We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome in a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #18 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

The staff at the hotel is very friendly. Rooms are very comfortable. I felt very at home here! Pool could be cleaner.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    748
    207
    87
    59
See reviews for
458
647
201
891
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We did not stay at this hotel, but we went in there for late night coffee and spend 3 hours. Our flight was 5am so we stayed there 11pm to 2am. This the best and safest place around Janpath and Connaugh Place to be at that hour.
The lobby bar is closed at 11pm. But their coffee shop which is the main restaurant as well open 24 hours. Good service.
They had an open buffet which was closed when we arrived at 11pm. The food was still there, they had a large dessert open buffet which we weren't allowed to purchase anything at all. They told us, they can not serve us from that buffet and these food will go garbage!! Nonsense. We had lemon cheesecake which wasn't good due unfortunatly India not being able to produce good cheese. I had a chochlate tart and rose tea which was great!
They won't exchange usd if you are not staying in their hotels.
The service was good. Our driver was directed to a parking lot. He waited for us in the car. Very clean and fancy looking hotel.
Overall it was nice but Indian operations side of the business was lowering their standart.

  • Liked — Cleanness and service
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple_asking_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-La over Christmas and although we loved the snazzy room we found the atmosphere a rather cold and impersonal.

The service wasn't stellar either. On arrival the porter brought us the wrong suitcase and just laughed it off and told us not to worry. Later we sat in the almost empty lobby cafe for at least 30 minutes before eventually having to get up to request menus. The staff seemed embarassed only after she realised we were guests. Room service was excellent but again the service was slow. These kind of things just shouldn't happen in a 5 star hotel.

We went to stay at Shangi-La on our way back through Delhi less than 2 weeks later and found that they'd raised the nightly rates by almost 25%. Strange considering the times. We ended up choosing LaLit for our last few nights in Delhi and much preferred it. Way better experience & way better value.

  • Liked — lovely rooms
  • Disliked — slow impersonal service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

I chose this hotel as I had stayed in the Shanrilas in Thailand, Malayasia and Dubai. However the standard was completely different.

The security was, as a previous reviewer wrote, heavy handed. Getting in or out of the hotel was an ordeal.

However my main gripe was the value for money. The reception staff were discourteous and everthing seemed to be a burden for them; the conceirge staff told me that I shouldn't take a local taxi to a resteraunt one evening as it was not safe. They pressurised us to use their car which turned out to be 20 times the normal taxi fare. The new years eve meal was around $400.

I am sure there is better value elsewhere in Delhi and I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keithmcmahon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Prior to arriving here other travellers we met on the Dehli Circuit told us it was a poor show compaired to a Taj stay!!! How right they were!!!

The room was far from pristine, lots of dust, some glass marks, stained furnishing, that type of thing!! However bedding fine but still!!!

Horrible security check really aggressive felt like the help not guests!! Dinner the most expensive in Dehli but tasted very average. Service poor apart from one lovely server, which is pretty bad when you consider we spent two days there! You only got attention from waiting staff if you are one of those demanding aggressive types!!

Premium added onto the drinks, which your not advised about till you get the bill!!

Save your money and DONT PAY 5 STAR PRICE FOR A VERY DULL 3 STAR!!!

  • Liked — Nice lobby area
  • Disliked — Poor service, rubbish check out took an age to depart, aggressive security
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rachiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

Stayed 4 nights at this Hotel.
Noisy on the Floors.Small Horizon Club Rooms.
Good in the Horizon Club Lounge,but poor selection for BF and Cocktail Hour.
Not a Shangri-la asn in other cities in Asia.Had much better experience in India with Taj or Oberoi.

  • Liked — Gym
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mroehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle - UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

From the very first minute our stay in the Shangri-La was absolutely superb.

The bedrooms are exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated & extremely comfortable.

We ate in two of the restaurants. Firstly lunch outside was superb & then Dinner in the second floor Thai/Chinese/Japanese restaurant was sublime. They have three individual open kitchens & you can choose from any three of the menus. We tried food off each menu & they were all excellent.

All in all a fantastic Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Excellent standards
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eatmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing