We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to rip us off!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli
Ranked #114 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel is ok, in a good location- not far from the train station. the rooms were ok, although we moved once because there was mould all over the wall.
What ruined our stay was the travel agent guy who tried to rip us off! Don't trust him at all! the man at reception recommended this guy to help us with booking train tickets. he came to the hotel and told us that all trains were fully booked to Agra and Jaipur so we wouldn't be able to see the taj Mahal unless we went by car. he said he could arrange a personal driver to drive us around for over 13,000 rs (£150). We didnt not believe him and went to the train station ourselves and had no problem booking the tickets! not happy!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellalhaveli, General Manager at OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

dear sir
thanks for your time and views about our property lals haveli.as far as train tickets are concerned .the man at desk said that the train tickets are not available because he checked tickets in general quota in which tickets were wait listed.which we are authorize to book.while you book tickets in foreign quota which we are not authorize to book.which is bookable at railway station only.for the price which we quote for agra jaipur rs 13000/- is very ecnomical.please check the same from other suppliers.
once again thanks for your time
regards
s raman
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Me and my family were traveling back from Nainital to Kolkata. The Hotel is superb, the rooms are excellent, Service is good, food is great. The rooms are good, bathrooms are very clean. They also give a set of Toothbrush, Toothpaste & Comb if you forgot. I will definitely go back to the Hotel Lal's Haveli again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor except 205 as it is small for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tapasdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Those wanting a clean and friendly hotel in New Delhi near PaharGanj, this hotel is it. Amazingly responsive staff, always smiling and helpful and above all, very clean and reasonably priced.I have stayed in many hotels near Paharganj over they years, this one is very good.

Room Tip: Try their third floor, Presidential rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RemcoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Overall the hotel is really worth the money. In the beganing there was alittle bit problem with the wifi Internet, but they fixed it in no time. Every thing was great specially the manager was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Wais_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I traveled all around India with our 3 year old son. We stayed at Lal's and initially weren't impressed...then we saw the rest of the country and were SO happy to come back to Lal's!
The hotel is odd...the floors slope. There's a good hike up the stairs with your bags (someone will carry them for a tip) before you make it to the elevators to get the the hotel floors. The staff is really friendly. They're happy to direct you to places in the city. They'll tell you what the cost of rickshaws SHOULD be to and from places. Just let them know where you're going, what your plans are and ask them anything you need to know.
The neighbourhood isn't THAT bad. As a white female I wouldn't walk out alone at night, but I certainly felt comfortable in the day on my own. The restaurant that Lal's is on top of is SO good. Cheaper than most other places to eat and it's delicious. I recommend the butter masala dosa...their Thali's are really nice too. gosh I want to go back to India just for the food.
Anyway, back to Lal's. The rooftop is a nice reprieve from the crazy of Delhi. Warm running water, an actual shower and legitimately clean and comfortable place to sleep...what more could you ask for?

I know it was simply endearing and EVERYONE does it...but the concierge would actually INSIST on us waiting in the lobby while he sent a working boy running to buy chocolate for my 3 year old son. I don't usually feed my son that garbage, but it's unavoidable in India. Heads up parents!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. There are rooms that face the alley and they're way quieter. The more yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank McQueens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great location, very close to the best shopping areas, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms with hot shower, AC,and free wi-fi, restaurant on the roof, place where you can relax, helpful and very kind stuff. It was the only hotel we stay in Delhi but I would come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Redka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

For Delhi this is excellent value for money. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Hot water 24 hours. Fast and free WiFi. Walking distance (10-15 minutes) to the New Delhi metro station and Airport Express train. Not too noisy neighbourhood. Great service. Rooftop restaurant. Ok food.
Very good choice for budget travellers.
I stayed here both of my visits to Delhi

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oystein83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#94 of 728 in New Delhi
332 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#73 of 728 in New Delhi
101 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 728 in New Delhi
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Delhi 55
Hotel Delhi 55
#143 of 728 in New Delhi
137 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#61 of 728 in New Delhi
325 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 728 in New Delhi
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli

Address: 8892-95 Multani Dhanda, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly Hotel Lal's Haveli)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lal's Haveli as the name indicates, a blend of old world splendour, great eastern traditions and glorious Indian hospitality enhanced by the comfort of the present day of living, it has been designed for the corporate seniors, business men hopping from places, meeting deadlines running the show on the globe. Spacious and bright guest rooms are fitted with air conditioning, heaters, curtains and bed mattresses. The guest rooms are a haven of comfort, there is an aura of gracious olden hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lals Haveli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing