We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Asian Guest House

Asian Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asian Guest House
Ranked #497 of 1,095 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

If you are not finicky about cleanliness and perfect fittings and are looking for a cheap (Rs. 850) place to stay in New Delhi, Asian Guest House may be OK. Its advantages are great central location, stone's throw from Connaught Place, Tibetan Market, Palika Bazaar, State Emporia, several restaurants and Rajiv Chowk Metro Station. Hence excellent for shopping, eating and finding quick transport. Also, safe location. You won't get breakfast till 9AM. Some of the staff are real slow but generally friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Having stayed at the Asian Guest House with my family over the previous 20 yrs, have seen it develop, it still continues to improve currently now has AC facilities.

It's charm is in the frendly helpful atmosphere of the manager and his staff always willing to assist there guests in whatever way they can. The honesty of the staff is a real plus, leaving other more expensive retreats lagging behind.

Cost wise it is excellent value for money, safe to leave belongings in room or to leave in Hotel Store room to collect later. Tea/Coffee can be obtained from the hotel during the day.

Guest house Manager has a liking for "good Scottish Malt Whisky" I normally take a bottle of two for him (manager) will deduct this from your room bill (keep the receiept to show him)

The Hotel is on the 3rd floor (lift) close to Jan Path/ Connaught Circus.
If you want clean sheets just ask, when you arrive, if you want the room/bathroom cleaned just ask nothing is too much/ if you want cold beer the staff will go get it for you -- and ifyou get on well with Manager he might ask you if you would liketo join him with his drinking buddies (professional Indian Businessmen/ Dentists/ Doctors/ Estate Agents) in one of the rooms during the evening hours.

Asian Guest House a remarkable place, wonderful experience, a pleasure to visit, great value for money - oh and the small panelled room at the front is the best if you can get hold of it.

Finally if you are hard up and "honest" you could always ask to pay on your next visit to India, it's about respect and trust -- don't abuse it or everyone loses

Thanks
Peter Sharma
Unison Convenor Edinburgh College (Scotland)

Room Tip: The Panelled room to the front is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Comfortable stay in budget accommodation. It is located at Central Delhi. Very convenient for both business and pleasure trip. Short walk to Metro Station. A numbers of restaurants and shopping areas around.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nityananda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Though the staff was very good, the rooms are like jail. They are very small and with old flimsy bed, built in wall unit, one old Tv set and nothing. It is centrally located at connaught place. but what's the use when inside stay is not comfortable and value for money i.e about Rs800 per day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RAHUL7916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhijeet G, Manager at Asian Guest House, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Mr.Hiride,

We don't understand how we try to cheat you..?..if slums rooms are better then why you decide to stay with us ?

Please let us know when you stayed with us ? we don`t have your name in our customer list.

Regards,
Abhijeet Gopal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Kerala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Very dirty hotel with fishy smelling rooms. door not properly locked. Very dirty bathroom, even a room in the slum will have good qualities than than this hotel. INR 1100 was charged for this small dirty fishy smelling room. Terrible and Horrible experience. The reception have closed circuit television so that they can get ready to cheat you by the time you come from the entrance to the reception. Thank You

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I stayed at the Asian Guest House in Delhi for all of January, February, and March, 2009. It remains a fine guest house - this is my third year staying in the AGH. It is even upgraded some since my first stay three years ago. I cannot emphasize enough how pleased the other guests were with their stay there. I heard nobody voice any complaints. I was there for three months; and, therefore, I believe I have some understanding of how the other guests regard the AGH. I am not paid anything or urged to write anything about the AGH; they are very professional, friendly, and honest. I am already booked for next year. It is truly a great find. Please write me for more information about the AGH, Delhi, and India. cowboymi@comcast.net This is a guest house; it is not a 5* hotel. However, the folks who operate and own it give you way more attention than you ever would get at a 5* hotel - or at least any of which I am acquainted. (Actually, I have only stayed in a couple 5* hotels.)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowboymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

The Asian Guest House is a very dirty and unsafe hotel!! The manager (with the broken glasses) is very unfriendly, and even after I sprained my foot because of broken tiles on the narrow and dark staircase, I didn't even get an apology. The room smelled, was dark and dank; the air conditioner did not work; the bed sheets were too small for the bed; there were no blankets; and the pillows were hard, like wooden boards. The elevator was also broken, so had to walk down four flights of stairs to get to the street. We were planning on staying a week there, but only ended up staying one night! We were so glad to get out of there. I would never recommend this place to anyone. I think I'd rather sleep in a subway!!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jessiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhijeet G, Manager at Asian Guest House, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
What is your real name and when you stayed with us?

Well let us know what happen exactly first.?

Regards,
Abhijeet Gopal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Palace Heights
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
2,956 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,836 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#30 of 715 in New Delhi
715 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Guest House

Property: Asian Guest House
Address: 14 Scindia House 2nd Floor Kasturba Gandhi Marg | Kasturba Gandhi Marg, Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,095 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian Guest House has been offering clean comfortable hotel / guesthouse room accommodation with a friendly and homely atmosphere to the budget conscious tourists, company and business travellers for over three decades. All rooms have attached bathrooms with hot & cold water supply. Airconditioned rooms have window fitted airconditioners and for winters there is heat convector. It is children friendly. There is exclusive elevator from ground floor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing