We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #30 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I picked this hotel as it was within walking distance of my office when I was in Delhi for a business trip. It has everything you expect from a big international hotel and has the same feel as Shangri-La hotels in other parts of the world.

A big positive was the staff who were all incredibly friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurants and bar.

Location is good and, although I didn’t really use them much, the grounds and swimming pool were very pleasant and a good escape from hectic central Delhi.

The food was generally good in the main restaurant, especially the Sunday brunch with an extensive selection of Indian and Western food including lots of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. I tried the Thai/Chinese/Japanese restaurant once and wasn’t so impressed. It seemed really overpriced and the food wasn’t that great. It’s a nice atmosphere in there though and has a second bar area.

One negative about this hotel for me was that the lobby lounge is quite small and they don’t serve alcohol. This means that if you want a drink you need to head to the bar which is quite dark, soulless, and seems to only play 80's music compilations; not good for just relaxing or reading.

Overall I liked it here and would possibly stay again although I didn't feel like there was anything exceptional that I wouldn't find in one of the other hotels in the area of a similar standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_ES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your frank and forthright comments with us.

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable experience staying at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and liked our hospitality and services.


Glad to hear that you found the hotel centrally located, our staff incredibly warm, pleasant and helpful, enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast spread at the All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno.


Your valuable observations about the food spread at the specialty cuisine restaurant - 19 Oriental Avenue have been duly noted and will be reviewed on priority, the pricing there however are as per restaurant in our competition hotels .
If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    765
    217
    90
    61
See reviews for
472
664
205
945
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in the Horizon Club room, the room was quite big and had an excellent view. The check in service was excellent, I really liked been taken to our room rather than doing at the desk after a long journey.

We had the pick up from the airport, which was good, water was provided.

The pool area was fantastic, great children's pool with a few blow up things to play with, however the pools were a little cold, but I am sure they will warm up.

The train booking service was excellent, after many frustrating attempts at booking my own trains, the hotel organised them for about £2-3 each, which was excellent. I would highly recommend given the hassle of doing it yourself.

We took advantage of the free canapes in the horizon bar at night, they were excellent and in fact if you are not overly hungry were a good substitute for dinner. The range of drinks was good and the Indian red wine was good.

There are only a few criticism, the fact you cannot have a drink in the outside bar/restaurant at night without having the buffet. We are from the UK and really enjoy being warm outside, so we had to opt for the indoor restaurant (we could not go to the proper bar as we have child) and we would have much preferred to have sat in the garden. We had to order a takeaway breakfast one morning, but it was just OK.

Other than that it was an excellent hotel, the staff were lovely and they really made a fuss over our 4 year old, who lost his teddy and one of the ladies in reception presented us with a new replacement teddy, which was very kind. The location was excellent with easy walking distance of Connaught place (15-20mins).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your frank and forthright comments with us about your stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We are also happy to hear that you appreciated our express check-in service, the arrangements made for the airport transfers and the bookings done by our colleagues for your travel by trains on your trip.

Glad to hear that you liked our pool area, enjoyed the canapes and drinks served at the Horizon Club Lounge, found the hotel well located and our staff pleasant and courteous and made the day memorable for your child by providing a nice Teddy as a replacement. It gives us great joy to look after our little patrons.

Your encouraging comments have been shared with the entire team and we would love to have you stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The best feature of this hotel is the excellent location. Located right at the center of the Delhi - 5 minutes walk to Connaught Place.
This hotel offers great facilities at a reasonable price. Staff will go out of their way to accommodate your needs.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank stish64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your wonderful comments with us.

We are pleased to learn that you found the hotel centrally located within close proximity to Connaught Place.

Glad to hear that you found the hotel well appointed offering great value for money and you appreciated our colleagues going the extra mile to take care of your requests.

Your delightful comments have been shared with the entire team at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you again in not so distant future.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La Eros Hotel in Delhi after an intense couple of weeks of wedding functions and travelling and couldn't have asked for a better stay. After a seamless check-in we were taken to our suite and welcomed with fruits and champagne. The room was large and with great views of central Delhi and some high quality amenities from L'Occitane Provence. The breakfast was fantastic and served in our room. Both my wife and I really enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend the Shangri-La in Delhi!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending and for sharing your heartening feedback with us.

We truly are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and liked our hospitality and services.

We are also happy to learn that you appreciated the Check In experience and loved the warm welcome with fruits and champagne on your arrival in your suite and took notice and enjoyed the L'occitane toiletries.

Glad to hear that you both relished the In-Room breakfast dining experience and found the hotel to be centrally located with pretty views of the city.

Your delightful comments have been shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel proved to be a pleasant stay, at the ate thy charge you can understand why compared to other hotels in the area as the rooms need some TLC, paint is peeling off the walls, old baths...

The staff are exceptional here, warm and friendly. Wonderful spa area and gym. Rates are on board with other hotels maybe slightly cheaper.

Breakfast is an array of food, seating area overlooks a lovely garden and quite relaxing.

Great large outside pool surrounded by greenery.

Happy to have stayed here

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gemine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your kind words of appreciation on your recent stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience staying at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services.

Glad to learn that you found our staff responsive and had a blissful experience visiting The Spa at Shangri-La and our Health Club.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast spread at the All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno overlooking the lush green garden area, our pricing attractive and the pool side very pleasing.

Your wonderful comments have been shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I made a room reservation as a wedding gift to my dear ones.the duty manager spoilt it all.he was so impoloite that he entered the room and said that he was getting complaints of noise from our room by the other guests.he then made a request in the following manner:
I request you not to make sound otherwise I will have to put a security guard here.and that too in a firm tone.absolutely disgraceful and impolite.would never go there again and I don't recommend it to anyone at all.awful hospitality and food.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us and we have taken up the matter with the concerned colleague. However you will appreciate our concern that we cannot let other guests get disturbed on account of excessive noise and our request to you was only to tone down the same, especially during late hours of the night.

We seek your understanding and hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La's- Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Do send us your contact details at slnd@shangri-la.com for us to get in touch with you personally.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I cannot understand why this hotel is not in the top 10! From the pick up at the airport(seamless-water,towels offered in car),speedy check in,fantastic room(great views).Couldn't work out the bathroom 'window'?! Very substantial breakfast. It was definitely worth the upgrade to Horizon Club,and the staff there were lovely,very professional and informative.Pool was great-maybe more sunloungers? The hotel had an informal atmosphere and was an immensely comfortable base. Trip to Agra also arranged really well.
Seems to me that the Hotel is very well managed with a great team.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 17th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANET123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
It is wonderful to get your candid feedback and thank you so much for recommending our hotel. We are indeed very pleased to learn that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with us on your recent trip to New Delhi.

Very glad to learn that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations all through your stay at the hotel.

We are happy to learn that you appreciated the airport transfer services, found the rooms well appointed, enjoyed the breakfast spread at our All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno, appreciated the Horizon Club Upgrade and liked the professionalism and responsiveness of our associates.

We are also pleased to learn that you found the hotel ambience warm and you were satisfied with with the arrangements made by my colleagues for your sight seeing trip to Agra.

Your constructive observations about having more sun loungers by the pool side have been duly noted and additional loungers will be provided very soon.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,728 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,762 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing