We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest and fair is nature of the game...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Godwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Godwin Hotel
Ranked #52 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honest and fair is nature of the game...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

In a fair and honest review I was happy at this hotel and it provided a comfortable stay for 2 nights. A bonus is the 24 hour food service when arriving on a late flight, it is clean and well kept. Which I can't say for Delhi city itself!!! The rooms are of a good size with great internet access, TV and a great shower. I recommend treating yourself to a brownie and coffee from the coffee shop as a nice treat after walking round Delhi all day.... Or before perhaps to prepare yourself for it!!

Housekeeping staff seem to knock at 11pm and 7am to restock a mini bar... And for sown thing I didn't care for as they were promptly ignored. Most surprising they still knock when the "Do not disturb" light is lit and very clearly inappropriate times to knock...!

The bell boy is kind, honest and helpful with bags or directions, The restaurant server is also efficient and likes to recommend accompanying dishes which go well. Managers are sometimes slightly off point when dealing with reception, phones and in restaurant but their staff more than make up for if.

I ate morning and evening meals in hotel as I couldn't face more of Delhi city the 2 days I was there! I recommend traveling by metro where possible (it isn't as dangerous as people make out if you avoid rush hour!) , the metro is cheap and you know you are going to get where you want. Just make sure you download the most recent system map as they don't seem to keep a stock at the stations. Avoid tuk tuk and rickshaw drivers like a plaque.. I didn't get a single honest one and truly ruined some amazing experiences. Hotel will book a taxi if asked which I'd advise if you don't want to deal with the inane drivers!

Enjoy Delhi! Make it a pit stop city and not a vacation city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLondon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    428
    147
    66
    66
See reviews for
141
387
160
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The check in was the only hiccup we faced in the Grand Godwin, the reception guy was terribly rude and took almost 30 mnts just to allocate us 2 rooms! As it was almost 10 in the night by the time we reached we were really annoyed by the delay. The lobby boy was very helpful and courteous and we thought he should be put behind the counter and not the person wearing the suit!! But once we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the room, very neat & clean and well done. The house keeping was very good too. Little disappointed with the Restaurant Guy though who kept wishing the "Firangs" good morning but chose to keep mum with us maybe coz of the color! But our complaints were addressed to and we were assured that it would be taken care off. Over all, we were happy with our stay and would not mind checking in there on our next visit. The hotel is really well maintened. By the way, the hotel is very centrally located and it is very very easy to get any mode of transport as soon as we step out of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakhee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a guest at our hotel and sparing your feedback in this review.We sincerely regret your disappointment with the late check in procedure , but some times the final preparation of the room can take a little bit more time as we want to give the room in proper condition to the guests.
as far as your concern regarding the greetings of the guest , please be noted that we treat all the guest with the same level of respect and affection.
we are glad that you liked the hotel and the central location of the hotel impressed you.

looking forward for your next visit.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

They are thiefs.
I dint even touch any chips.
But they included in my bill.
I dont know but they should do somthing about it.

And moreover i stayed in room number 001 and the roof was leaking.
Water was on my bed.
When i complained they told it will go away.
But nothing happend.

When i was about to check in the room was not clean.

The hotel and staff sucks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigarbahety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all We are very sorry to have caused you discomfort during your stay with us. Dear Sir as far as the billing is concerned regarding the chips , the bell boy showed you the chips box which was open and half the box was empty. so that is the reason we charged you.

regards

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Room is only fair - I paid top price to my travel agent, but was put in a room without any windows. Staff at desk seemed constantly angry, and the rest of the staff seemed to be depressed and bullied. I would not stay there again...

Room Tip: Don't accept a room without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paxMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely apologetic for the inconvenience caused.The team has discussed the issues highlighted by you.

allow us one more opportunity to change your complete perception.

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

it was good stay with out any disturbances as it close to railway station, but there should be more facilities provided like spa or massages , as mostly travelers are coming for a short stay at that location and coming with a long journey possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments on Tripadvisor is very motivating. Thank you immensely for being so kind and taking time out to write the review. your suggestion has been noted.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel! My room was very nice, clean, modern and the bed was comfortable. Overall no complaints with anything during my two day stay here! The food/drinks available at the restaurant (and in the rooms) is very reasonably priced, although the service wasn't always the best. The driver provided for me from the airport was on time and even was nice enough to point out landmarks that we passed on the way to the hotel. This was the best place I stayed during the month I was in India and I would stay here again without any hesitation if I ever find myself in Delhi in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ksjayhawker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback with us. Your comments on Trip advisor is very motivating. Feedback like this that makes us as a team aim higher.
The team has looked into the concern highlighted by you regarding the service.

Regards

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrawonga, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are back at hotel Godwin for our second stay. When we first arrived into Delhi our airport pick up was seamless.

Guests need to be aware that cheaper rooms do not contain windows. Don't let this turn you off. Rooms are clean shower is nice.. Aircons work. Hot water is hot.

Has an excellent coffee shop down stairs which is nice to relax in when coming to India for the first time.

The downside to Godwin for us has been the restaurant service.. We on average are are waiting 40+ minutes for meals when restaurant in mostly empty.

One guy seems to be running the show and appears to disappear.. Weird we want to spend money to buy a beer. But cannot get one quickly!

Other downside of is buffet ends at 10

We found ourself missing it a couple of times which we wouldn't have if it was 10:30-11:00

Overall would recommend Godwin

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and your appreciation, it was our pleasure that you stayed with us twice. happy to know that your airport pickup was seamless.thank you very much for liking our coffee shop a lot.

Dear guest at the time of check in we inform the guest about the breakfast timing.
as far as your complain regarding the restaurant service we have take a note of it and i can assure you the best service in your next visit.

regards

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#70 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Godwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Godwin Hotel

Property: Grand Godwin Hotel
Address: Arakshan Road, Near Sanjeevan Hospital | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#59 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#68 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Godwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Godwin, a 4-story luxury & budget hotel is nestled in the heart of Paharganj New Delhi India and 2 mins walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. The hotel offers excellent leisure facilities, online reservation, luxurious rooms, travel inn hotel, heritage hotel india, cheap travel packages, travel to India's heritage places, guest house, deluxe rooms for conference events, Bed and breakfast, food bars, Tours guides to Agra, Jaipur, shimla, first class facilities rooms with internet, cabs, shopping malls, high standards of comfort and excellent rooms for business & leisure travellers for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Godwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Godwin
Godwin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing