We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Ranked #25 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“good hotel in Delhi”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Modern hotel, centrally located, about 1 km from Connaught Place.
Our room (superior) was quite and clean but not big in size; the bathroom was modern and clean.
Buffet breakfast was excellent (as the others Shangri Là I've visited in the Far East ) with many choices and a corner with indian specialities.
We spent some time at Lobby Lounge Bar and ordered an arabic mezzeh,then we had dinner at Caffè Uno with buffets and live cooking stations, food was good and tasty; we had no problem.
The hotel has green gardens, a pool with sunbeds and sun umbrellas, a lovely jacuzzi pool.
In conclusion, a luxury (expensive) hotel in Delhi, a bit anonymous.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritafant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    772
    220
    90
    61
See reviews for
482
671
207
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Confortable room, very good breakfast. Internet access with cable in the bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier9220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Delhi: Shangri-La: "Every time I go there they give me an even better room"
Date: 14 and 22 Nov 2010

I booked into this hotel twice in November for business. The first time I was on my own and the second time I booked in with business colleagues. This is now my No. 1 preference in Delhi and the reason is that every time I go there, they give me an even better room and look after me really well.

It is vital to be able to recover fully from jet lag when travelling for business. I had just flown in from London and was able to relax in the spa with a massage, before getting a superb night's rest in the luxurious bed in my room. The first time, I was upgraded to a room with access to the lounge on the 19th floor; this proved to be fabulous value, as I was able to take breakfast, high tea and food in the early evening too at no additional cost. The staff took the trouble to learn my name and to give me personal service.

The second time, I was upgraded to a suite, which was simply glorious. As if the bedroom was not luxurious enough, having a sitting room in which to sit on the sofa and read, made me feel more at home; no longer the need to be constrained by the feeling that I was constantly on the go and moving from city to city and from bedroom to bedroom. Instead, this was like living in my own flat, but with all the advantages of having the rooms cleaned and tidied. When I wanted to sleep late, I could. When I wanted to get up, my room was clean within the hour.

The rest of the hotel is spacious, complete with spa, gardens, disco, bar, restaurants and business centre. Best of all, when I returned the second time, the staff remembered my name and looked after me even better! So I recommended it to my business colleagues and 4 of us stayed the second time. Not one of us was disappointed. We all feel as if we are the most valued customers.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. Close enough to the centre to walk, near enough to local markets to browse and yet, far enough from the centre to have large green gardens and a pool.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mOuse123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We ate all our meals in the hotel (all room service except breakfast) in an effort try to avoid unsanitary food preparation…however, even that didn’t work.

When we informed the hotel that we had gotten sick from room service food the front desk did make arrangements for a doctor to come to the room and made a run to the drug store for the prescriptions. However, they charged us for everything…even the taxi rides. They didn’t even comp the meal that made us sick and didn’t once follow up to see how we were.

We ended up checking out of the hotel a day early (lost $ but we didn't care at that point) and the front desk didn’t even ask why we were leaving early or how our stay was.

Our driver (not arranged by the hotel) was running late so we needed to make a phone call to check his whereabouts. I asked the concierge desk (who were standing around doing nothing) to make the call; they refused and referred me to the front desk. The front desk then said they did not have phones and referred me back to the concierge desk or the business centre.

My wife went back to the concierge desk and they finally made a call for her. It was a struggle to get them to do even the smallest thing yet they were always there with their hands out wanting a tip. The whole process was yet another example of the extremely poor customer service.

We continuously made excuses for the hotel like “this is just 5 star standards in India” or “maybe it’s not that bad”…..but it was. The hotel is ridiculously overpriced for what you receive. We’ve visited dozens of other third-word countries and the Shangri-La in Delhi was the least economical and the poorest service we’ve experiences anywhere (you want Real customer service head further East!).

On the surface it is a pretty hotel…well decorated, the breakfast buffet was good, room was clean, bed was comfortable and at least there was hot water every day but again that is being very understanding….it’s advertised as a 5 start hotel at well over US$300+ a night...it should be.

Management might try to comment on this (although they haven’t bothered addressing anyone else’s negative reviews) and make some verbal apology and possibly even offer special treatment on our next visit. There will not be a next visit.

Do yourself a big favour and look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed at the Shangrila for two nights during a business trip to new delhi. A very plush hotel and i loved the breakfast spread. Service and hospitality was amazing and the room i stayed in was huge! Well done.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prateek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Had pleasure staying here.It was reasonably priced and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aby1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

4 of us stayed for 2 nights in the Shangri-La in Delhi. We found the hotel to be extremely over-priced. The Staff were incompetent , slow and the service was non-existent. Breakfast was a total rip-off. There is only one restaurant at the hotel and the waiters never seemed to get the orders right and yet still charged for incorrect orders. The service was very slow. The rooms were small and musty. We regretted being booked into the hotel for two nights. The only good thing about the hotel was it's location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sineadgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,932 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place and facing the Parliament, the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which can also be enjoyed from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. In addition, to this there are 4 more outlets scheduled to be opened soon. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Shangrila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing