We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some things good, some things so-so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #15 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some things good, some things so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Recently stayed here and have mixed feelings about the hotel. for 4 nights. The lobby is really stunning, if perhaps in an old-school over-the-top glitz kind of style. Very impressive and well-maintained. The room was perfectly nice but not as spectacular as I'd expected for the price (and it had kind of a musty smell). I agree with the previous reviewer about the odd positioning of the TV to the side of the bed - not easy to watch.

The food in the restaurants on the ground floor (both the bar / coffee shop area and the main dining room) wasn't good. The pastries in the display case looked dry and old. I didn't try the Asian restaurant upstairs so can't comment in that.

The staff were great - very hospitable, helpful and welcoming. Free access to the internet in the business center was a nice touch also and the hotel was in a really good location - convenient to shops and tourist sights.

Again, it wasn't a bad stay but I think I'd go for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    734
    200
    83
    58
See reviews for
446
626
198
876
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Shangri-La is located in Connaught Place like many other top International hotels and it's a good central location.

We were picked up at the airport as part of our package, escorted to the hotel car and given cold towels and cold water which was a nice touch. The driver & his colleague were really friendly as were the security staff when we arrived at the hotel. All vehicles have to be checked and all baggage has to go through xray machines before you can enter the hotel.

We were shown to our room by a very charming girl and the room itself was comfortable. It was nicely decorated (especially compared to some smaller out of the way hotels we've stayed in) and the bathroom was good. The only negative about the room was that the tv was over to one side of the room so one of us watched tv in bed while the other sat in th arm chair. There are nice bathroom products and free fruit on request as well as free internet.

The hotel lobby is quite glitzy and there's a cafe, restaurant & bar on the ground floor. All were pretty decent and the buffet breakfast & dinner had a good selection of items. We also tried the Thai restaurant on the first floor which had excellent food - probably the best we had in India.

All in all, a very nice hotel but really just a little bit too expensive at £260/night. At that price, you expect just a little bit more......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

the rooms are very nice, but expected of this star level. What was outstanding were the staff....very genuine and warm. Good location in a quieter part of Delhi

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

One of the finest properties I have had stayed in New Delhi.
It is conveniently located and you will find a nice greenery from your windows when you step inside your hotel room.
Nearby metro stations ensure you can connect to any part of the city despite heavy traffic. The hotel welcomes you with open arms and mesmerizes you with nicely chosen chandeliers and marbles.
The restaurant has nice seating arrangement and superb ambience, not to forget the live kitchen!!!

The only thing I found was lacking was a bit more of common areas for people to hang out other than the swimming pool.

Rest all in all, had a nice stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AD1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

I visited the hotel for spa services one morning during my trip to Delhi (was staying elsewhere). I was tremendously disappointed with every element of the spa. The service and price list is nowhere to be seen on the hotel's web site, and the receptionists/bookers were completely indifferent and unhelpful in describing the services. Arriving in the spa area a bit early, I was asked to wait in the reception area, where there were no magazines to flip through, and I was offered nothing to drink. In my experience, both courtesies are standard for nice spas. The salon services were competent, if a bit business like. The massage was really disappointing. First of all, the changing room was also the locker room for the fitness center, and it looked, and was lit, like a locker room. Not very relaxing, not enough shelves near the steam room for glasses and so on, few products like moisturiser available for guests, plastic mats on the floor, etc. etc. The spa area itself is not unattractive, but is somewhat dated, and could use a refresher. The massage was pretty useless though - the "aroma therapy" oil used had no scent whatsoever, and the actual massage basically consisted of rubbing the unscented oil on me with little attention to muscle work or even relaxation - the room was chilly, and in the end I had a bit of a back ache! For all of this, I was charged quite a bit of money. I'm absolutely certain there are better spa experiences to be found elsewhere in Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Situated in a quiet area but well within the city centre you would be awed with the service of the hotel right from the gate till you are checked into the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesmanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I, Puneet Sarang, would like to share my wonderfull experience with Shangri La, as i stayed there for couple of days on my buisness trip. This property is very beautifull located near centeral part of Delhi and the best part of this hotel is the food being served along with their quick service. Delhi although is known for popular food place, but staying in Shangri La wont let you experience that because being their you experience lavishing and hygenic food under one roof and also one can refrain himself from bad traffic jam on the streets.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuneetIGTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing