We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to be modernized”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #20 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs to be modernized”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Shangri la Delhi has a great location,in the heart of Delhi Views are stunning.Unfortunately it is not upto the standards of a Shangrila worldwide The rooms are with old style ,1960s type decor.Windows are not very clean.Bathrooms are small and old fashioned. Feel of luxury is not there.The restaurant choice is limited Pool is really old world .Staff needs to be trained better.in the aspect of not talking loudly to each other in the Horizon club or spa area when guests are there.On the upside,the wi fi is very good,business centre facilities esp meeting rooms are excellent and the spa area is very good.The horizon/club lounge is spacious and nice with great views and is open 24 hours which is very helpful

Room Tip: Choose higher floor room with view of India gate.Its worthwhile to pay a liitle extra for the club r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopakmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out in sharing your valuable comments about your stay experience at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.
Your constructive observations regarding the room upholstery, window cleanliness and the choice on the menus have been duly noted and will be addressed soon.
We have also noted your concern regarding our staff in the Horizon Club Lounge and the Spa area and the same will be reviewed on priority as a training need going forward. However such an incident is not typical of our usual high standards of service and we hope that you would treat this matter in isolation and not let this affect your relationship with us.
We are glad to learn that you found our broadband connectivity services outstanding, loved the meeting room facilities ,enjoyed The Spa at Shangri-La and the 24 hour access to the Horizon Club Lounge which offers panoramic views of the city.
If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will chose to stay with us again.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,530
    757
    212
    88
    60
See reviews for
464
656
202
917
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not a good service at frontdesk. No smoking at pool. Terrible stairs to go to pool. Hustle With local taxis from concierge. Parliament and connaught Place nearby. Not a real SL hotel, they have an agreement with Indian Eros Group, definitively not a five stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vicente F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your frank and forthright comments with us.
We sincerely apologize for not being able to delight you with our hospitality and services.
We wish to bring this to your kind notice that 'Smoking' as per government regulations is strictly prohibited in public areas and we have a separate designated area in the hotel for smoking.
Your constructive observations regarding the Front Desk service and the hotel cab arrangements by the Concierge have been well noted and will be reviewed on priority and a training need going forward.
We have also recorded your concern about the Pool stair case. We will ensure corrective measures are taken on priority.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we appreciate that you found the hotel centrally located within close proximity to the famous tourist attractions - Connaught Place and the Parliament House.
We would be grateful to you for another opportunity to serve you better.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had stayed at Shangri-la Delhi on the 19th floor.Although room was very small in size however the club lounge services were exceptional. Special mention to the club manager who was professional and well equipped with the knowledge of hospitality. She ensured comfort level of our stay, helped us with providing the itenary for the city tour. When we got late for the happy hours she was flexible enough to facilitate the same to us.

Very helping and disciplined staff made our stay a memorable one. I will prefer to stay again and will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Go for Horizon club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saggit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your kind words of appreciation with us.

We are pleased to hear that you loved the Horizon Club Lounge services and had a memorable experience while staying with us.

Your warm and heartening comments have been shared with the entire team, especially with our Ritu Yadav, Service Manager from the Club Lounge. She was delighted to hear about your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your 'home' at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi in not so distant future.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Well located in Delhi. Good breakfast and lounge. Book own cabs as hotel ones are a rip off. Restaurant too expensive unless included im stay. Poor attitude from staff in horizon club lounge especially if you are of Indian origin. Common problem from five star hotels in India.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Biju P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your frank and forthright comments with us on your stay experience at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We are pleased to learn that you found the hotel well located and liked the breakfast at the Horizon Lounge.

However your constructive observations about the hotel cab charges and restaurant pricing will be reviewed on priority. Your comments about the Horizon Club associates disposition has been taken up strongly and will be addressed as a training need going forward.

If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you would provide us with another opportunity to serve you better and delight you with the true Shangri-La hospitality.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fabulous pool, excellent massage facilities, tremendous breakfast selection and a quiet home away from home feeling on the 19th floor in the Horizon club. Well worth the upgrade as the wine on offer was served with panache! Highly recommended and this was my second visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 123MhairiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending and for sharing your lovely comments with us.

We truly were delighted to welcome you back at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi on your second stay visit.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed all our services at The Spa at Shangri-La, the breakfast spread at Cafe Uno and especially the facilities of Horizon Club Lounge which gave you the feeling of being home away from home.

Your encouraging comments have been shared with the entire team and we would love to have you stay with us again in not so distant future.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay in this hotel. Not very far from Janpath market and Connaught Place. Although I came in Delhi for business but staying in Shangri-La Eros made me feel like I was in a vacation. Just sad that the 19th Oriental is closed for renovation, otherwise, I would have brought our clients here for dinner. However, the breakfast and food at the Horizon lounge was superb. Kudos to the Executive Chef and all other chef. The staffs are really warm and helpful. I am pleased with the room attendant, Vijay. Kr who cleaned up and arranged my room very neatly especially putting up some flower designed tower with rose petals and bouquet of orchirds on my last night of stay. Dining while facing the lovely garden is also a plus. Although I never used the swimming pool, I saw that it is big enough and clean. The location is quite central. All in all, it's a fantastic stay and will surely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank fikuy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for delighting us with your warm and generous comments on your stay experience at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

We truly are privileged to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel and enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We are also happy to learn that you felt at home and relaxed at our hotel on your business trip to New Delhi.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the breakfast spread at the Horizon Club Lounge, liked the staff's warmth and responsiveness, appreciated the timely housekeeping services, loved the bouquet of orchids placed in your room and enjoyed the central location of the hotel. We do get nice comments about our lush green gardens and thank you for your appreciation.

Your wonderful comments have been shared with the entire team and especially with our Executive Chef and our service associate Vijay from the Housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home' at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the suites with club access. Very family friendly with ample space and amneties.
The pool area was great with a large kids pool.
Well located and stunning decor.
Breakfast was very very impressive with a wide spread and impeccable service.
My only issue with this place was the suboptimal service in the club lounge by a few staff which I have addressed with the hotel directly.

Room Tip: Recommend suites if travelling with family as all rooms are large and bathroom etc ample.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neetawilfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind words of appreciation about your stay experience at Shangri-La’s – Eros Hotel, New Delhi.
We are pleased to learn that you were comfortable and enjoyed the hospitality and services at the hotel.
We are also happy to know that you found your suite spacious and well appointed with all our signature amenities and appreciated the Club Lounge access.
Glad to hear that you found the hotel well located and elegantly appointed and relished the generous breakfast spread at our All Day Dining restaurant – Café Uno and loved the large area allocated for the kids pool.
Your constructive observations about the service given at the Club Lounge has been well noted and will be reviewed on priority as a training need going forward.
If your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you choose to stay with us again.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing