We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a good location”
Review of Grand Godwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Godwin Hotel
Ranked #39 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Grand Godwin at the beginning and end of a three week trip to India. We were really impressed with the hotel it was well located, the rooms were a good size and clean and the breakfast served at the roof top restaurant was particulary good. The hotel is a 10/15 min walk from the main bazar or a 20 rupee cycle rickshaw ride and a 10 mins walk from the train station, an auto rickshaw ride to Connaught Place is approx 50 rupees. We used the hotel taxi service to collect us and take us back to the airport and we found the staff really helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesneily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2009

Very clean hotel room I found in New Delhi with Fare price. The staffs of the hotel, specially the front office are very helpful. All kinds of Delicious Indian foods are available. We had wonderful friendly service. My room is only US$45 per night with break first. Hot water is available. A/C and big TV worked my room. Secure airport transfers and sight visit tour arranged by the hotel. Only the thing is surrounding of the hotel is too crowded during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirajmorugama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

This place is a clean, friendly oasis from the teeming madness outside. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms and linens very clean. A 'super deluxe' was 2500Rs per night and I had a big room with tiled floor, TV, coffee making stuff and an ensuite. It was a bit noisy outside, but it did quieten down a bit at bed time, but this wasn't a huge problem once the ear plugs were in place... The breakfast buffet on the roof terrace was fine although I didn't sample the evening cuisine which was available. There was an internet connection available on the ground floor, a travel desk who organised a taxi for me at a reasonable cost and an exchange desk. The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Connaught Circus along a straight road under the flyover that carries DB Gupta Road and is also round the corner from the Main Bazaar with internet cafes, small shops and cheaper hotels and guest houses.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buntythemollymawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

I booked this hotel on recommendations from other reviews. I am a bit surprised at the reviews that give a 3 to 5 star rating. I have traveled extensively and can say that this hotel does not deserve anything more than a 2. Stayed 3 nights and the biggest problem was the cleanliness of the room and in particular the linens. I read in previous reviews of others stating the same. The bedding on both beds had many stains and soiled areas and seems to have not been washed; bathroom was also less than adequately clean. I had a room on the back side of the hotel only to be kept up all night by barking dogs; they moved us the following day to a room that had no window. Another concern (as also in other reviews) was the fact that upon check-out I also experience the front desk asking for more money although this room was prepaid including taxes. I firmly stated I would not pay and they backed off. Location is desirable for good access to Delhi train station.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tvlkev124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondpeterta, General Manager. at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2009

Dear Guest,

We apologize for all the inconvenience faced by you while your stay in the Hotel.

The rooms on the back side must have been noisier than other rooms but as you have mentioned that next day you were shift to another room which did not have any window, that makes one thing very clear that the necessary measures were taken to give you more comfort and room without window must have been given to you only after getting your consent in regard to the noise that disturbed you the first night should not give you another sleepless night.

As for the cleanliness of the bed sheets & bathroom is concerned, we do not allow any of our housekeeping staff to enter any foreigner’s room without the prior permission or unless the room cleaning card is hung on the door handle. Otherwise the linen of every room is changed on daily basis or more frequently on special request from any guest.

We request you to send us your room number, your name as entered in our guest registration records, your check in and check out date & time so that we can scrutinize the same with our records as we have 24 hours live recording of Front Office that can help us in verifying the extra money charging case as mentioned in the review and take necessary action to eradicate such practice if happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed three times at this hotel in October/November 2008 using Delhi as our hub to explore northern India. The hotel's airport transfer is expensive, much better to use the pre-paid taxi stand at the airport (you learn this after the first time).The noisy /dirty side street location of the hotel is a bit off putting, but inside it is clean and comfortable and efficiently run. Do not confuse this hotel with the Godwin Hotel next door which is truly awful but run surprisingly by the same owners. We were informed that it is due to be demolished and rebult in 2009. The rooftop restaurant of the Grand Godwin is clean , nice staff and the food good. The included buffet style breakfast was very good. Rooms are well furnished , hot water and aircon all worked as did the cable TV (some rooms have wide screen).
There is free wireless internet in the hotel lobby or you can use the hotel computers for a small charge. Best of all, it is a 50 rupee auto-rickshaw ride (5-10 mins depending on time of day) to the New Delhi train station and not too far from Connaught Place.The hotel gets booked out so best to book ahead if you can.
All in all a good place to stay and fair value by Delhi standards.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondpeterta, General Manager. at Grand Godwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment posted in trip advisor.

On contrary to the airport pick up matter which is mentioned as an expensive service we would not only like to make aware of the fact that though the airport pre-paid taxi charge is less expensive than the Hotel charges because there is no parking charges levied on them & there is an extra entry fee into the waiting hall where the hotel representative waits for the guests so that the tired guests do not face any sort of inconvenience or hassel at the pre-paid taxi counter and to top it all the pre-paid taxi drivers can at times be bit difficult to handle as they are very persistent in taking the passengers to a different hotel in another area in greed of heavy commission which actually is driven out from the customers pocket. Therefore, a little extra money can be considered against a safe & easy way of arranging an airport pick up through the Hotel.

We totally agree that one should not get confused between Hotel Grand Godwin and Hotel Godwin Deluxe as there is a difference between the two and upon which the management is going to take an appropriate measure soon to see that all our valued guests get the best of their expectations.

Thank You
Raymond Peter
General Manager
Hotel Grand Godwin
New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We arrived at 3 am and after battling with a pre-paid taxi driver who suddenly couldn't find the hotel arrived with the [--]. They had us sorted and in our room. We didn't much like it so next day requested to change and did so to a front street facing room which was fantastic. The breaky was great and hearty and the restaurant even served pretty good dishes for lunch. The location is the only issue. If your female expect heaps of hassles and expect heaps of poverty. My partner was never comfortable walking the streets at night and so we only travelled by autorickshaw. If I went again I wouldn't stay in Old Delhi... and that's coming from someone who always likes to stay in the guts of things.

They organised us a driver for a day at a reasonable rate. Expect to tip at this hotel. Many hotels have communal tipping jars which is better.. pain in the ** to have to constantly stick your hand in your pocket and to have to scrounge for small notes with this in mind.

It was a lovely hotel and clean.. very clean. I still would recommend it though. Pretty good value for $.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Reserving mid-range to budget hotels is rough in India, but we managed to book through laborious direct email process (bring print out to prove payment, you're likely to need it). Aside from normal odd Indian stuff, this relatively bargain hotel is fine. Delhi is a shocking, dirty din at first, so this hotel was a nice safe haven for us. The rooms were clean, bathroom okay (Indian budget bathrooms you take your chances), nice people working there, and a good spiral staircase is I think where the "Grand" part comes in...anyway, we stayed a second time when we passed through Delhi again for a night, so there you go. Indian breakfast buffets not my favorite thing, but this one was as good as any we've had so far. Hotel Grand Godwin isn't a place you'd stay too long, but just fine for arrival and regrouping a couple of days, or a stopover. We aren't the youthful backpacker types and we did well enough here. It won't do if your the oBeroi/Taj kind of traveler, but otherwise, go ahead and stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gratonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#47 of 736 in New Delhi
913 reviews
Wood Castle
#29 of 736 in New Delhi
1,143 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#58 of 736 in New Delhi
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#21 of 736 in New Delhi
785 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 736 in New Delhi
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Godwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Godwin Hotel

Address: Arakshan Road, Near Sanjeevan Hospital | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#68 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Godwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Godwin, a 4-story luxury & budget hotel is nestled in the heart of Paharganj New Delhi India and 2 mins walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. The hotel offers excellent leisure facilities, online reservation, luxurious rooms, travel inn hotel, heritage hotel india, cheap travel packages, travel to India's heritage places, guest house, deluxe rooms for conference events, Bed and breakfast, food bars, Tours guides to Agra, Jaipur, shimla, first class facilities rooms with internet, cabs, shopping malls, high standards of comfort and excellent rooms for business & leisure travellers for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Godwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Godwin
Godwin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing