courteous the staff was.A pretty girl led me to my room and was polite and helpful. even the room service guys were extremely polite.

The rooms are nice.So are the bathrooms.The Toiletries smell nice so no need to bring your own.The bathroom is well equipped and i doubt u would need to bring anything of your own.The sheer amount of extra towels available was comforting..The shower is good with the hot/cold sensitivity at just the right ratio.All the basic amenities that you would expect from a good hotel room are here.

The food is allright.I ordered indian for lunch and Continental for dinner. The Daal was good and so was the Aalu Puri (tasty) the Dosa was spewing oil. At night,The penne was avoidable and the Salad with bacon was barely ok. the indian desserts is where in room dining shines (though avoid the tiramisu). The Ras Malai and especially the Paan Kullfi are a must try.

The view from my tenth floor room was fantastic.I could see indian gate and most of the skyline in the diplomatic area.Bang opposite was the swimming pool of le meridien.No mermaid spotting occured.

Good hotel.Though it's a bit pricey.If you need to be in and around the area then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Take the room as high as possible.I took a room on the tenth floor 1016, the last room in the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

This is my second stay at the hotel.
What I notice this time is that I feel like being welcome home.
The lady in the reception and lobby area were very kind and helpful.
The restaurant and room service is fantastic! I have most of my dinner in my room and it was great.
I guess, that was a great and very enjoyable home. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndriasWibowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Not much to say- was a great 5 star hotel in New Delhi. For the leure traveller, possibly lacked the absolute luxury of, say, The Leela Palace, where we all stayed, but very much did the job and all the extras that came with the executive floor where we stayed (breakfast, evening foods and snacks) were very welcomed. The other food in the hotel wasn't outstanding, but not sure any international food in India is. Staff 5 star.

Room Tip: Choose the executive rooms on the upper floor if you can afford it- the small price differential you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icklevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We a group of 8 members of my family had a nine night stay at this quality five star hotel, and what can i say. From the moment we arrived right up until the day we left we enjoyed it so much. All the staff are very friendly and very very helpful. A special thanks goes to Shalini Sharma, Chandni Sharma from Guest relations - ladies a great pleasure in talking with you every day and also a big thank you for all the help with shopping and help with other requirements. . Also a big thank you to Manjit Singh for helping every morning with my families breafast requests. Lucky the breadman was a pleasure every morning.
From the foyer to our rooms, the buffet breakfast and room service all excellent. Cannot wait to stay at this hotel again. loved it. Thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas290668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We finished our holiday in India by staying at the Shangrila Hotel and what a good idea it was. This is a luxury hotel at a luxury hotels best. From the foyer to the rooms to the fine dining to the buffet breakfast and the excellent service fro a dedicated staff.
I could go on and on about this hotel but I think I'll stop at.
"This is simply the best stay"

Room Tip: All the rooms are magnificent here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel while on a holiday in India. It was really brilliant! I was feeling ill on arrival and the staff at check-in did everything possible to expedite the process. My special thanks to Punkaj from in-room dining who offered to make a special soup not on the menu to help me feel better. She was extremely friendly and helpful and would even call back to ensure that the meal was suitable and enquire whether i was feeling better. The staff in the breakfast room were also very efficient and "Lucky, the Breadman" was especially delightful to interact with. The rooms and bathrooms were luxurious and i was very impressed with the cleaning staff. The Spa is also of exceptional standard. I was so impressed with this hotel that some of my friends have already booked there on my recommendation. Well done to the staff and management of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiru30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing