We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb New Delhi Guesthouse”
Review of Maya's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya's Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Superb New Delhi Guesthouse”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Following my lucky discovery of Maya’s Nest a year ago, I decided to spend my week in Delhi there in March 2014.

My decision was rewarded with an equally comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whilst there, I observed more closely the interaction between the owners (Maya and Asha) and guests from India, Germany, USA, UK, and Australia. This friendly and energetic team provide much more than bed and breakfast (and optional authentic Indian dinners, for a very modest price). For example, they discreetly bond with their multinational guests and also offer practical advice and a travel booking service for those who find the Indian system complicated.

Retiring to Maya’s Nest after a tiring day touring Delhi, or arriving at any hour of the day or night after a flight, is very comforting. So if you are looking for comfort, peace and a very economical temporary home in Delhi, or an overnight rest before a flight, try this superb Guesthouse.

P.S.
At dinner in the Nest, and in the TV lounge, my fellow guests were full of praise for Maya’s Nest, but I wonder how many of them will find time in their busy lives to express their appreciation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    57
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
44
62
110
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

From booking a room here, I felt good about the place. Asha immediately let me know she could arrange a taxi from Delhi station - I was travelling alone - and she did.
the flat is in a quiet part of town - about 30 mins by taxi late at night from New Delhi station - and very pleasant. It is up quite a few stairs, but taxi man carried case which was good.
Clean to the best UK standards, and I had a very nice room with en suite shower. Breakfast very good, and I could have asked in advance for an evening meal. The home made soup I had because I hadn't done this was delicious.
Asha and her daughter very friendly and informative. Good place to stay if you enjoy company - theirs and the other guests.
Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place should be called Maya's Dungeon. You are made to eat whatever they make for breakfast and if you don't, you get loads of attitude. The toilet shower is a sham. The toiletries kept are all used and you are expected to use them. The owner is not a true Indian as she discriminates between an Indian and a foreigner. Maybe because we Indians speak our minds. If you want a lecture early morning on how to lead your life then this is the place to be. No etiquette on treating a customer. No politeness. No choice given / even asked what you would like to eat. No manners in dealing with a guests. Being been an avid traveller this is the worst experience I have had so far.
Please do search for better places but dont stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sangrish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed with Asha and Maya at the beginning and end of my travels in India and on both occasions they were very welcoming and created a lovely comfortable space to rest in what can be a city that can be pretty frantic. The ladies were friendly and it was nice swapping a few story with some travellers over breakfast. I hope to stay sometime again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleB142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed in Delhi for 2 nights with Asha and her daughter Maya in February 2014. Before I arrived Asaha had arranged onward train travel for me which made it so much easier. I loved chatting to both of them over endless chai and Asha is a wealth of information about Delhi and India in general. The homestay is situated about 20 minutes to the centre via Metro which is easily reached by auto rickshaw. There is a huge modern shopping complex 10 minutes walk away if you wish to shop for all the brands and also restaurants/cafes etc.
After the madness of Central Delhi on day one Asha and Maya took me on a wonderful excursion to a local market where I bought 2 beautiful woollen shawls...250 rupees each....Maya's artwork is hanging everywhere and hopefully she will try some abstract as well.....I met other like minded travellers who were after the local experience and we had a fabulous time........this is a true home stay and although the space is not large there is ample room for everyone to enjoy - and the experience will leave you feeling enriched........Asha and Maya....you are the 'Jewels of Delhi'

Room Tip: All the rooms I looked at were very clean and good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Clean enviroment,good service and the best Asha and Maya.
You will get good travel and restrant advicement here too.
Maya makes wonderful breakfest and milk tea.
All of this make you feel like your home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed with Asha and her daughter Maya for just under in week in early January 2014 and I had the best time. Not only did I get to know the wonderful pair the run it but I got to meet new people everyday. It is a very comfortable place to stay and is away for the hussle and bussle that Delhi is known for. Asha is one of the most helpful people you will ever meet and has an encyclopaedic knowledge of all things Delhi. If you tell her where you want to go she will tell you exactly how to get there and where you can stop for lunch. She was also super generous and helped me out by booking all my train tickets.

It's located in a really quite, almost suburban area, so there are no restaurants but there are three very large malls a five minutes walk away with pretty descent food courts and some American chain restaurants or you can order food to the house.

I am 19 year old girl traveling alone and it was such a nice place to stay for as it is far away from learing men.

I seriously enjoyed staying here and I am already planning to come back and see my new Indian family!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
286 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mahipal Pur
The Grand New Delhi
The Grand New Delhi
#65 of 715 in New Delhi
1,136 reviews
Jugaad Hostels
#1 of 941 in New Delhi
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya's Nest

Property: Maya's Nest
Address: C-2, Flat 2038 | Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 941 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Maya's Nest 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya's Nest - Home stay style Bed & Breakfast - away from the madness of Delhi - is in a peaceful setting - a quiet haven of seclusion and rest - yet within walking distance of restaurants and shops to meet your every need. The most famous shoppers delight housed in the three Malls is a seven minutes walk away. Conveniently located, the guest house is in close proximity to Delhi's several most revered tourist attractions like the Qutab Minar and others, yet close to both the International and Domestic airports on one side and the sprawling city on the other. All rooms are air conditioned and very well ventilated, simple and immaculately clean, with all basic amenities, beyond-basic style serving complimentary tea/coffee and safe drinking water along with breakfast. WIFI is available round the clock free of charge.Yoga classes on the house along with an Indian cooking demonstration for those wanting more! So come to start the most adventurous trip of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maya's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya`s Nest Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing