We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, dirty, and forgetful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Ranked #113 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Noisy, dirty, and forgetful”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Where to start? We expected more from a Radison,had we known, we would have stayed at the airport hotel. This hotel is in a very dirty, run down area but that is most places in India. What made it worse, was how incredibly noisy it was. People running up and down the hallways, yapping on their cell phones keeping everyone awake.

The internet was horrible, which is something I need at all times, the carpet in the hallways are vile and filthy. Luckily the rooms have no carpets - just disgusting. I was scared of the beds but didn't want to think about what might be hiding in them.

The sidewalk to enter the hotel is almost non-existant. All broken and wet - not sure what the wetness was that we trod through.

We asked for a radio taxi in the morning, after a horrible night's sleep. I think the guy working there, called his friend. It was not a taxi cab at all - some old ratty van. We were told 500-600 Rupees. Half way there they guys tries to shake us down for more money.

We didn't have much choice but to shut our mouthes because we needed the ride but at the airport, we gave him the agreed upon amount. Also, the water in the morning was freezing cold. Very disappointed in this hotel.

if you have to take early morning flight - or be there 2 hours as we did, don't expect breakfast because the restaurant only opens at 7:00 a.m.

Room Tip: We asked for far from elevators but we had people slamming doors all night, walking up and down yakk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelorojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    366
    218
    88
    98
See reviews for
126
209
107
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel which Ive been told has recently been converted into a radisson. I guess thats the reason why it doesnt match up to all standards of the brand. The rooms are nice, restaurant & bar are good as well, but the other things dont add up to the price charged. The lobby has this weird smell which is quite repulsive. The wi-fi which is free was not working most of the times and the quality of staff isnt that great either. A strict dislike to the hotel travel desk - incompetent staff, over priced and very cheeky. But as a blessing in disguise there's an amazing travel company located inside the hotel just behind the terrible travel desk belonging to the hotel. The travel desk staff tries to lure you away from entering the office because the prices offered by this company are way lower than the exorbitant travel desk. Also, i had no complaints with the service. They booked a day trip to agra for us which was simply amazing. They provided us a good car with a very safe driver. I hope the hotel management makes a more conscious effort in informing its guests about this travel company which offers much more than the sloppy travel desk.
Other than that, stay at this hotel is you r looking for a 3 star hotel located centrally.
Si i guess you could stay at this hotel, but

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Connaught Place is a good location in New Delhi. 50 meters to the metro station. Lots of people at all hours, so it seemed safe. The outside is like most of the buildings around CP -- 3 stories high, English colonial style with white columns. Lots of lethargic construction around CP so don't fall into a hole. The hotel might be difficult to find on your own, so use a taxi from the airport (or arrange a pickup for $30).

Room was recently renovated, had a king sized bed, very usable work desk, marble floors, excellent bathroom. Air conditioning was probably turned off in December, temp was 22C. When I turned off the fan, the temp went down to 20C, better for sleeping. My room faced to the inside of the block, and so was very quiet. Only the occasional door slammed. Probably a room facing the street would be noisier, given the Indian propensity to honk horns. They provided a large bottle of water, essential for foreigners to brush their teeth with, and gave additional bottles when asked. Cute electronic enunciator and intercom that enables you to say Do Not Disturb, or Make Up Room.

Security was good. There was a doorman/security guard outside the main door at all times. Like most places in Delhi, they x-ray bags. You go up one floor to reception which was very efficient. The room had electronic key card lock, an inside lock, plus a chain. The room had a large electronic safe that was big enough for a laptop bag.

The staff was so friendly I thought I was on a cruise ship. All the staff said good day to each guest. Almost all staff was male. There is a travel agency next to the reception desk. They quickly arranged an afternoon tour of old Delhi for me with no notice; I got a driver plus a guide for about $35. This included a 1 hour rickshaw ride around the spice market, plus the Red Fort. Well worth it.

Free wireless internet that was easy to connect to and was relatively fast. Not so good if you have more than one device; I used Connectify to share the connection.

Restaurant was good, offered a mixture of Indian and Western food. Relatively expensive compared with hotels in Agra and Jaipur. Room service was fast and efficient. Mini bar and tea/coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 5 nights here in December 2011. The location is central but it's also in what looks like a war zone. Lots of rubble, dust, homeless kids, pools of urine, beggars and stray dogs...but that describes most of New Delhi. The room was OK but the heat did not work properly. The carpets in the hallway are gross, but that describes most carpets in India. The lobby is not a comfortable space, so don't plan on using it for meetings or as a social space. I could only get the wireless internet to work in the lobby - and it only just worked well enough for emails. There are two free computers in the business center but only one worked well enough to send a few emails. Personally, we thought that if we spent this much money in India on a hotel, it would be a solid experience with outstanding service. This was not the case - and was never the case in any hotel we stayed at in India. After spending 4 weeks in India, this hotel is really very good, however by typical US standards it is far below average for it's class. Beware that the all male cleaning/housekeeping staff is weird (again, typical of India). I found them to be smelly and they starred at us too much. One night they came into our room while we were sleeping and it was difficult to get them to leave. It was about 9:30 and we were already in bed with the lights off. They kept asking to do a "turn down service". In hindsight it was rather comical however my wife noted that she would have freaked out if she was solo. On a good note, the breakfast was by far the best we had in India, they had washcloths in the bathroom, and there was a functional gym for a decent workout.

Room Tip: Some rooms are really far from the lobby, but they are also the quiet rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel claims to be 5 star, however they are very far from that. Everything from our door being left open by a member of staff to the air conditioning in the rooms being set at a fixed temperature that cannot be adjusted to unreliable and conflicting information from staff at the desk.

The area around the hotel is full of con men who pretend to be passers-by while trying to convince you to visit their emporium or bazar rather than the local stores around the corner.

I would rate this property as 3 star at best.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elskiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Ahmedabad
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I visited this hotel on 15th December. The hotel is located centrally in the heart of city. The entrance of the Hotel does not give true picture about the size of the hotel. It has very well furnished rooms and the ambiance is also very good.
There was a bit of rush at the time of check in so it took some time, but the well furnished rooms made the wait worth it.It has an attached restaurant where they serve very good kebabs. Didnt have much variety in the main course and they served just one vegetable.
But the quality of kebabs and deserts was awesome. The served complimentary break fast. There was good variety and I had it to my hearts content before I left the place on 16th December in the morning. The check out process was handled very well, staff was courteous and prompt in service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhijitsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel. We were a bit apprehensive when we saw the outside (looked a bit dodgy even!) but once we entered the main area we were at peace. Sleek modern architecture/aesthetics on the inside and the staff are fantabulous! They go out of their way to ensure your demands/requests are met. My only concern with the rooms were the fact that the paper coasters in the bathroom were very old and the tea cups in the rooms were dusty ( we noticed the dust because of the white porcelain. Given that the hotel is in the middle of the city, amidst a lot of dust, the cleaning ladies should really clean the cups on a daily basis, even if they are unused).

Other than that, everything was great including the location (easy walk to most shopping places). The kebab factory was a good spot for a late meal (late arrival) as they take orders till 11 p.m.

Room Tip: given that the hotel is in the centre of it all, it can get noisy not sure if there are "ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#63 of 716 in New Delhi
2,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#34 of 716 in New Delhi
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#108 of 716 in New Delhi
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#111 of 716 in New Delhi
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 716 in New Delhi
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place

Property: Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Address: Connaught Circus Radial 3'rd Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#53 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#108 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in New Delhi's central business district, the Radisson Delhi Connaught Place is Delhi's first heritage, boutique, city center hotel. Only 150 metres from the Airport Express Line Metro Station and 10 minutes from New Delhi Railway Station, our 5 star hotel is near renowned shopping and attractions. Offering a level of comfort not found at other New Delhi hotels, the Radisson features on-site dining outlets, a Business Centre and a Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Delhi
Marina Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Marina New Delhi
Hotel Marina Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing