We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I Am Fussy But”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Maybe I Am Fussy But”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Maybe I am fussy, but this brand of hotel should not fail in the number of area's it does, it is supposed to be a seamless experience. They may be small gripes, but not ones raised at nearby Claridges or LE Meridian.

Here they are:

Our wine of choice ( at a mere £15/ glass) was unavailable, at a hotel at this price they should have what's on the list.

The next choice at a mere £ 18 a glass, was nice, but served almost ice cold, for a half decent Barolo ! Some one needs training on wine and communication

Breakfast, twos days out of three, the 'crispy bacon' was empty, and the bananas ran out, petty maybe, but this is the Shangri La five star, not Glasgow Premier Inn (where they never run out of bacon on the breakfast bar)

Breakfast again, tea should not take 15 minutes to arrive and require two reminders, with the number of staff around, it's just simple poor management of resources.

Coffee in the lobby was only just OK, again they should be challenging the best not settling for below average.

We would stay again, the hotel is well appointed, WiFi is the best sorted of the hotels we use in Delhi, so some brownie marks for the business guest.

The spa my wife tells me was good and good value.

We liked the hotel, some what disappointed no one asked us how our stay was, would have gladly relayed all of the above to them.

As above, we would stay again, maybe our expectations of service and knowledge of what they are doing will be lower next time and the stay will not be 'spoilt' by over expectation.

But still think I should expect excellent service and quality from this chain and not be happy with only average ?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinGaltrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your valuable feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the Spa at Shangri-La and found it good value for money and appreciated our high speed internet connectivity. 
However we have noted with concern your comments about our wine pricing, breakfast experience and services at Cafe Uno and Lobby Lounge. We will review and address them on priority.
Your patronage is extremely important to us and it is feedback such as yours that enables us to improve continuously and exceed the expectations of our guests, going forward.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Shangri-La's -Eros Hotel, New Delhi.


Best regards
General Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    772
    220
    90
    61
See reviews for
482
671
207
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hallidays Point, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Why did we only have 2 nights at this hotel....
Fantastic service, spotless surroundings.
Amenities were the best! A swim in the outdoor pool followed by a session in the sauna, steam room and than a Spa

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schottje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out and sharing your positive and valuable feedback with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we were able to meet and exceed your expectations through our services particularly our outdoor Swimming Pool, Health Club and the Spa.It is very heartening to receive such wonderful response and I have shared the same with my colleagues.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we will be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 or 3 nights during a business trip. The service was fantastic, including being greeted by the manager and beautiful receptionist women each day on return from work.
The hotel was always spotlessly clean as was the room.
My double room was incredibly comfortable, great bed. Everything work without problems.
Breakfast was great, good variety of food, and service was good.

I ate in the Asian restaurant one evening, and whilst the food was good, and service fine, the restaurant was cold.

The bar was disappointing though for such a classy hotel. It was noisy, the decor all a bit chrome and neon blue light, out of keeping with the rest of the hotel. The atmosphere, on the night I was there, wasn't particularly welcoming. It was disappointing that the bar couldn't have been a bit more upmarket, bit calmer, instead of feeling like have a quiet beer in a loud and cheap nightclub.

Good hotel though, good location. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel and  sharing your detailed and valuable feedback with us.

We are happy to know that you liked the responsiveness of the staff, found your room comfortable, enjoyed the breakfast spread at our all day dining restaurant Cafe Uno and liked the spotlessly clean environment of the hotel.

We have noted your comments about the temperature adjustments at 19 Oriental Avenue and the ambiance at Island Bar and will surely look into it.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we would love to have you stay with us again!

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A wonderful hotel well located in New Delhi. The rooms are spacious and spotless and are provide with many amenities. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The evening and breakfast buffets feature a very wide variety of Indian, western and Asia dishes as does the a la carte menu. All of the food is well prepared. The only negative is if you need to depart the hotel before breakfast is served and request a boxed breakfast, very little food is provided and it is of poor quality . Despite this,I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing and recommending Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel.

We are delighted to know that you liked the responsiveness of our staff, enjoyed the buffet spread at our specialty restaurant 19 Oriental Avenue and the breakfast at Cafe Uno.
We have noted your feedback about the packed breakfast and we will surely look into it.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Although I don't have pther experiences in hotels in Delhi, I totally recommend this hotel. I stayed there for almost a week. The staff is really kind, I you can feel they try to please you. Dinning experience in the 19 Oriental (Japanese-Thai-Chinese resetauran) was amazing. We repeated twice. We have also tried Varq (really bad) and Burbukha (or something like this in the Mayura hotel). The 19 Oriental was our favourite (specially if you like Thai ;) ). Rooms are pretty confy, Breakfast is quite good and location is pretty nice, since you can walk to several places. Internet was quite good. Overall experience was very positive. Finally, the price was quite nice comparing with other high end hotels around

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest, 


Thank you for choosing Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel and taking time out for sharing your positive and valuable feedback with us.
It gives us immense pleasure to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations through our hospitality and service. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful dining experience at our specialty Asian restaurant -19 Oriental Avenue, enjoyed the breakfast spread at Cafe Uno, found the room comfortable and the Internet access up to the mark. 

We are also happy to know that you considered your overall experience at Shangri-La good value for money. 


Your encouraging feedback has been shared with the entire team. 


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we look forward to having you stay with us again!


Best regards
General Manager  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Despite the name (which makes you think of a cheap love hotel) it is a top standard Shangri La hotel that holds up all values of the brand - well qualified and friendly staff, top services, a wonderful spa and pool, high quality restaurants and a decent rooms. The location is good, the price too so I would have no hesitation to stay there again in future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel and taking time out for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed dining at our restaurants, gratifying to learn that you found our Swimming Pool and Spa to your satisfaction and our location good and we offered great value in terms of price.

Your wonderful comments have been shared with the entire team.

If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nothing but the highest praise for this hotel and all the staff, from the minute we were welcomed at the airport to being waved goodbye, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. If I was ever to return to Delhi I wouldn't look at booking any other hotel. Location wise it was a 10 minute walk to Connaught Place, if you were allowed to walk, plenty of rickshaws and taxis available, India Gate in close proximity and roughly 30 minutes from the airport. It just worked as it should, no problems, fuss or bother.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out and sharing your positive and valuable feedback with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we were able to meet and exceed your expectations through our services and you appreciated the positives of being centrally located in New Delhi.It is very heartening to receive such wonderful response and I have shared the same with my colleagues.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will chose to stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,931 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing