We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning saga”
Review of Hotel Rupam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rupam
Ranked #135 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Rupam for 2 days and on our final night before departing, contracted food poisoning.

I am writing this review because (and I will say this is a cautious way to avoid slander accusations) that "it is highly likely that I became unwell from the food that I consumed from the Rupam hotel restaurant", as this was the only food I had eaten all day. My husband was also sick, although fortunately not to the same level. Following consumption of the paneer tikka and masala papad, we started to feel unwell within 10 minutes. This later developed into severe diarrhoea, vomiting and muscle pain and resulted in a hospital admission. (The hotel staff were not able to organise a doctor to come to the hotel, despite our request).

It is unacceptable that a guest of a 3-4 star hotel in India should experience food poisoning. Perhaps one would expect it to be likely if we were consuming street food but we expect to be safe when in a hotel.

I contacted the Rupam hotel manager by email to inform him about our experience at the hotel and to make sure the ingredients that were used in making our meals were thrown away to stop other guests becoming unwell. I did not receive a reply to my email which I believe demonstrates a gross disregard for guest well-being and food safety matters.

Clearly, I would warn other potential travellers of the possible risk of staying in the Rupam hotel and recommend that you make other travel arrangements to avoid having the same horrible experience as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chb1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, we really apologize about the incident happened and wishes you a good health. Regarding your complaint, we would like to explain that the food you have consumed in our hotel is well prepared with highest hygienic standards and after investigations we have found that few other guests had consumed the same dish from our kitchen and they have enjoyed their meal without any type of complaint. One of the guest is still staying in our hotel since then. The problem may be you must be allergic to any particular indian spice or any other ingredient.
You have asked for the doctor at around 2 A.M. and our manager asked you to go with a cab ready for you to take you to the hospital, but you were not ready to go with him, instead you have asked for some ginger or hot water or tea, but you were not ready to go to the hospital.
Also, in your review you have mentioned that you have eaten only Paneer Tikka & Masala Papad through out the day, it is also not acceptable that you have not eaten or drink any other thing the whole day. Also we have not received any mail before or after this review, as mentioned in your review. So, we request you, not to blame the hotel , if you are not sure about it.
Anyway, we wish you for a good health in future... take care...
Thanks
Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

well located, very clean and neat and decent service. and the owner Manek- very friendly and courteous dude. His personal attention is what makes the place even better. stayed once and hope tos tay there always. decent breakfast

Room Tip: higher floors always better - keeps you away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pktiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay during your visit to New Delhi and would appreciate your views and making sure to maintain our Standard of Service in coming Future. Keep Coming.......... Regards Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Rupam is perfect fit. In particular for those who are looking for value fir money. Though located in busy area, hotel has maintained cleanliness and tidiness. The availability of space is constraint but hotel staff sincerely tries to manage the things in available resources.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RMandlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay during your visit to New Delhi and would appreciate your views and making sure to maintain our Standard of Service in coming Future. Keep Coming.......... Regards Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Must stay at this hotel if you are in delhi for a business visit and you must think about being reasonable.. Few things worth mentioning which exceeded expectations :
1. Privacy
2. quality of service
3. Quality of food - the butter chicken, tandoori chicken and pan shake is die for
4. Staff courtesy - service in the hotel is
All together, this is a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rahul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay during your visit to New Delhi and would appreciate your views and making sure to maintain our Standard of Service in coming Future. Keep Coming.......... Regards Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Neat & clean atmosphere, polite staff, good food quality and pleasant stay seen during our business trip. on right time car has pick up ourselves with proper intimation and flag card with driver. Good hospitality of staff, room boys, and reasonable rates which freshen up our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanjayskale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay during your visit to New Delhi and would appreciate your views and making sure to maintain our Standard of Service in coming Future. Keep Coming.......... Regards Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It is very good hotel for couples to stay. We really enjoyed our stay in Rupam hotel. This hotel is located at nice place away from crowded area. Staffs here were very co-operative. As we have to leave early in the morning by 6:30 AM, they arranged breakfast for us by 6:00 AM, even before their restaurant opens at 7:30 AM. We really appreciate that !!! Also they made good arrangement for AC Innova with driver for one day Delhi trip. We enjoyed that too. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you so much !!!. We will surely choose Rupam hotel next time, if we are visiting Delhi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rooban123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay during your visit to New Delhi and would appreciate your views and making sure to maintain our Standard of Service in coming Future. Keep Coming.......... Regards Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My trip to the Delhi was a business trip.. budget ones... i was so skeptical about the trip.since last time i went to Delhi i was duped for sure..

As far as Hotel Rupam goes.. although the check in time was 12 noon, i reached Delhi at 7.30 in morning.. once at hotel i was given a temporary room to freshen up and by 12.00 i was moved to the original room that was promised...

Excellent services, Excellent room, hot water as promised, Friendly and supportive staff.. the rooms are same as what have been shown in the images..

Close to metro---checked
friendly staff--- checked
services to suite business/family/solo---checked
electric equipments---checked
cleanliness---checked

Room Tip: Since karol baug is a bit of congested area.. do not expect any sun facing widows.. Hotel Rupam has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nvispute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak2012, General Manager at Hotel Rupam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay during your visit to New Delhi and would appreciate your views and making sure to maintain our Standard of Service in coming Future. Keep Coming.......... Regards Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Biden Pura
Hotel Rupam Kingston Park
Hotel Rupam Kingston Park
#123 of 777 in New Delhi
14 reviews
Hotel White House
#98 of 777 in New Delhi
161 reviews
Hotel Pawan Plaza
#85 of 777 in New Delhi
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#72 of 777 in New Delhi
325 reviews
Hotel SunStar Grand
#54 of 777 in New Delhi
773 reviews
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#46 of 777 in New Delhi
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rupam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rupam

Address: 9A/35, W.E.A., Channa market, Karol bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £24 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rupam 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupam Hotel is a perfect incarnation of all qualities identical with the best. Standing apart in extraordinary services and its facilities, we have a category of spacious Deluxe and Executives rooms blend with ultra-modern facilities and personalized gracious amenity. In terms of decor, rooms would suit to discerning business guests as well as to leisure travelers. The accommodation at the hotel is centrally air conditioned and wi-fi enabled. All rooms are fully equipped with all modern amenities which include, attached bathrooms, king or queen size bed, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, LCD TV, 24 hr hot/ cold running water. Well clean rooms are available with 24 hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rupam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing