We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a Date!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hungry Monkey

The Hungry Monkey
Ranked #887 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Hungry Monkey, the brainchild of 3 friends contributes to the capital's culinary skyline by redefining the smart casual dining experience - unserious, unexpected and unbound. Sprawled over three floors that overlook the magnificient view of the green oasis that is Deer Park, the Hungry Monkey is located in Safdarjang Enclave market, in the heart of South Delhi It is a space to interact with close friends, connect with the like minded, and humour your inner animal. Transition from laid back lunches to spirited evenings with a view or savour a stylish dinner and then unwind with some late night drinks and music.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
480 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great for a Date!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

THM is easy to find, being located in the heart of the Safdarjung Market. The ambience is great with soft lighting and vintage products strewn around. The service is impeccable. Our server always had a smile on his face, was attentive and quick. We had a lemon iced tea which was given with sugar syrup separately. This is absolutely the correct way to serve. As starter, we had a Bang Bang Chicken Roll which had a different smell but tasted fine. We then had a Casserole of Red Wine Braised Chicken which was finger-licking good. The most noteworthy item was the Coconut French Toast with Caramelized Pinapple. We ordered it feeling adventurous and it was simply brilliant. We intend to return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hungry Monk... D, Guest Relations Manager at The Hungry Monkey, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi prpa,

Thank you for visiting The Hungry Monkey. We are extremely glad that you had a great time and enjoyed what all THM has to offer. We would like you to know that we are launching a new menu very soon. We hope to see you again!

Have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If there is a heaven...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

South Delhi's newest restaurant/bar in Safdarjung is, well, amazeballs. Hungry Monkey is very trendy, service is great and the food is finger lickin' good! I've been there twice now, and nominees for best dish go to the Red Wine Casserole Chicken, the spinach Gomei salad, both the popcorn shrimp and calamari (i'm a sucker for seafood) and the Champagne Risotto. But the Palme D'or goes to (and yay for vegetarians) -- the Beetroot Tartare!! I devoured it in less than a minute (and secretly watched if people would disapprove of any plate- licking).
Kudos to this bunch of young restaurateurs who have started this place.
The terrace has a beautiful view of Delhi's deer park - so do have lunch upstairs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hungry Monk... D, Guest Relations Manager at The Hungry Monkey, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi Patnaik,

Thank you for visiting The Hungry Monkey. We are extremely glad that you had a great time and enjoyed what all THM has to offer. We would like you to know that we are launching a new menu very soon. We hope to see you again!

Have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Bet place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hungry monkey is definitely and by far the best place in town if you want to combine amazing food with a cozy and chilled out ambiance. Its two floors and beautiful terrace overlooking deer park, and the Latin American /Brazilian music vibes give more than just a restaurant feel to it, making it as much a great place for a lazy Sunday lunch as for a fun night out (once they get their liquor license, soon). The menu offers a variety from burgers to more high end cuisine, the service is friendly, and the curious and meticulous decor make it one of the only places in Delhi with real character. It is so great to finally have a nice place to go to outside of the hauz khas village clutter. The hungry monkey is a must-go for sure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoemieLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hungry Monk... D, Guest Relations Manager at The Hungry Monkey, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi NoemiLR,

Thank you for visiting The Hungry Monkey. We are extremely glad that you had a great time and enjoyed what all THM has to offer. We would like you to know that we are launching a new menu very soon. We hope to see you again!

Have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Monkey also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to The Hungry Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing